Publisher: HarperTeen


Monday, July 16, 2018

Giveaway: Hidden Pieces by Paula Stokes

Posted by 10 Comments

Hi guys! We are huge fans of Paula Stokes over here so we’re really honored and excited to be bringing you a giveaway for Paula’s latest book! It’s a return to mystery and it sounds amazing! Turning over to Paula now!

Paula: Hi peeps 🙂 A big thank you to Rashika and Giselle for having me on Xpresso Reads to talk about my forthcoming mystery, HIDDEN PIECES, releasing on Aug 28. Of course there is a giveaway, but first here’s a little info about the book in case you’re unfamiliar.

Giveaway: Hidden Pieces by Paula Stokes
Hidden Pieces
Paula Stokes
Genre: Contemporary, Mystery, YA
Publication date: August 28th, 2018
by HarperTeen

GoodreadsPurchase
“Stokes delivers a classic whodunit, masterfully played.” –ALA Booklist, starred review

Embry Woods has secrets. Small ones about her past. Bigger ones about her relationship with town hero Luke and her feelings for someone new. But the biggest secret she carries with her is about what happened that night at the Sea Cliff Inn. The fire. The homeless guy. Everyone thinks Embry is a hero, too, but that couldn’t be further from the truth.

Embry thinks she’ll have to take the secret to her grave, until she receives an anonymous note—someone else knows the truth. Next comes a series of threatening messages, asking Embry to make impossible choices, forcing her to put her loved ones at risk. Someone is playing a high stakes game where no one in Embry’s life is safe. And their last move...is murder.

Character Profiles

Embry:

Embry Woods is an 18-year-old girl who likes photography and the ocean, but isn’t sure what she’s going to do after she graduates from high school. Her mom is recovering from breast cancer, and even though she’s in remission now, Embry worries obsessively about her. Embry and her military boyfriend decided to take a break when he deployed overseas, but he’s made it clear he’s still in love with her so she feels horribly guilty that she’s started seeing someone else…who just happens to be her best friend’s Julia’s ex-boyfriend. Embry knows she should tell both of them the truth, but she can’t figure out a way to do it without losing someone important from her life. The fire at the start of the story adds to Embry’s feelings of guilt and helplessness and it takes being pushed to the very edge by a threatening stranger for Embry to find the courage to do finally what’s right. But will she change her ways before someone she loves pays the ultimate price?

Embry’s mom:

Claire Woods is a 38-year-old woman who got pregnant with Embry at age 19 by an older married man. A scandal ensued, resulting in Embry’s father moving away with his family and Claire becoming the town pariah. Despite that, she has always believed that Embry is the very best thing in her life and she would do anything for her daughter. Gradually, people got over Claire’s “bad behavior” and she returned to work at the family café, which she now owns, though she took the summer off from running it to recover from her radiation and surgery.

Holden:

Holden Hassler is an 18-year-old vegan who enjoys reading and painting. (Yes, he’s a quintessential Portland boy, minus the man bun). He’s also one of the smartest kids at Tillamook High. Despite that, he’s not interested in going to college and is considering trying to get an apprenticeship at an auto repair shop in town because he currently works at the gas station and enjoys fixing cars. His parents are divorced and he lives with his mom, a local police officer, so he spends a lot of time trying (and failing) to stay out of trouble. The word on the street is that he looks like a young Jared Leto, but I’ll let you decide if that’s a good thing or a bad thing.

Julia:

Julia Worthington has been Embry’s best friend since she and her family moved to Three Rocks during middle school. The girls spent all their free time at the beach in seventh and eighth grade, but as they got older they developed different interests and have started to grow apart. Julia wants to work in politics someday so she spent the previous summer interning with a think tank in Washington D.C. She plans to attend Harvard or Georgetown to major in political science and is currently working on applications for both.

Betsy:

Betsy is a Golden Retriever and very good (okay, mostly good) doggo. But animal lovers, rest easy, nothing bad happens to her during the book, unless you count the time she has to do her business outside in the rain.

About the Author




Paula Stokes writes stories about flawed characters with good hearts. She’s the author of several novels, most recently Vicarious and Girl Against the Universe. Her writing has been translated into eleven foreign languages. Paula loves kayaking, hiking, reading, and seeking out new adventures in faraway lands She also loves interacting with readers.

DividerXR

Giveaway!

