Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Series Spotlight : Thrones & Bones Series by Lou Anders

Posted by

Series Spotlight : Thrones & Bones Series by Lou Anders
Nightborn
Lou Anders
Genre: Adventure, Fantasy, Middle-Grade, Mythology
Publication date: July 14th 2015
by Crown Books for Young Readers

GoodreadsPurchase
From the author of "Frostborn" comes Book 2 in the acclaimed Thrones and Bones fantasy-adventure trilogy for fans of Lloyd Alexander and Brandon Mull.
Karn Korlundsson is a gamer. "Not" a riddle solver. But in order to rescue his best friend, Thianna Frostborn, he will need to travel to the faraway city of Castlebriar (by wyvern), learn how to play a new board game called Charioteers (not a problem), decipher the Riddle of the Horn, and tangle with mysterious elves.
Meet Desstra. She's in training to join the Underhand--the elite agents of the dark elves. When she crosses paths with Karn, she is not all that she appears to be.
Everyone is chasing after the horn of Osius, an ancient artifact with the power to change the world. The lengths to which Karn will go in the name of friendship will be sorely tested. Who knew that solving a riddle could be so deadly?
The novel includes instructions for playing the board game Charioteers. Visit ThronesandBones.com for additional games, maps, character profiles, and more!

Today I am spotlighting the Thrones & Bones series by Lou Anders. It is getting closer to the publish date for the second book in the series, Nightborn. This is a fantastic MG series that I think many people will enjoy. I have not yet read the second book yet, but I am almost done with the first one, Frostborn, and am really enjoying it.

Frostborn is the first in the series, and so far it is great! The characters are interesting, but more than that, I love the visual imagery that I get from it. I can imagine the lands and the Giants, and everything that is going on. The story is wonderful and I am excited to continue on the adventure and see where things go. This is a great series for younger readers, but also something that us older readers can enjoy too. You still have plenty of time to pick up the first one so you will be ready for the second book in the series when it comes out!

Check out the first book, Frostborn!! The cover links to the Goodreads page.

Frostborn

If checking out the Goodreads page didn’t convince you, see the praise that it’s gotten below. (Taken from GR in the synopsis for book 2)

Praise for “Thrones and Bones: Frostborn”
“Future fans of Tolkien and George R. R. Martin can happily cut their serial-fantasy teeth on this first book of an eventual series.” –“Kirkus Reviews”
“A fun, fast-paced, and highly enjoyable tale.” –Garth Nix, bestselling author of the Abhorsen trilogy
“A powerful, fast-paced tale. . . . The setting is rich, the characters well-defined, and the danger ever-paramount.” –“Publishers Weekly,” Starred
“An excellent choice for readers new to the genre. The themes of staying true to oneself, teamwork, and individuality will resonate with readers.” –“School Library Journal”
“The most delightful fantasy I have read in ages. . . . Put me on the waiting list for book 2!” –Amy Plum, international bestselling author of the Die For Me series

The following two tabs change content below.
I'm no good at this, but I'm a mom of one little girl who really thinks she is a princess. I love reading all sorts of books (horror being a favorite genre of mine), love meeting new people, drinking lots of coffee, and eating chocolate. If you want to know anything else about me, just ask.
face twitter good

2 Responses to “Series Spotlight : Thrones & Bones Series by Lou Anders”

  1. Romi

    OOH! This sounds like one of those truly magical books that is suitable for readers of any age, not just the intended audience, and those are by far my favourite MG books. I love feeling like the story still reaches me as well now as it would when I was smaller, and Middle Grade is possibly my favourite age group to read, so I’m off to add this to my tbr! Gorgeous post. You certainly made me want to read this, too. xx