Review: Fairest by Marissa Meyer
Mirror, mirror on the wall, Who is the fairest of them all?
Review: Invaded (Alienated #2) by Melissa Landers
Cara and Aelyx long for each other from opposite ends of the universe...until a threat to both their worlds reunites them.
Review: Things We Know by Heart by Jessi Kirby
When Quinn Sullivan meets the recipient of her boyfriend’s donated heart, the two form an unexpected connection.
Review: Shutter by Courtney Alameda
The Helsing Corps only showed up when someone didn’t stay dead.
Review: The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters
Winters breathes new life into history once again with an atmospheric, vividly real story, including archival photos and art from the period throughout.
Review: Rites of Passage by Joy N Hensley
Sam McKenna’s never turned down a dare. And she's not going to start with the last one her brother gave her before he died.

Saturday, May 23, 2015

Fresh Batch (May 24th – 30th)

Posted by 7 Comments

FreshBatchBanner637
Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Daughter of Deep Silence
Carrie Ryan
Publication date: May 26th 2015
by Dutton Books for Young Readers

Goodreads Purchase

I’m the daughter of murdered parents.
I’m the friend of a dead girl.
I’m the lover of my enemy.
And I will have my revenge.

In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.

Sharp and incisive, Daughter of Deep Silence by bestselling author Carrie Ryan is a deliciously smart revenge thriller that examines perceptions of identity, love, and the lengths to which one girl is willing to go when she thinks she has nothing to lose.


Other releases this week:
* In no particular order *




The Cage (The Cage #1) by Megan Shepherd [Purchase]
Searching for Beautiful (Searching For #3) by Jennifer Probst [Purchase]
Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road #1) by Katie McGarry [Purchase]
The Fog Diver by Joel Ross [Purchase]


Anything Could Happen by Will Walton [Purchase]
I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest [Purchase]
Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider [Purchase]
Charmed (The Witch Hunter #2) by Michelle Krys [Purchase]


The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi [Purchase]
Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton [Purchase]
The Porcupine of Truth by Bill Konigsberg [Purchase]
Kissing in America by Margo Rabb [Purchase]


The Eternal City by Paula Morris [Purchase]
Back to You (The Hurley Boys #3) by Lauren Dane [Purchase]
21 Stolen Kisses by Lauren Blakely [Purchase]
Secret Brother (The Diaries #3) by V.C. Andrews [Purchase]


Emancipated by M.G. Reyes [Purchase]
Immaculate by Katelyn Detweiler [Purchase]
Under the Lights (Boys of Fall #1) by Shannon Stacey [Purchase]
P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #2) by Jenny Han [Purchase]


The Notorious Pagan Jones (Pagan Jones #1) by Nina Berry [Purchase]
Revelry (Taint #1) by Carmen Jenner [Purchase]
Conviction (The Consolation Duet #2) by Corinne Michaels [Purchase]
The Awesome by Eva Darrows [Purchase]


The Girl in the Torch by Robert Sharenow [Purchase]
The Tenderness of Thieves by Donna Freitas [Purchase]
The Virgin’s Daughter: A Tudor Legacy Novel (Tudor Legacy #4) by Laura Andersen [Purchase]
A Conspiracy of Princes (Allies & Assassins #2) by Justin Somper [Purchase]


Dime by E.R. Frank [Purchase]


What’s catching your eye this week?

 

You can support Xpresso Reads by using this link (also found on sidebar) to shop at TBD

Find previous Fresh Batch posts here!

Review: Becoming Jinn by Lori Goldstein

Review: Becoming Jinn by Lori Goldstein

Posted by on 05/21/2015 • 5 Comments

This book was quite fun. I loved the whole Genie idea, but having them live in the real world among others. I thought that the twist on how wishes work and how their powers worked was really cool. This is not your typical Aladdin type tale. It’s got all sorts of secrets, teen romances, drama, and fun. I really liked getting to know the characters and the history of the Jinn. It wasn’t my favorite book ever, but it was definitely one that I enjoyed and am excited for the rest of the series.

