Review: Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens
Alexi Littrell hasn't told anyone what happened to her over the summer...
Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer
Rapunzel’s tower is a satellite. She can’t let down her hair—or her guard.
Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer
When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything.
Review: Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano
Secrets lay at the heart of Internment — the floating island in the clouds — but nothing can prepare Morgan for what she will find — or who she will lose.
Review: Crash into You by Katie McGarry
When Rachel and Isaiah's shared love of street racing puts both their lives in jeopardy, they have six weeks to come up with a way out. Six weeks to discover just how far they'll go to save each other.
Review: Pawn by Aimee Carter
For Kitty Doe, it seems like an easy choice. She can either spend her life as a III in misery, or she can become a VII and join the most powerful family in the country.

Friday, April 18, 2014

Review: Sleep No More by Aprilynne Pike

Posted by 9 Comments

Review: Sleep No More by Aprilynne Pike
Sleep No More
Aprilynne Pike
Genre: Paranormal, YA
Publication date: April 29th 2014
by HarperTeen

GoodreadsPurchase
The blockbuster film Inception meets Lisa McMann's Wake trilogy in this dark paranormal thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike. This novel is also perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Alyson Noel, and Kimberly Derting.

Charlotte Westing has a gift. She is an Oracle and has the ability to tell the future. But it doesn't do her much good. Instead of using their miraculous power, modern-day Oracles are told to fight their visions—to refrain from interfering. And Charlotte knows the price of breaking the rules. She sees it every day in her wheelchair-bound mother and the absence of her father. But when a premonition of a classmate's death is too strong for her to ignore, Charlotte is forced to make an impossible decision: continue following the rules or risk everything—even her sanity—to stop the serial killer who is stalking her town.
-A copy was provided by HarperCollins for review-

Sleep No More has some good entertaining content and an interesting Oracle premise, but there were many eye-rolling parts as well. I had mixed feelings even before I started this one. The mention of both Inception which I loved, and the Wake trilogy which I loathed made for an odd combination of expectations. Still, I was intrigued and it was fun while it lasted, but it’s not without a list of flaws.

The Oracle lore is what kept my interest the most. It takes a while to get a clear picture of the Oracle abilities and the history is weak at best, but the concept is fascinating and, in many ways, thought provoking. Changing someone’s fate does not come without consequences, thus giving the ability a very bittersweet feel. Seeing the future sounds great and all, but would you save someone’s life knowing another person is likely to take their place? And wouldn’t you feel just as guilty if you did nothing? Seeing as this book involves a serial killer, we get a good dose of situations just like this. Throughout the story, while we learn more about the rules, consequences, and complexities surrounding Oracles, we’ll get a few WTF moments that not only changes everything we thought we knew, but also makes the book exponentially more interesting from one page to the next. Unfortunately, there are also many frustrating parts that added up to make for a very love and hate kind of read.

For one, you just know from the very start when she talks of a guy she’s had a crush on for years, a guy who is on the top of the social ladder whereas she lies on the bottom, what kind of cliché romance we were going to get. To throw another wrench in this overused trope, after he develops a sudden affinity for the lone wolf he admits to only hanging out with her because she takes his mind off his dead girlfriend. And she’s just totally fine with this because he’s just so hot!! With no chemistry and no personality, the romance is definitely the weakest part of this book, and although it serves a purpose and eventually throws its own curveball, the lack of emotional depth made me indifferent to it all.

Then we’ve got a murder mystery in the mix which allows for a bit of suspense, but this is hindered by the protagonist’s obliviousness. Why she trusts certain people or decides to not get help from her aunt after a certain point is beyond me. She meets this creepy 30 year old dude who seems to know all about Oracles on top of him admitting he’s been stalking her for years, yet she immediately puts all of her trust in him, going off with him alone in the middle of nowhere with a serial killer on the loose. Um, oookay. Have fun dying!

In the end, yes I had a few qualms with this one, but its entertainment value is definitely decent and improves as the story progresses. I found myself more and more intrigued as we neared the end, compelled to keep reading by a few baffling occurrences that plays with your mind. It has its ups and down, but it’s an overall enjoyable read.

3 Stars
3 Hot Espressos

The Research Behind The Summer I Wasn’t Me by Jessica Verdi + Giveaway!

The Research Behind The Summer I Wasn’t Me by Jessica Verdi + Giveaway!

