Thursday, November 23, 2017

5 Books I Am Thankful For

Posted by 2 Comments

Happy Thanksgiving Guys!!!!!!!! Long time no see?? I just finished my last finals of undergrad so it’s definitely been a busy time for me but I am home now and have more time to spend blogging. I don’t necessarily celebrate Thanksgiving but (its tragic history aside) I do like taking a moment to reflect on the various things I am grateful for this year. Right now, I am extremely grateful to all my friends without whom I am not sure I would have survived the year. I am, as always, thankful to my fam and books. So without further ado, here is a list of 5 books I am grateful exist.

1. American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang

I feel like, at some point, people are just going to get tired of my obsession with American Born Chinese but they can SUCK IT because I LOVE this graphic novel and I am going to forever be grateful to ABC for making me feel seen and heard.

2. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

To be fair, if it were up to me, I would have just made this “ALL OF MARCHETTA” instead of one specific book but I think that would be unfair. Jellicoe Road is (I think???) my fav Marchetta but it is also the book that INTRODUCED me to Marchetta so it will always have a special place in my heart.

3. The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Idk if this book would have made the list even a week ago but I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately and just how captivating it is. Goldman, with The Princess Bride achieved something that is unique and awe-inspiring. I don’t know if will ever read a book quite like it again in my lifetime and I am grateful that Goldman wrote it. I am also probably due for a re-read right about now.

4. A Ring of Endless Light by Madeleine L’Engle

This is actually a book I don’t think I talk about all that often but when I was a little baby (like 12 years old), A Ring of Endless Light changed my life. It was written a couple decades ago but still holds up really well. I wish more people would appreciate the quaint, revolutionary nature of this book but I am still just glad it was written and I was able to read it when I needed it in my life.

5. Chachaji’s Cup by Uma Krishnaswami

I accidentally discovered this book while I was doing a collection development project for work earlier this year and once I read the synopsis, I knew I needed to get my hands on the book. It was absolutely, 110% worth it and kind of moved me to tears??? There are so few books written about the partition already (and fewer that aren’t written from a western perspective) so it was just really refreshing to read this.

What Books Are You Thankful For?

Fresh Batch (November 19th-25th)

Fresh Batch (November 19th-25th)

Posted by on 11/18/2017 • 0 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Not Now, Not Ever Lily Anderson Publication date: November 21st 2017by Wednesday Books

Goodreads Purchase

The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is You, inspired by The Importance of Being Earnest.

Elliot Gabaroche is very clear on what she isn’t going to do this summer.

1. She isn’t going to stay home in Sacramento, where she’d have to sit through her stepmother’s sixth community theater production of The Importance of Being Earnest. 2. She isn’t going to mock trial camp at UCLA. 3. And she certainly isn’t going to the Air Force summer program on her mother’s base in Colorado Springs….

Middle Grade Mini-Reviews

Middle Grade Mini-Reviews

Posted by on 11/14/2017 • 0 Comments

I actually haven’t had as much time to read lately which is why I haven’t been posting more but hey, this is my last week of school ever??!?!?! It’s wild, intense and incredibly stressful. I have a bajillion emotions but this isn’t really the time to talk about them. I have been reading some MG and Picture Books to destress though so today, I bring to you, some mini-reviews of middle grade novels I’ve read in the past month-ish?? However long it’s been. IDK.

 

Just, Dance Patricia MacLachlan 

GOODREADS | PURCHASE

Sylvie Bloom wants to find something new and exciting this summer—at least more exciting than the cows, goats, and chickens on her family’s farm that she’s become accustomed to. Luckily, Sylvie’s teacher Mrs. Ludolf…

Fresh Batch (November 12th-18th)

Fresh Batch (November 12th-18th)

Posted by on 11/11/2017 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Whichwood Tahereh Mafi Series: Furthermore # Publication date: November 14th 2017by Dutton Books for Young Readers

Goodreads Purchase

A new adventure about a girl who is fated to wash the bodies of the dead in this companion to Furthermore.

Our story begins on a frosty night…

Laylee can barely remember the happier times before her beloved mother died. Before her father, driven by grief, lost his wits (and his way). Before she was left as the sole remaining mordeshoor in the village of Whichwood, destined to spend her days washing the bodies of the dead and preparing their souls for the afterlife….

Dark & Rich: Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Dark & Rich: Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Posted by on 11/08/2017 • 11 Comments

I think there is this general conception that for a fantasy novel to be truly good, it needs to have about a 1,000,000 pages and at 304 pages, Beasts Made of Night is not a particularly long book. Do not and I repeat do NOT let that fool you. Tochi Onyebuchi packs a fucking punch in those 304 pages. World building? You got it. Adventure? You got it. A mother-fucking rebellion? YOU GOT IT. Beasts Made of Night isn’t just a great novel for fantasy readers but also for people too vary of the genre because of its reputation for long-winded novels that take lifetimes to get through.

Onyebuchi has a background in screenwriting and honestly, the high stakes and the quick pace of the novel really reflect this. For some people,…

Fresh Batch (November 5th-11th)

Fresh Batch (November 5th-11th)

Posted by on 11/04/2017 • 3 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Renegades Marissa Meyer Series: Renegades #1 Publication date: November 7th 2017by Feiwel & Friends

Goodreads Purchase

Secret Identities. Extraordinary Powers. She wants vengeance. He wants justice.

The Renegades are a syndicate of prodigies—humans with extraordinary abilities—who emerged from the ruins of a crumbled society and established peace and order where chaos reigned. As champions of justice, they remain a symbol of hope and courage to everyone…except the villains they once overthrew.

Nova has a reason to hate the Renegades, and she is on a mission for vengeance. As she gets closer to her target, she meets Adrian, a Renegade boy who believes in…

A Graphic Novel That You Most Definitely Need: Pashmina by Nidhi Chanani

A Graphic Novel That You Most Definitely Need: Pashmina by Nidhi Chanani

Posted by on 11/03/2017 • 2 Comments

I’ve been waiting for Pashmina since I first heard it existed so when my friend got a copy, I dove into hers while I was visiting and also ended up coming home to a precious copy of my own (#SHOUTOUT.) I’ve already read it twice and there is a very huge possibility I’ll have read it a third time before the end of the year (and even the end of the month, tbh.) SO. I THINK it’s safe to say that I love Pashmina.

It’s already being marketed as such but I also just think Pashmina is perfect for fans of American Born Chinese. The books share so many wonderful qualities and parallels but Pashmina is still its own story and so so SO heartfelt at that. I mean, it even has Gene Luen Yang’s stamp…

Might Have Been Better In Verse: Wait for Me by An Na

Might Have Been Better In Verse: Wait for Me by An Na

Posted by on 11/02/2017 • 0 Comments

Wait for Me was a new-to-me title when it showed up on my (metaphorical) doorstep. I hadn’t heard much about it but upon some research found out it was being republished with a pretty new cover and all. I dove into the book not entirely sure what to expect but ready to meet new characters and enjoy a new story.

This review is a hard one to write because upon finishing, I am not entirely sure how I feel about Wait for Me. I am divided on it because there are parts of it I enjoyed and other parts that really made it hard for me to finish the book feeling like I had read something worthwhile.

I think the number one issue I had with the book was just the pacing…