Saturday, January 13, 2018

Fresh Batch (January 14th – 20th)

Posted by 2 Comments

FreshBatchBanner637
Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Truly Devious
Maureen Johnson
Series: Truly Devious #1
Publication date: January 16th 2018
by HarperCollins

Goodreads Purchase

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.”

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym “Truly, Devious.” It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.

The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.


Other releases this week:
* In no particular order *




Lullaby (The Sand Maiden #1) by L.R.W. Lee [Purchase]
Zenith (The Androma Saga #1) by Sasha Alsberg & Lindsay Cummings [Purchase]
Blood and Sand (Untitled #1) by C.V. Wyk [Purchase]
Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed [Purchase]


Poison’s Cage (Poison’s Kiss #2) by Breeana Shields [Purchase]
Iron Gold (Red Rising Saga #4) by Pierce Brown [Purchase]
All That Was by Karen Rivers [Purchase]
Learning Seventeen (Orca Soundings) by Brooke Carter [Purchase]


You Won’t Know I’m Gone (The Black Angel Chronicles #2) by Kristen Orlando [Purchase]
The Tremblers (Blackburn Chronicles #1) by Raquel Byrnes [Purchase]


What are you looking forward to reading this week?

Find previous Fresh Batch posts here!

 

‘Stranded in an Airport’ Story I’ve Been Waiting For: The Chaos of Standing Still by Jessica Brody

‘Stranded in an Airport’ Story I’ve Been Waiting For: The Chaos of Standing Still by Jessica Brody

Posted by on 01/12/2018 • 6 Comments

The first discovered Jessica Brody with 52 Reasons to Hate My Father. She immediately had my intention and I really wanted to read everything she wrote but I quickly found out that perhaps everything she wrote wasn’t for me. Which is unfortunate because I really enjoyed her writing style. But then I came The Chaos of Standing Still, a book that demanded my attention.

At 403 pages The Chaos of Standing Still is not a short book but don’t let it fool you. Those 403 pages FLY BY. There are books I’ve read where even 300 pages feel like they are too fucking much but Jessica Brody knows how to pace a story well. In fact she probably deserves an award because there have not been many times in my…

Rashika’s Meet Cute

Rashika’s Meet Cute

Posted by on 01/10/2018 • 4 Comments

Meet Cute is an adorable anthology of stories I felt were personally written for me. I didn’t actually know the book was coming out until like mid-way through last year. That in itself isn’t entirely odd in of itself but like for a book that just screams RASHIKA, clearly, I should have known about it. Shout out to my friend Holly who saw the book at ALA in June and thought of me even when I didn’t know Meet Cute was a book I needed.

I digress though. I don’t really want to review this anthology. I can wholeheartedly say it was worth the read and that I didn’t dislike any of the stories. There were maybe 2-3 that didn’t do much for me but even then, I did not…

Self-Care in 2018

Self-Care in 2018

Posted by on 01/08/2018 • 10 Comments

  New Year, New Me, right? 2017 was a rough year for me, personally and just on a larger political scale. I am really hoping 2017 will at least bring good things on a personal scale or at least won’t try to take me on an intense emotional coaster; however, I am not holding any high hopes for not experiencing high amounts of stress because the world is falling the fuck apart. I am not trying to be pessimistic though, I just know that even if good things happen, I ~will~ be stressed out and so since the year has only barely begun and I haven’t experienced any high amounts of stress yet, I thought I’d do a post centering around what ~I~ plan to do for self-care this…

Fresh Batch (January 7th – 13th)

Fresh Batch (January 7th – 13th)

Posted by on 01/06/2018 • 2 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Nice Try, Jane Sinner Lianne Oelke Publication date: January 9th 2018by Clarion Books

Goodreads Purchase

The only thing 17-year-old Jane Sinner hates more than failure is pity. After a personal crisis and her subsequent expulsion from high school, she’s going nowhere fast. Jane’s well-meaning parents push her to attend a high school completion program at the nearby Elbow River Community College, and she agrees, on one condition: she gets to move out.

Jane tackles her housing problem by signing up for House of Orange, a student-run reality show that is basically Big Brother, but for Elbow River Students. Living away from home, the chance to win a car (used, but whatever), and a campus full of people…

Sequel Smashers: The One Where Rashika Takes On Sequels

Sequel Smashers: The One Where Rashika Takes On Sequels

Posted by on 01/05/2018 • 6 Comments

I have a problem. It’s called me picking up shiny new series and never reading sequels. It doesn’t matter if the sequel was the most anticipated thing or the least, I DON’T READ THEM. A quick browse through my Goodreads showed I have ~at least~ 100 sequels I have NOT read. This is not even including series where more books come out after the sequel I didn’t read. This year, I have decided enough is enough and decided to fix this problem; especially because I even BOUGHT a lot of my anticipated sequels and never read them. Basically, I seem to have a problem where I buy books I am looking forward to and then never read them? Last year, I focused on reading more backlist books and this year,…

2017 Releases You Shouldn’t Miss Out On

2017 Releases You Shouldn’t Miss Out On

Posted by on 01/04/2018 • 8 Comments

It is NO LONGER 2017 but that doesn’t mean you cannot revisit the past and read some amazing books that came out last year. This list is based on what I’ve read and still isn’t entirely complete because I HAVEN’T READ SO MANY BOOKS that came out last year. I also wanted to narrow it down so as not to dump too many books on your tbr! The following is a list of some of the best books out in 2017 in my opinion. Looking for a book to make that will make you cry, or at the very least, make you FEEL? These books might have something in store for you. Just as an FYI, all of these books involve death.

Saint Death by Marcus Sedwick

What…

BYE BYE 2017, FOREVER AND EVER.

BYE BYE 2017, FOREVER AND EVER.

Posted by on 12/31/2017 • 16 Comments

2017 has been a YEAR, amirite? I’ve been struggling to figure out what I want to do for my last post of the year because I don’t know if I just wanted to talk about the best books I’ve read this year (although I will do some of that!) Instead, I am doing a round up of my year personally and in books!

-Watched Twilight 5 times (I am really trying to make it 6 before the year ends) Update: ITS NOT GONNA HAPPEN

-Graduated 2 terms early from college with latin honors

-Adulted this summer (lived away from home and college, fed myself, paid bills, etc)

-Baked a FUCK TON. It was basically a coping mechanism but hey, I baked a tart for the very first time and am…