Saturday, July 15, 2017

Fresh Batch (July 16th – 22nd)

Posted by 1 Comment

FreshBatchBanner637
Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

The Library of Fates
Aditi Khorana
Publication date: July 18th 2017
by Razorbill

Goodreads Purchase

A romantic coming-of-age fantasy tale steeped in Indian folklore, perfect for fans of The Star-Touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn

No one is entirely certain what brings the Emperor Sikander to Shalingar. Until now, the idyllic kingdom has been immune to his many violent conquests. To keep the visit friendly, Princess Amrita has offered herself as his bride, sacrificing everything—family, her childhood love, and her freedom—to save her people. But her offer isn’t enough.

The unthinkable happens, and Amrita finds herself a fugitive, utterly alone but for an oracle named Thala, who was kept by Sikander as a slave and managed to escape amid the chaos of a palace under siege. With nothing and no one else to turn to, Amrita and Thala are forced to rely on each other. But while Amrita feels responsible for her kingdom and sets out to warn her people, the newly free Thala has no such ties. She encourages Amrita to go on a quest to find the fabled Library of All Things, where it is possible for each of them to reverse their fates. To go back to before Sikander took everything from them.

Stripped of all that she loves, caught between her rosy past and an unknown future, will Amrita be able to restore what was lost, or does another life—and another love—await?


Other releases this week:
* In no particular order *




The Color Project by Sierra Abrams [Purchase]
The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell [Purchase]
Trust by Kylie Scott [Purchase]
The Ends of the World (The Conspiracy of Us #3) by Maggie Hall [Purchase]


Wrecked by J.B. Salsbury [Purchase]
Amid Stars and Darkness (The Xenith Trilogy #1) by Chani Lynn Feener [Purchase]
What Goes Up by Katie Kennedy [Purchase]
Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourn [Purchase]


No Good Deed by Kara Connolly [Purchase]
Tracker’s Canyon by Pam Withers [Purchase]


What’s on your wishlist this week?

Find previous Fresh Batch posts here!

 

K-Drama Rec Based On Jellicoe Road

K-Drama Rec Based On Jellicoe Road

Posted by on 07/13/2017 • 1 Comment

I don’t watch a lot of K-drama’s but when I do, I get sucked in and binge watch like my life depends on it. This particular k-drama was recommended to me by a close friend and just happened to be the one to introduce me to the wonderful world of k-dramas. 

But, before I talk about it, lets talk about Jellicoe Road, or as it is known in Australia, On the Jellicoe Road (a title I much prefer.) Well for one, Melina Marchetta is my queen and secondly, I don’t compare things to Jellicoe unless I mean it. If you haven’t read this life-changing book already, I highly suggest you get on it because making good life decisions is a good thing. You will sob, laugh, probably die for a hot second and…

17 Books With Summer in the Title

17 Books With Summer in the Title

Posted by on 07/12/2017 • 3 Comments

To continue with my summer book-list theme I have going on, I BRING TO YOU 15 books with summer in their titles!!! Read through summer by reading books with summer in their titles! Go forth and add books to that summer TBR pile. Or don’t. DO WHAT YOU WANT.

1. This One Summer by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki 2. The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller 3. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson 4. Sixteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton 5. The Summer of Skinny Dipping by Amanda Howells

6. Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

7. The Summer of Firsts and Lasts by Terra Alan McVoy 8. The Summer My Life Began by Shannon Greenland 9. How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski 10….

Fresh Batch (July 9th – 15th)

Fresh Batch (July 9th – 15th)

Posted by on 07/08/2017 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

What to Say Next Julie Buxbaum Publication date: July 11th 2017by Delacorte Press

Goodreads Purchase

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How…

Rashika’s Guide to Reading What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Rashika’s Guide to Reading What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Posted by on 07/07/2017 • 4 Comments

I felt like doing something a little different for this incredibly amazing book so I took some inspiration from the book (unfortunately, the title of this post references a terrible thing that happens… whoops) and decided to make a guide to reading What to Say Next.

1. Go grocery shopping before diving in. Make sure you buy Kleenex and stock up on your comfort foods. You will be needing those things very soon.

2. Prepare for a heartbreaking discussion on grief and death. If that’s not something you can do right now, probably don’t read the book but if you do choose to, there will be tears if you are a human bean (refer to the first point in this guide.)

3. Pace yourself because you’re in for a serious bookish hangover…

#Throwback Thursday: 5 Books to Take With You To the Beach

#Throwback Thursday: 5 Books to Take With You To the Beach

Posted by on 07/06/2017 • 0 Comments

Are you getting tired of summer round ups because I AM NEVER GOING TO BE. ITS FUCKING 90 degrees outside, what do you want from me? I can fantasize about going to the beach and doing some ocean-side reading. In the meantime, I present you with a list of older releases if you’re looking for some to read while at the beach or that will transport you to the beach.

1. This is What Happy Looks Like by by Jennifer E. Smith

‘Wrong email address’ situation. Featuring an extremely adorable pet pig named Wilbur.

2. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

A talented singer for Tobago loses her voice in an accident and accepts an invitation to Atargatis Cove to get away from it all. Featuring an adorable…

Book Aesthetic: Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourne

Book Aesthetic: Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourne

Posted by on 07/05/2017 • 3 Comments

If you’re expecting this book to change your life, you’re probably going to be disappointed but it IS a perfectly, enjoyable summer book and not everything we read needs to revolutionize our lives. I, for one, have been too tired and too overheated lately to read books that will change my life so Wesley James Ruined My Life was the perfect read for me.

Is Quinn Hardwick stubborn as fuck and will you want to shake some sense into her? For SURE but the book also has so many feel-good vibes and part of the fun is when she does realize she is in the wrong. Quinn is stubborn and holds grudges for all the wrong reasons but we can all be stubborn sometimes and I for one am still angry…

Fresh Batch (July 2nd – 8th)

Fresh Batch (July 2nd – 8th)

Posted by on 07/01/2017 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Coming Up for Air Miranda Kenneally Series: Hundred Oaks # Publication date: July 4th 2017by Sourcebooks Fire

Goodreads Purchase

Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner. Homework. Bed. Repeat.

All of Maggie’s focus and free time is spent swimming. She’s not only striving to earn scholarships—she’s training to qualify for the Olympics. It helps that her best friend, Levi, is also on the team and cheers her on. But Levi’s already earned an Olympic try out, so she feels even more pressure to succeed. And it’s not until Maggie’s away on a college visit that she realizes how much of…