Friday, June 22, 2018

Fresh Batch (June 24th – 30th)

Posted by 0 Comments

FreshBatchBanner637
Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings
Edited by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman
Publication date: June 26th 2018
by Greenwillow Books

Goodreads Purchase

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings: these are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renée Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.


Other releases this week:
* In no particular order *




All We Ever Wanted by Emily Giffin [Purchase]
The Emerald Sea (The Glittering Court #3) by Richelle Mead [Purchase]
One Small Thing by Erin Watt [Purchase]
The Fragile Ordinary by Samantha Young [Purchase]


The Orphan’s Wish (Hagenheim #8) by Melanie Dickerson [Purchase]
Your Destination Is on the Left by Lauren Spieller [Purchase]
Wild Blue Wonder by Carlie Sorosiak [Purchase]
Fugitive Six (Lorien Legacies Reborn #2) by Pittacus Lore [Purchase]


My Plain Jane (The Lady Janies #2) by Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows & Brodi Ashton [Purchase]
Iron and Magic (The Iron Covenant #1) by Ilona Andrews [Purchase]
Trail of Lightning (The Sixth World, #1) by Rebecca Roanhorse [Purchase]
The Museum of Us by Tara Wilson Redd [Purchase]


The Game of Hope by Sandra Gulland [Purchase]
Learning to Breathe by Janice Lynn Mather[Purchase]
99 Lies (100 Hours #2) by Rachel Vincent [Purchase]
Dawn of Legends (Blood of Gods and Royals #4) by Eleanor Herman [Purchase]


Court of Shadows (House of Furies #2) by Madeleine Roux [Purchase]
Superheroes Suck by Jamie Zakian [Purchase]
Now You See Her by Lisa Leighton & Laura Stropki [Purchase]
The Life and Death Parade by Eliza Wass [Purchase]


Beneath the Lighthouse by Julieanne Lynch [Purchase]


What are you looking forward to this week?

Find previous Fresh Batch posts here!

 

Really Funny and Over-the-Top: Save the Date by Morgan Matson

Really Funny and Over-the-Top: Save the Date by Morgan Matson

Posted by on 06/21/2018 • 2 Comments

Save the Date is neither unpredictable nor does it really break any moulds. It is exactly what you would expect it to be and it is fucking amazing. If you, like me, are a connoisseur of rom-coms & chick-flicks and are upset by how few are being made lately, this book is what you deserve.

Charlie Grant’s older sister is getting married this week, her family home is being sold, and her brother who she nor her parents have spoken to in almost two years is gonna be coming back for the wedding. To add to the stress, Charlie’s long-time crush and her are feeling the sparks which makes things awkward because a certain brother is crashing with her crush instead of with the fam. Charlie just wants…

Kid Lit Says No Kids in Cages + Five Books About Immigration Experiences You Should Read

Kid Lit Says No Kids in Cages + Five Books About Immigration Experiences You Should Read

Posted by on 06/20/2018 • 1 Comment

I think we are all aware the world is a pile of crap and yet this past week, it seems like all of that is escalating. From refugees running away from human traffickers being turned away by Italy to prove a point to incredibly young children being separated from their parents after escaping unimaginable horrors, the world truly sucks. Sometimes it can be incredibly overwhelming when many of us sit in the protection of our own homes feeling like we are unable to do anything. There is always something you can do though. Whether it is calling your representatives (no matter how shitty they are) or donating your time/money. 

Authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz put together the “Kid Lit Says No Kids in Cages” campaign. Donations will…

Quiz: Commercial Vs. Literary Fiction

Quiz: Commercial Vs. Literary Fiction

Posted by on 06/18/2018 • 2 Comments

I think when it comes to fiction, the general consensus seems to be that literary fiction is better than commercial fiction. I am not sure why publishing and the world seems to hold literary fiction as ‘quality’ fiction and commercial fiction as ‘cheap and redundant’ but it seems like another way to dismiss women and especially women of color because commercial fiction tends to be written more by those groups than not. Take my words with a grain of salt as I have no real stats backing up this claim but I have spent a lot of time observing and making note of the differences. Most bestsellers tend to be commercial fiction and a lot of books with a cult following tend to be commercial fiction, so why is that…

Fresh Batch (June 17th – 23rd)

Fresh Batch (June 17th – 23rd)

Posted by on 06/16/2018 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Not the Girls You’re Looking For Aminah Mae Safi Publication date: June 19th 2018by Feiwel & Friends

Goodreads Purchase

Lulu Saad doesn’t need your advice, thank you very much. She’s got her three best friends and nothing can stop her from conquering the known world. Sure, for half a minute she thought she’d nearly drowned a cute guy at a party, but he was totally faking it. And fine, yes, she caused a scene during Ramadan. It’s all under control. Ish.

Except maybe this time she’s done a little more damage than she realizes. And if Lulu can’t find her way out of…

On Why I Rarely Rate Books Five Stars

On Why I Rarely Rate Books Five Stars

Posted by on 06/12/2018 • 4 Comments

At the end of every year, I like to go through and look at all of my reading stats just to get an idea of what went on in that year for my reading-wise and also because I love statistics. Last year was honestly one of the best bookish-years for me in terms of ratings. In 2017, I may not have read a lot of five star books (I think that numbed capped out at 12 out of the 230 books I read), but my average rating was 3.9. So I read a WHOLE lot of 4 star books last year and LOVED what I was reading. That is a significant improvement over average ratings from previous years and yet, I am still not reading a lot of five star…

Fresh Batch (June 10th – 16th)

Fresh Batch (June 10th – 16th)

Posted by on 06/09/2018 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

A Flicker in the Clarity Amy McNamara Publication date: June 12th 2018 by HarperTeen

Goodreads Purchase

For as long as Evie can remember, she and Emma have been best friends. They’ve gone through everything together—only Evie understood what it was like for Emma to lose her older brother in a car accident. And though they couldn’t be more different—Emma is the life of the party while Evie is shy—the dynamic has always worked for them.

But then Evie makes a careless mistake that ends up having serious consequences for Emma. They’ve had their squabbles before, but this is different. When Evie tries to…

In Conversation With Nick: The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang

In Conversation With Nick: The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang

Posted by on 06/04/2018 • 1 Comment

Nick (The Infinite Limits of Love) is the one who made me read this book so it’s only right that my review of it is actually just me fangirling over it with her. ENJOY!

Rashika: Nick left me here to write a review while she is showering and I don’t know what to say. IT’S HER FAULT I READ THIS BOOK. WHY ISN’T SHE HERE TO TALK? HMPH.

Nick: BACK FROM THE SHOWER! Let me just preface by saying this: Michael Phan is mine. No one is going to steal my book boyfriend from me.

R: Wow. UM. Michael is mine. I am sorry to break it to you. AND EVEN IF YOU READ THE BOOK BEFORE ME, IT DOESN’T COUNT. WE GET TO FIGHT IT OVER NOW. But speaking,…