Wednesday, July 12, 2017

17 Books With Summer in the Title

Posted by 3 Comments

To continue with my summer book-list theme I have going on, I BRING TO YOU 15 books with summer in their titles!!! Read through summer by reading books with summer in their titles! Go forth and add books to that summer TBR pile. Or don’t. DO WHAT YOU WANT.

1. This One Summer by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki

2. The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

3. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

4. Sixteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton

5. The Summer of Skinny Dipping by Amanda Howells

6. Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

7. The Summer of Firsts and Lasts by Terra Alan McVoy

8. The Summer My Life Began by Shannon Greenland

9. How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski

10. Five Summers by Una La Marche

11. Rules of Summer by Joanna Philbin

12. The Summer I Found You by Jolene Perry

13. Song of Summer by Laura Lee Anderson

14. Summer of Sloane by Erin L. Schneider

15. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

16. The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

17. A Midsummer’s Nightmare by Kody Keplinger

Fresh Batch (July 9th – 15th)

Fresh Batch (July 9th – 15th)

Posted by on 07/08/2017 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

What to Say Next Julie Buxbaum Publication date: July 11th 2017by Delacorte Press

Goodreads Purchase

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How…

Rashika’s Guide to Reading What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Rashika’s Guide to Reading What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Posted by on 07/07/2017 • 4 Comments

I felt like doing something a little different for this incredibly amazing book so I took some inspiration from the book (unfortunately, the title of this post references a terrible thing that happens… whoops) and decided to make a guide to reading What to Say Next.

1. Go grocery shopping before diving in. Make sure you buy Kleenex and stock up on your comfort foods. You will be needing those things very soon.

2. Prepare for a heartbreaking discussion on grief and death. If that’s not something you can do right now, probably don’t read the book but if you do choose to, there will be tears if you are a human bean (refer to the first point in this guide.)

3. Pace yourself because you’re in for a serious bookish hangover…

#Throwback Thursday: 5 Books to Take With You To the Beach

#Throwback Thursday: 5 Books to Take With You To the Beach

Posted by on 07/06/2017 • 0 Comments

Are you getting tired of summer round ups because I AM NEVER GOING TO BE. ITS FUCKING 90 degrees outside, what do you want from me? I can fantasize about going to the beach and doing some ocean-side reading. In the meantime, I present you with a list of older releases if you’re looking for some to read while at the beach or that will transport you to the beach.

1. This is What Happy Looks Like by by Jennifer E. Smith

‘Wrong email address’ situation. Featuring an extremely adorable pet pig named Wilbur.

2. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

A talented singer for Tobago loses her voice in an accident and accepts an invitation to Atargatis Cove to get away from it all. Featuring an adorable…

Book Aesthetic: Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourne

Book Aesthetic: Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourne

Posted by on 07/05/2017 • 3 Comments

If you’re expecting this book to change your life, you’re probably going to be disappointed but it IS a perfectly, enjoyable summer book and not everything we read needs to revolutionize our lives. I, for one, have been too tired and too overheated lately to read books that will change my life so Wesley James Ruined My Life was the perfect read for me.

Is Quinn Hardwick stubborn as fuck and will you want to shake some sense into her? For SURE but the book also has so many feel-good vibes and part of the fun is when she does realize she is in the wrong. Quinn is stubborn and holds grudges for all the wrong reasons but we can all be stubborn sometimes and I for one am still angry…

Fresh Batch (July 2nd – 8th)

Fresh Batch (July 2nd – 8th)

Posted by on 07/01/2017 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Coming Up for Air Miranda Kenneally Series: Hundred Oaks # Publication date: July 4th 2017by Sourcebooks Fire

Goodreads Purchase

Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner. Homework. Bed. Repeat.

All of Maggie’s focus and free time is spent swimming. She’s not only striving to earn scholarships—she’s training to qualify for the Olympics. It helps that her best friend, Levi, is also on the team and cheers her on. But Levi’s already earned an Olympic try out, so she feels even more pressure to succeed. And it’s not until Maggie’s away on a college visit that she realizes how much of…

A Powerful Novel about Grief: The Girl with the Ghost Machine by Lauren DeStefano

A Powerful Novel about Grief: The Girl with the Ghost Machine by Lauren DeStefano

Posted by on 06/30/2017 • 2 Comments

Back in the day, everyone would rave about DeStefano’s YA series but I never really got around to reading the Wither series. Years later, here I am raving about DeStefano’s middle grade series. I honestly cannot imagine if her YA books could be any better or honestly, if any YA book could even tackle grief the way DeStefano does in every single one of the middle grade books I’ve read by her.

So probably there is some book out there that does grief better BUT THATS NOT THE POINT OF THIS REVIEW. The point of this review is so that I can sing The Girl with the Ghost Machine praises because series, this book hits you right in the fucking feels.

Emmaline Beaumont’s father starts building a ghost machine when her…

Cover Reveal for No Limits by Ellie Marney

Cover Reveal for No Limits by Ellie Marney

Posted by on 06/26/2017 • 0 Comments

Ellie Marney is the beloved author of the Every Breath series and I am honored to be helping out with the cover reveal of her upcoming book No Limits!

But first, here is a quick synopsis of the book (because keeping you waiting is my goal in life)

 

BUT NOW… FOR THE COVER.

ARE YOU EXCITED? IS YOUR BODY FOR A NEW NOVEL BY ELLIE MARNEY? Me too.