One (1) winner receives:
Copy of the book

  • OPEN INT! U.S. winner will receive a signed ARC and INT winner will receive pre-order + signed bookplate mailed separately.
  • Xpresso Reads will not be responsible for any lost/damaged items
  • You must be 13+ or have parental permission to participate
  • No Cheating Allowed
  • A new winner will be picked if the initial winner does not respond within 48 hours.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Summer Road Trip: Mariam Sharma Hits the Road by Sheba Karim

Summer Road Trip: Mariam Sharma Hits the Road by Sheba Karim

Posted by on 06/25/2018 • 0 Comments

That Thing We Call a Heart was one of my favorite books of 2017 so obviously, when I heard about Mariam Sharma Hits the Road, I was ecstatic and ready to dive in. This review is particularly hard because even though, overall, I definitely enjoyed Mariam Sharma Hits the Road, there were times when I felt let down by some of the things the characters said.

I am grappling for words as I attempt to describe my feelings because I want to be respectful and clear that these experiences aren’t invalid but one of the biggest dichotomy in the book is how Mariam is raised vs how her friends are raised. Mariam grew up in a household that wasn’t religious or super connected to their cultural roots and her mom was super…

All Five Stars: The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

All Five Stars: The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Posted by on 03/08/2018 • 4 Comments

I am a finnick-y asshole when it comes to rating books 5 stars which isn’t necessarily because I don’t love books but I want to reserve that 5 stars for a book that is something that I am going to remember for a long time after I close the last page shut. The Poet X is just one of those books you are gonna come out of feeling something. I don’t share the same identities as the main character and yet the way Xiomara navigates her diaspora completely moved me. The way her story was told made me feel seen and validated.

The Poet X is told in verse and yet it tells an overarching story that I am not sure prose could have done justice to. Acevedo is incredibly talented to…

Giveaway: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Giveaway: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Posted by on 05/19/2017 • 23 Comments

Hi everyone! Today we are partnering with Paula Stokes to giveaway a copy GIRL AGAINST THE UNIVERSE to one lucky winner! GIRL AGAINST THE UNIVERSE was one of my favorite books of 2016 and honestly such an important book. It does such a great job talking about mental health issues and also has an incredibly swoony romance.

 

About the Book

Paula: Hi everyone! Girl Against the Universe releases in paperback on June 6, 2017 and I’m so excited about that I decided to do an entire blog tour of giveaways to celebrate! In the story, main character Maguire creates her own list of seven challenges to help her overcome her fears. This week I have seven challenges for you, and seven chances to win a shiny GATU paperback 😀 These…

Heartfelt Coming of Age Novel: That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim

Heartfelt Coming of Age Novel: That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim

Posted by on 05/12/2017 • 1 Comment

Sometimes there are books you read and you love and then sometimes there are books you read and FUCKING LOVE. As you might be able to gather given my subtle opening line, That Thing We Call a Heart falls into the latter category for me.

I honestly don’t even know how to express all the love I feel for the book into this review because I doubt that is even possible. Perhaps I might use this gif:

Or I could use words but as I told my prof the other day when he suggested I do a creative writing project, I am not a writer so if this review is completely incoherent, know that I honestly tried.

That Thing We Call a Heart is a book that needs to be in…

Review: What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler

Review: What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler

Posted by on 10/02/2015 • 5 Comments

You know how I would describe “being speechless” by something? It’s when you’re overwhelmed with so much emotions that words escape you. Something made you happy so much that you could only cry. Something made you so sad that your throat tightens and you can croak nothing out. Something made you so angry that find it hard to mutter a single word because you’re just fuming inside. This is basically what happened to me after reading What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler. It rendered me completely speechless.

I honestly don’t know how to review this book, if I can even review this book and give it the justice it deserves. It’s the sort that you know everyone – and I mean, everyone – should read; the sort in which when people ask you why…

Review: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Review: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Posted by on 06/03/2015 • 11 Comments

Don’t be fooled by my 3-star rating. Because despite all my problems with it, I actually… liked this book. O_O

First of all, you guys know me – anything with science and traveling through space/time, I’m 100% game for that. I like exploring all kinds of possibilities and going beyond what we deem as reality. There’s a kind of poetry in it, you know? The feeling that there are still so much out there that we need to understand and discover, that the universe is so much bigger and grander than we could possibly perceive, and that amazes me. It’s a romantic, philosophical, and awe-inspiring concept, so seeing it as the central concept in a book made me giddy with glee.

However, I didn’t expect that the book would largely be… romantic-driven. I…

Review: Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman

Review: Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman

Posted by on 04/28/2015 • 18 Comments

This book was so confusing at first, but ended up making so much sense and really stuck with me. The way it is written pulls you in right away. Even though I wasn’t quite sure what was going on when I started, I was compelled to keep reading. I hoped that it would make sense to me as I got further in. It did and it didn’t. What I mean is that I realized why it was written how it was, and I understood it, but it was still a very confusing story. It fit perfectly with the main character though, and the mental illness that it is about. This was a brilliant book, and I have already recommended it to many people.

Caden is the main character, and the…