Review: Dissonance by Erica O’Rourke
Delancy Sullivan has always known there’s more to reality than what people see.
Review: Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally
No matter how far she jogs, Annie can’t escape the guilt that if she hadn’t broken up with Kyle, he might still be alive.
Review: Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn
Cate Henry needs her little brother to know the truth about their past. A truth she’s not supposed to tell.
Review: 17 First Kisses by Rachael Allen
With true love and best friendship on the line, Claire suddenly has everything to lose.
Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
A private island. A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy. A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive. A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Review: Pointe by Brandy Colbert
Donovan isn’t talking about what happened, and even though Theo knows she didn’t do anything wrong, telling the truth would put everything at risk. But keeping quiet might be worse.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Review: Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick

Posted by 9 Comments

Review: Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick
Kiss of Broken Glass
Madeleine Kuderick
Genre: Contemporary, Verse, YA
Publication date: September 9th 2014
by HarperTeen

GoodreadsPurchase
Madeleine Kuderick’s gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.

In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for mandatory psychiatric watch. There, Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment.
-A copy was provided by HarperCollins for review-

I missed the fact that this was a verse novel before I started it, but for me this was a pleasant surprise. Having been introduced to verse novels only recently, I’ve developed a liking to them. I love how raw, honest, and candid they are. Plus they feel like extremely quick reads, as if you’re just flying through. This one in particular, at only 220 some odd pages, can be read in mere minutes. The disadvantage of such a short novel, though, is that it lacks the emotional oomph and depth that I usually feel with verse writing. It does touch on an delicate subject matter – cutting as a fad – but it fails to deliver something truly poignant.

This is the story of Kenna who was caught in the act of cutting herself – a fad between a group of friends that has quickly turned into an addiction. This book is her narrative of her 72 hour stay inside a psychiatric ward where she’s under watch. It gives us a look inside the mind of an addiction that’s often misunderstood. Cutting is not always something brought on by a dark past or a depressed state, but it can also become something you do to fit in, to be a part of a club or a group. I found this very interesting and eye-opening. We come to understand not only how this addiction can surface, but also how hard it is to stop when your reasons – what you need to overcome to get better – are not so black and white. I also appreciate how the book doesn’t go into this topic with the intention of being a sob-fest. It’s not a story meant to leave us in shreds, it’s a story meant to make us understand. It’s a character analysis.

I do think the story should have kept its focus on the psyche of an addict, and leave the awkward bits of romance out of it. Kenna meets someone at the psych ward, and immediately after she learns his bizarre name she develops an affinity for him. From then on, the story keeps being interrupted to add annoying commentary about his lips and the smell of his skin. I found this unnecessary and more of a distraction than anything.

Kiss of Broken Glass may not have left me with my mind blown, but it’s a great little verse novel with a dramatic writing style and an important subject matter. It focuses not on the story itself, but rather on giving us a peek inside the mind of an addict.

3 Stars
3 Hot Espressos

Review: Made For You by Melissa Marr

Review: Made For You by Melissa Marr

Posted by on 08/27/2014 • 10 Comments

Last year I went to my first ever book signing and was so excited to get to meet quite a few authors at the event. One of the authors was Melissa Marr and I was so curious when I saw hoe many die hard fans of hers were there. I thought to myself “I need to read a book by this lady and see what she’s all about!” I failed to do so until this past week and I am now so happy that I finally gave one of her novels a go.

Made For You is being pretty aggressively pitched as her first foray into contemporary and that it’s a gothic novel. Well I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I would not shelf this novel…

Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet!

Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet!

Posted by on 08/26/2014 • 26 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where we list top bookish things. Note that Giselle and Jenni often decide to split it and each do a Top 5.

Neeeeedz! Oldies

Bloodlines by Richelle Mead: I have the worst luck with spin-offs so I never bought this one when it came out, but it sounds like the series has really taken off since so I get more and more curious at each new installment. I need to catch-up! Sex & Violence by Carrie Mesrobian: A few of my most trusted reviewer friends have loved this one hard, and I’ve been meaning to get myself a copy ever since! For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund: This…

Book Girls Don’t Cry… But They Do Have Potty Mouths!

Book Girls Don’t Cry… But They Do Have Potty Mouths!

Posted by on 08/25/2014 • 5 Comments

Book Girls Don’t Cry is a feature where we will discuss/vent/advise on a bookish topic. This feature is co-hosted with the lovely Amy at Book Loving Mom.

Hey guys! This time around Stella and I got together to chat about swearing in novels. We talk about all sorts, from when there is “too much” to the dreaded made up versions that you sometimes find. Watch and weigh in with what you think about some good ol’ bad words when you read.

 

How do you feel about bad words in novels? We’re looking for topic suggestions for future BGDC posts! What would YOU like to discuss (can be anything from vents to advice)? Leave a topic suggestion via this form!

Jenni’s Stacking the Shelves [Aug 24]

Jenni’s Stacking the Shelves [Aug 24]

Posted by on 08/24/2014 • 13 Comments

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews featuring new additions to our bookshelves.

Hey! It’s been a while since I’ve done a Stacking post! I hadn’t gotten any books when my turn came around last time so I skipped it but I got some goodies for this time around.  I haven’t been doing much reading at all lately, I’ve been renovating my kitchen and it’s that time of year when I actually have a job for a few weeks so I’ve been pretty busy.  Today we are headed to West Edmonton Mall Waterpark with the kiddo’s so I don’t think I’ll get any reading done today either.  With that said I am still adding to the ever growing TBR, here is what I’ve got…

Fresh Batch (New Releases August 24th – 30th)

Fresh Batch (New Releases August 24th – 30th)

Posted by on 08/23/2014 • 9 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Rumble Ellen Hopkins Publication date: August 26th 2014by Margaret K. McElderry Books

Goodreads Purchase

Can an atheist be saved? The New York Times bestselling author of Crank and Tricks explores the highly charged landscapes of faith and forgiveness with brilliant sensitivity and emotional resonance.

“There is no God, no benevolent ruler of the earth, no omnipotent grand poobah of countless universes. Because if there was…my little brother would still be fishing or playing basketball instead of fertilizing cemetery vegetation.”

Matthew Turner doesn’t have faith in anything.

Not in family—his is a shambles after his younger brother was bullied into suicide. Not in so-called…

Review: Feral by Holly Schindler

Review: Feral by Holly Schindler

Posted by on 08/22/2014 • 15 Comments

Feral was a very strange read. And I’m usually really good with strange – I love a book that brings something new and so bizarre that you’re like WTF! the whole way through – think Charm & Strange or (Don’t You) Forget About Me. Feral, though, was not this good kind of strange. It was cringe-worthy and full of absurd weirdness that just left me annoyed.

It starts with a girl – Claire – who gets attacked in a Chicago alley – apparently one of the safe alleys. Due to the anxiety she suffers from since, they decide to start fresh in a new eccentric little town. This is where she starts seeing the spirit of a murdered girl, driving Claire to solve this murder. This sounds all pretty generic…

Review: Blackbird by Anna Carey

Review: Blackbird by Anna Carey

Posted by on 08/21/2014 • 13 Comments

I always go into YA thrillers with a bit of trepidation. As someone who loves these types of movies and TV shows I always end up finding the teen novel versions to be a bit too convenient which leads to a lot of eyerolling. While this was definitely a unique take on the genre with it’s second person narration, it did still fall victim to the typical tropes I have come to dislike over time.

What was striking right off the bat was how the reader is thrown into the novel with the second person narration. With the word “you” constantly being used to describe our MC it really throws us into the novel and leaves us feeling as if we have woken up with no recollection of who we…