Azra was a character that I liked getting to know. She has never embraced her destiny as the other Jinn do. In fact, she just wants to be normal, even though that will never happen. She…

Review: Frostfire by Amanda Hocking

Review: Frostfire by Amanda Hocking

Posted by on 05/20/2015 • 5 Comments

This was going so well, and then it went FUBAR in the end.

I don’t know about what you feel right now, folks, but right now I feel like making a hole in the wall with my mighty fist. This isn’t to say that this is a bad book, though, because I liked some parts, BUT GODDAMN THE STUPIDITY IN THE END REALLY JUST GOT TO ME.

You see this fist? This is the fist I’ll be putting between my teeth so I won’t actually destroy our wall. Find my rage petty if you wish, but it’s not a joke when I say I’m pretty pissed right now.

This is my first Amanda Hocking book, but I’m not really a stranger to this author. I’ve seen some of her works every…

Review: Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

Review: Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

Posted by on 05/18/2015 • 12 Comments

So far it’s 2 for 2 for this author. I read and fell in love with The Beginning of Everything last year, and even having high hopes for this one I was not one bit disappointed.

This time we’re taken to Latham House, a place where the sick are sent to try and get better. A place that is pretty much like a very morbid summer camp. Told in alternating point of views, we first meet Lane who’s on the road to achieving his goal of going to an Ivy League school. He’s a straight A student who’d rather study than have to deal with TB. Getting sent to Latham means losing the perfect GPA that he’s been working so hard for. In a way it was incredibly sad…

Fresh Batch (May 17th – 23rd)

Fresh Batch (May 17th – 23rd)

Posted by on 05/16/2015 • 7 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Made You Up Francesca Zappia Publication date: May 19th 2015 by Greenwillow Books

Goodreads Purchase

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar. Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a…

Review: Joyride by Anna Banks

Review: Joyride by Anna Banks

Posted by on 05/15/2015 • 8 Comments

Another contemporary that covers stereotyping. I love these types of books. This one happens to have a forbidden type romance as well. I really liked the characters a lot. Especially Arden. He was fantastic and totally not what you are initially expecting. I really liked the story to this too. It’s much deeper than the town sheriff’s kid falling for the poor “Mexican” girl, which by the way, she was born and raised in the US, not that it matters either way. Also, it focuses on the pressure that are put on kids. They are sometimes forced to grow up way too quickly or to follow what is expected instead of finding what they want out of life. I thought it was well done with some extra messed up stuff…

Review: Rook by Sharon Cameron

Review: Rook by Sharon Cameron

Posted by on 05/14/2015 • 12 Comments

I really can’t shake off the feeling that this book would have been 5 times better if it wasn’t as long as it was.

Yeah, it was only, what, 464 pages? 6000 Kindle locations? But let me tell you that reading this felt like it took bloody eternity. Not even my love for anything French could have prevented the yawns this book made me do… oh, every 5 minutes. If it wasn’t for the fact I needed to read and finish this in the next six hours just in time to write this review for today (I like to live dangerously), I would’ve set it aside to take a well-deserved nap.

But, hey, I did it, friends! I survived! Even though most of the time in the last six hours I was…

Carly’s Favorite Meal: Guest Post by Anna Banks

Carly’s Favorite Meal: Guest Post by Anna Banks

Posted by on 05/12/2015 • 4 Comments

Today I’ve got the lovely Anna Banks on the blog talking about food to make everyone hungry! Let’s take a look at her latest release, first:

Guest Post by Anna Banks

Carly’s Favorite Meal—Southern Fried Chicken & Waffles

So as you may already know, Carly is a Mexican American dealing with some pretty deep issues in JOYRIDE. While she loves and misses the comforting, authentic Mexican food that her mother used to cook—the dishes which her brother Julio now bludgeons in his efforts to feed them—she’s grown to appreciate some of the specialties of the south. Arden’s adoration of a certain dish rubbed off on her, as did a lot of Arden’s qualities, and now her favorite comfort food is Southern Fried Chicken & Waffles,…