Monday, July 24, 2017

SDCC Blues: A Reading List + A Panel

Posted by 0 Comments

For the past week, I’ve mostly been hiding from the internet because SDCC was happening and I was envious (and glad) for all the people who got to attend. SDCC is now over but hey, if you’re feeling those post-SDCC blues (or envy in my case) I am bringing to you a recording of one of the most exciting panels that happened at the con plus a reading list of books that feature cons!

A Panel: YA AUTHORS MEET DC SUPERHEROES 

A Reading List: 5 Books to Read Featuring Cons

1. Geekerella by Ashley Poston

This book is literally the movie A Cinderella Story but at a con and much more geekier. 100/10 would recommend for the nerdy, feel-good feels.

2. Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

The super diverse and super shippy con experiences we all want to read about.

3. One True Pairing by Cathy Yardley

It’s an adult romance but it definitely has cross-over appeal and it also features an indie bookstore.

4. The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love by Sarvenaz Tash

Whether or not the unrequited love is realized, this book does have some geeky fun and also takes place at NYCC!

5. All the Feels by Danika Stone

Extreme fandom fun to be had at Dragon Con in All the Feels. THERE IS COSPLAYING.

Are there any books you would include on this list? How did you feel about the panel? Tell me all your thoughts & feels!

Fresh Batch (July 23rd – 29th)

Fresh Batch (July 23rd – 29th)

Posted by on 07/22/2017 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Daughter of the Burning City Amanda Foody Publication date: July 25th 2017by Harlequin Teen

Goodreads Purchase

A darkly irresistible new fantasy set in the infamous Gomorrah Festival, a traveling carnival of debauchery that caters to the strangest of dreams and desires.

Sixteen-year-old Sorina has spent most of her life within the smoldering borders of the Gomorrah Festival. Yet even among the many unusual members of the traveling circus-city, Sorina stands apart as the only illusion-worker born in hundreds of years. This rare talent allows her to create illusions that others can see, feel and touch, with personalities all their own. Her…

Fresh Batch (July 16th – 22nd)

Fresh Batch (July 16th – 22nd)

Posted by on 07/15/2017 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

The Library of Fates Aditi Khorana Publication date: July 18th 2017by Razorbill

Goodreads Purchase

A romantic coming-of-age fantasy tale steeped in Indian folklore, perfect for fans of The Star-Touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn

No one is entirely certain what brings the Emperor Sikander to Shalingar. Until now, the idyllic kingdom has been immune to his many violent conquests. To keep the visit friendly, Princess Amrita has offered herself as his bride, sacrificing everything—family, her childhood love, and her freedom—to save her people. But her offer isn’t enough.

The unthinkable happens, and Amrita finds herself a fugitive, utterly alone but…

K-Drama Rec Based On Jellicoe Road

K-Drama Rec Based On Jellicoe Road

Posted by on 07/13/2017 • 1 Comment

I don’t watch a lot of K-drama’s but when I do, I get sucked in and binge watch like my life depends on it. This particular k-drama was recommended to me by a close friend and just happened to be the one to introduce me to the wonderful world of k-dramas. 

But, before I talk about it, lets talk about Jellicoe Road, or as it is known in Australia, On the Jellicoe Road (a title I much prefer.) Well for one, Melina Marchetta is my queen and secondly, I don’t compare things to Jellicoe unless I mean it. If you haven’t read this life-changing book already, I highly suggest you get on it because making good life decisions is a good thing. You will sob, laugh, probably die for a hot second and…

17 Books With Summer in the Title

17 Books With Summer in the Title

Posted by on 07/12/2017 • 3 Comments

To continue with my summer book-list theme I have going on, I BRING TO YOU 15 books with summer in their titles!!! Read through summer by reading books with summer in their titles! Go forth and add books to that summer TBR pile. Or don’t. DO WHAT YOU WANT.

1. This One Summer by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki 2. The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller 3. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson 4. Sixteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton 5. The Summer of Skinny Dipping by Amanda Howells

6. Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

7. The Summer of Firsts and Lasts by Terra Alan McVoy 8. The Summer My Life Began by Shannon Greenland 9. How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski 10….

Fresh Batch (July 9th – 15th)

Fresh Batch (July 9th – 15th)

Posted by on 07/08/2017 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

What to Say Next Julie Buxbaum Publication date: July 11th 2017by Delacorte Press

Goodreads Purchase

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How…

Rashika’s Guide to Reading What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Rashika’s Guide to Reading What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Posted by on 07/07/2017 • 4 Comments

I felt like doing something a little different for this incredibly amazing book so I took some inspiration from the book (unfortunately, the title of this post references a terrible thing that happens… whoops) and decided to make a guide to reading What to Say Next.

1. Go grocery shopping before diving in. Make sure you buy Kleenex and stock up on your comfort foods. You will be needing those things very soon.

2. Prepare for a heartbreaking discussion on grief and death. If that’s not something you can do right now, probably don’t read the book but if you do choose to, there will be tears if you are a human bean (refer to the first point in this guide.)

3. Pace yourself because you’re in for a serious bookish hangover…

#Throwback Thursday: 5 Books to Take With You To the Beach

#Throwback Thursday: 5 Books to Take With You To the Beach

Posted by on 07/06/2017 • 0 Comments

Are you getting tired of summer round ups because I AM NEVER GOING TO BE. ITS FUCKING 90 degrees outside, what do you want from me? I can fantasize about going to the beach and doing some ocean-side reading. In the meantime, I present you with a list of older releases if you’re looking for some to read while at the beach or that will transport you to the beach.

1. This is What Happy Looks Like by by Jennifer E. Smith

‘Wrong email address’ situation. Featuring an extremely adorable pet pig named Wilbur.

2. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

A talented singer for Tobago loses her voice in an accident and accepts an invitation to Atargatis Cove to get away from it all. Featuring an adorable…