Review: Dissonance by Erica O’Rourke
Delancy Sullivan has always known there’s more to reality than what people see.
Review: Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally
No matter how far she jogs, Annie can’t escape the guilt that if she hadn’t broken up with Kyle, he might still be alive.
Review: Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn
Cate Henry needs her little brother to know the truth about their past. A truth she’s not supposed to tell.
Review: 17 First Kisses by Rachael Allen
With true love and best friendship on the line, Claire suddenly has everything to lose.
Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
A private island. A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy. A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive. A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Review: Pointe by Brandy Colbert
Donovan isn’t talking about what happened, and even though Theo knows she didn’t do anything wrong, telling the truth would put everything at risk. But keeping quiet might be worse.

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Review: Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma

Posted by 6 Comments

Review: Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma
Imaginary Girls
Genre: Magical Realism, Mystery, YA
Publication date: June 14th 2012
by Speak

GoodreadsPurchase
A beautiful and chilling story for fans of Lauren Oliver and Lisa McMann

Chloe's older sister, Ruby, is the girl everyone looks to and longs for, who can't be contained or caged. When a night with Ruby's friends goes horribly wrong and Chloe discovers the body of her classmate London Hayes left floating in the reservoir, Chloe is sent away from town and away from Ruby. But Ruby will do anything to get her sister back, and when Chloe returns to town two years later, deadly surprises await. As Chloe flirts with the truth that Ruby has deeply hidden away, the fragile line between life and death is redrawn by the complex bonds of sisterhood.


 

I had heard that this was a strange book, but whoa! I do love weird, though. In a world where we get the same-old, same-old when it comes to books and movies, it’s refreshing to get a truly original idea. Something that breaks the mould and isn’t afraid to stand on its own.

Imaginary Girls is all about Ruby. Ruby is the girl no one seems to be able to say no to. She gets what she wants, when she wants it, no matter what. She has everyone tried around her fingers, and every boy stumbling over their feet to do her bidding. While this sounds like it could be a fairly annoying character – and to be honest it was at first – it’s also kind of fascinating. It’s made obvious that this… ability of hers is bizarre, unnatural. And the love she has for her sister borders on dangerous. I was definitely creeped out by her behaviour throughout. She comes off as a sort of beautiful, irresistible evil. Then we have Chloe who likes to believe she doesn’t always do as her sister asks, but she does. Because to Chloe, her sister is everything. She’s like a magical being and Chloe would do anything for her. Because that’s what sisters do.

Then we have a 3rd character who’s not a person, but a town called Olive that is now submerged under a reservoir. This town comes with a lot of old tales and legends, many told by Ruby. These stories are full of sadness and loss, but also of wonder and magic. Whether Chloe believes in her sister’s stories about Olive, there is no doubt something… alluring about the reservoir. It’s as if it was alive, as if people really still were living down there in a submerged town, going about their lives under water. Asking, demanding, calling out. It’s both mesmerizing and undeniably eerie. This atmosphere is brought to life with a writing style that is evocative and vivid. She can set a scene perfectly with wondrous imagery, and characters that come alive with a turn of the page.

As it can be with magical realism novels, many things are left to our imagination. I was expecting a twist that would make everything clear, give everything a reason, but there isn’t. You just have to accept this is what it is. In the end, I can’t say I was completely satisfied after turning the last page. Still, it’s the kind of ending that is full of hope, wonder, and shows the true meaning of unconditional love. So in a way, even if much of it remains a mystery, it’s quite beautiful, albeit in a sad way.

4 Stars
4 Hot Espressos

In the Afterlight Dream Cast & Giveaway!

In the Afterlight Dream Cast & Giveaway!

Posted by on 10/28/2014 • 8 Comments

It only took the 1st book for me to become a big fan of Alexandra Bracken, and  today I’m happy to have her drop by the blog to show us her Dream Cast for 5 of the characters in this series. First, here’s the details on the most recent release in series which is out TODAY!

In the Afterlight Dream Cast, by Alexandra Bracken

Oh man oh man oh man. The number one question I get from readers is who I’d want to see cast in a film version of The Darkest Minds. I have to be up front and tell you that I don’t know that there’s any actor out there who perfectly fits the way I imagine the characters’ appearance… but there are a few…

Time Traveling for Dummies, by Karen Akins + Giveaway!