Posted by on 04/17/2014 • 12 Comments

I’ve got  the lovely Jessica Verdi on the blog today to talk to us about her research process for The Summer I Wasn’t Me which has a premise involving a de-gaying camp. Also if you missed my review  you can read it here – I really enjoyed this one!

Guest Post by Jessica Verdi

Research Process for The Summer I Wasn’t Me

Hi, Giselle! Thank you so much for having me on your blog and for the opportunity to talk a little bit about the research process for The Summer I Wasn’t Me!

This was a very research-heavy book, being that I personally have never been to a conversion camp. But because this world is so secretive, so purposefully hush-hush, there was only so much…

Review: Don’t Call Me Baby by Gwendolyn Heasley

Review: Don’t Call Me Baby by Gwendolyn Heasley

Posted by on 04/16/2014 • 19 Comments

Oooh boy, this book and I did not get along very well at all.  Upon starting it I got really nervous because the first thought I had was that it all felt really juvenile.  Now that I am finished I can safely say that this novel will probably appeal much more to middle grade readers than young adult ones.  Though to be completely honest, I won’t be recommending this book to anyone at anytime.

In Don’t Call Me Baby we are Imogene, a girl who has grown up being blogged about daily by her mother.  Her mom goes by the online monicker Mommylicious and Imogene by Babylicious.  First of all let me talk about this blog of her mother’s, if I was the adult writer of that blog I would…

Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

Posted by on 04/15/2014 • 27 Comments

Super cute as expected. Jennifer E. Smith has given us another sigh-inducing, feel-good read that leaves you with a smile on your face. I adore these books of hers and each one is like a little escape into a fairy-tale kind of perfect romance story. While The Geography of You and Me may be my least favorite of hers, it’s far from a disappointment!

If you’re a fan of this author you pretty much know what to expect when you get into one of her books. Her characters are likable, the romance is always swoon-worthy, and they have this fairy-tale quality to it – meaning it’s a bit idealistic and sometimes too good to be true, but it’s what I love about them. Once in a while, it’s fun to…

Review: Tease by Amanda Maciel

Review: Tease by Amanda Maciel

Posted by on 04/14/2014 • 15 Comments

Tease is a book that is not going to be for everybody.  It is chalk full of slut shaming, unlikeable characters and cringe worthy bullying scenarios.  As someone who looks for uncomfortable doses of reality in her reading I appreciated all of those things very much.  I went into this one expected a gritty tale about bullying and this novel delivered ten-fold.

What is unique about this story is that we are not getting it from the perspective of the person being bullied, we are the bully.  We see the story unfold through the eyes of Sarah Wharton.  She’s not exactly the Queen Bee at her school but she is best friends with her.  Most of the things that Sarah did in this story were incredibly frustrating because it felt…

Jenni’s Stacking the Shelves [April 13]

Jenni’s Stacking the Shelves [April 13]

Posted by on 04/13/2014 • 19 Comments

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews featuring new additions to our bookshelves.

It has been a very quiet few weeks around here.  I was actually thinking the other day that I would have nothing for a Stacking the Shelves post this week but then I went on Edelweiss and found three titles that I am really excited for.  I’d been seeing people getting The Art of Lainey & Say What You Will lately and didn’t even realize they were on EW to grab! As for Rooms, the premise sounds awesome and I am a big fan of Oliver even though Panic really didn’t work for me.

 

Big thank you to HarperTeen and Ecco this week!

Fresh Batch (New Releases April 13th – 19th)

Fresh Batch (New Releases April 13th – 19th)

Posted by on 04/12/2014 • 10 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

What I Thought Was True Huntley Fitzpatrick Publication date: April 15th 2014by Dial Books for Young Readers

Goodreads Purchase

From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle’s Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He’s a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island’s summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but…

Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Posted by on 04/11/2014 • 23 Comments

I have been sitting on writing this review for over a day and a half now. WE WERE LIARS is one of those books that I loved so much as a reader and of course I want to share that love with everyone. But I also want people to go into the book just as blindly as I did so they can be taken by surprise as I was. So this review is going to be quite vague and I won’t be touching on many of the plot points.

What I can talk about here is the wonderful writing. I have an update on my Goodreads at 7% where I say that I loved the writing already. The words literally grabbed me at page 1 and did not let go…