Time Traveling for Dummies, by Karen Akins + Giveaway!

Posted by on 10/27/2014 • 5 Comments

I’ve got the wonderful Karen Akins on the blog today for a really fun guest post as part of her blog tour. And you can also enter to win before you go! First, let’s see what this book is all about:

Guest Post by Karen Akins

Time Traveling for Dummies

Thank you so much for having me on your blog today to celebrate the release of LOOP!

As I was writing LOOP, I had to come up with my own set of time travel worldbuilding rules. Through the process, I had some revelations about time travel in general. Some are common sense. Others are a little trickier. All are chock full o’ fun!

Time Traveling for Dummies: 1. Gas up the DeLorean before you leave.

Fresh Batch (New Releases October 26th – November 1st)

Fresh Batch (New Releases October 26th – November 1st)

Posted by on 10/25/2014 • 10 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Talon Julie Kagawa Series: Talon #1 Publication date: October 28th 2014by Harlequin Teen

Goodreads Purchase

Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they’re positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser.

Ember and Dante Hill are the only sister and brother known to dragonkind. Trained to infiltrate society, Ember wants to live the teen experience and enjoy a summer of freedom before taking her destined place in…

Review: The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry

Review: The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry

Posted by on 10/23/2014 • 13 Comments

Super cute! The plot is more-or-less a game of clue, but more MG-like, with a large cast of funny, resourceful, and charismatic young girls.

Much like its cover, The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place is intriguing and fun with a touch of humour. We begin by being introduced to the girls with the help of some illustrations and a quick look into why they were sent to St. Etheldreda’s School for Girls. I had the ARC so the illustrations were sadly missing, but the cover accomplished the same and it was fun to have a visual to go with all these great personalities. Then shortly after, we have the death of the headmistress and her brother, leaving the girls to solve a mystery while trying to hide the events…

Interview with Martina Boone, author of Compulsion + Giveaway!

Interview with Martina Boone, author of Compulsion + Giveaway!

Posted by on 10/22/2014 • 6 Comments

I’ve got the wonderful Martina Boone on the blog today for an interview as part of her blog tour. And you can also enter to win before you go! First, let’s see what her book is all about:

Interview with Martina Boone

Hi Martina, I actually met you at BEA where I got a signed copy of your book so I’m excited to be a part of your blog tour!

YAY! Thank you so much for being willing to host me. I’m excited to have that personal connection, because this whole process all kind of scary and exciting! : ) I’m thrilled to be here with you and your readers though, and I love the questions you sent!

Let’s start with how the idea for Compulsion…

Follow Me Through Darkness Playlist + Giveaway!

Follow Me Through Darkness Playlist + Giveaway!

Posted by on 10/21/2014 • 5 Comments

The Follow Me Through Darkness tour is stopping by the blog today with the book’s playlist along with a giveaway! I haven’t read this one yet, but it sounds like a really interesting dystopian book that sounds right up my alley! Here’s some info on the book if it’s new to you:

Follow Me Through Darkness Playlist by Danielle Ellison

I spent four years between first draft and the release of Follow Me Through Darkness. Music was instrumental in setting the mood, in keeping me in the zone, and in creating the tension that I wanted to build in the novel. This is a longer playlist, because it’s four years of music! I found that I kept adding to the songs I already had, and none of…

Review: The Walled City by Ryan Graudin

Review: The Walled City by Ryan Graudin

Posted by on 10/20/2014 • 23 Comments

“There are three rules in the Walled City: Run fast. Trust no one. Always carry your knife.”

I admit, this is all I read of the blurb before I dived into this book in line at BEA, so what I expected was some kind of dystopian. And in a way, it is a dystopian-like setting inside the city itself, but this book is not a dystopian/post-apocalyptic story at all. It’s a contemporary thriller. Outside the Walled City, the world is just like ours today, with modern civilization and normal people living normal lives. Inside this city, however, we’ve got another story. In a gist, this book is about the horrors of human trafficking in a city without laws, controlled by gangs and criminals, ruled by brothel owners and drug…