Posts Categorized: Review

Thursday, November 30, 2017

The Hamilton-Insipired Romances You Didn’t Know You Wanted: Hamilton’s Battalion

Posted by 1 Comment

The Hamilton-Insipired Romances You Didn’t Know You Wanted: Hamilton’s Battalion
Hamilton's Battalion: A Trio of Romances
Alyssa Cole, Courtney Milan, Rose Lerner
Genre: Adult, Historical, Romance
Publication date: October 17th, 2017

GoodreadsPurchase
Love in the time of Hamilton…

On October 14, 1781, Alexander Hamilton led a daring assault on Yorktown's defenses and won a decisive victory in America's fight for independence. Decades later, when Eliza Hamilton collected his soldiers' stories, she discovered that while the war was won at Yorktown, the battle for love took place on many fronts...
-A copy was provided by [author] for review-

Hamilton’s Battalion is one of the most unique romance anthologies I’ve had the pleasure of reading, ever. You’ve probably heard of Hamilton unless you live under the rock. The musical has really brought a lot of attention to Alexander Hamilton and given way to a lot of other media that adapts and retells historical events. This trio of romances is not only perfect for fans of historical romance but also for any Hamilton fans who just want ~more~.

This anthology is not only unique because it is one of the first ones that are inspired by Hamilton but also because even though it is three different stories by three different authors, the stories have a common overarching story.

Eliza Hamilton is collecting stories about her late husband and has reached out to many people who may have interacted with him or had a family member who did. These three stories touches the lives for 6 different people, as they embark on their own personal journeys and also talks a little bit about ALEXANDER HAMILTON (one story even features him ;))

Rose Lerner’s Promised Land is a story about two exs who meet very unexpectedly and are forced not only to acknowledge their feelings for each other but also where they went wrong in the past. Second chance romances are my favorite and romances by Rose Lerner are also my favorite so this was just a double-win situation for me. This second chance romance was also just great because you can really see that it is a second chance, things were NOT perfect the first time around and time apart has helped them grow as individuals.

Courtney Milan’s The Pursuit of is a hate to love romance b/w two supposed enemies who just happen to fall in love over a long journey. Courtney Milan, unsurprisingly, delivers yet again with this short. The Pursuit Of… is so stinkin adorable that I just don’t know what else to say about it. It was incredibly satisfying to watching these two men fall in love while they try to deny their feelings for each other. I love their banter but I also love that there is also discussion of privilege that occurs given that Henry is a white, nobleman’s son and John is none of those things. 

I hadn’t had the privilege of reading anything by Alyssa Cole prior to reading this anthology but I have now discovered a new author to read and love. That Could Be Enough takes place as Eliza Hamilton is collecting stories about her late husband. It is told from the POV of her maid, Mercy who has been assisting Eliza Hamilton in the collection of these stories. Mercy is jaded and more than a little unhappy. When she meets the outspoken, brazen Andromeda, her life changes. She finds herself falling in love with Andromeda but also being too scared to embrace not only her feelings for Andromeda but also her hopes and dreams for herself. Over the course of this short story, Mercy has to confront her past, her present and determine what she wants her future to be. That Could Be Enough ties this anthology up beautifully.

Overall, Hamilton’s Battalion does incredible justice to my hopes for a Hamilton inspired romance anthology and does so in a wholly unique way. It is an incredibly read and every single one of these stories is bound to leave you with a giant smile on your face. 100/10 would recommend reading.

4.5 Stars
4.5 Hot Espressos

Cute But Not Much Else: Cast No Shadow by Nick Tapalansky & Anissa Espinosa

Cute But Not Much Else: Cast No Shadow by Nick Tapalansky & Anissa Espinosa

Posted by on 11/29/2017 • 1 Comment

Cast No Shadow was a surprise graphic novel I received but it looked really cute and I couldn’t help but read it right away. Of course, this was some time ago and I am only now getting around to writing the review for the book so forgive me.

Greg has no shadow and is kind of an outcast. One day, he discovers a haunted mansion and ends up falling in love with the resident ghost. Obviously, things get a little complicated and there is some good angst going on there too.

The graphic novel is as cute as it sounds but doesn’t necessarily leave a lasting impression. Not every book I read, or anyone reads, needs to be revolutionary but I think the premise is so unique that I would…

Middle Grade Mini-Reviews

Middle Grade Mini-Reviews

Posted by on 11/14/2017 • 0 Comments

I actually haven’t had as much time to read lately which is why I haven’t been posting more but hey, this is my last week of school ever??!?!?! It’s wild, intense and incredibly stressful. I have a bajillion emotions but this isn’t really the time to talk about them. I have been reading some MG and Picture Books to destress though so today, I bring to you, some mini-reviews of middle grade novels I’ve read in the past month-ish?? However long it’s been. IDK.

 

Just, Dance Patricia MacLachlan 

GOODREADS | PURCHASE

Sylvie Bloom wants to find something new and exciting this summer—at least more exciting than the cows, goats, and chickens on her family’s farm that she’s become accustomed to. Luckily, Sylvie’s teacher Mrs. Ludolf…

Dark & Rich: Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Dark & Rich: Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Posted by on 11/08/2017 • 11 Comments

I think there is this general conception that for a fantasy novel to be truly good, it needs to have about a 1,000,000 pages and at 304 pages, Beasts Made of Night is not a particularly long book. Do not and I repeat do NOT let that fool you. Tochi Onyebuchi packs a fucking punch in those 304 pages. World building? You got it. Adventure? You got it. A mother-fucking rebellion? YOU GOT IT. Beasts Made of Night isn’t just a great novel for fantasy readers but also for people too vary of the genre because of its reputation for long-winded novels that take lifetimes to get through.

Onyebuchi has a background in screenwriting and honestly, the high stakes and the quick pace of the novel really reflect this. For some people,…

A Graphic Novel That You Most Definitely Need: Pashmina by Nidhi Chanani

A Graphic Novel That You Most Definitely Need: Pashmina by Nidhi Chanani

Posted by on 11/03/2017 • 2 Comments

I’ve been waiting for Pashmina since I first heard it existed so when my friend got a copy, I dove into hers while I was visiting and also ended up coming home to a precious copy of my own (#SHOUTOUT.) I’ve already read it twice and there is a very huge possibility I’ll have read it a third time before the end of the year (and even the end of the month, tbh.) SO. I THINK it’s safe to say that I love Pashmina.

It’s already being marketed as such but I also just think Pashmina is perfect for fans of American Born Chinese. The books share so many wonderful qualities and parallels but Pashmina is still its own story and so so SO heartfelt at that. I mean, it even has Gene Luen Yang’s stamp…

Might Have Been Better In Verse: Wait for Me by An Na

Might Have Been Better In Verse: Wait for Me by An Na

Posted by on 11/02/2017 • 0 Comments

Wait for Me was a new-to-me title when it showed up on my (metaphorical) doorstep. I hadn’t heard much about it but upon some research found out it was being republished with a pretty new cover and all. I dove into the book not entirely sure what to expect but ready to meet new characters and enjoy a new story.

This review is a hard one to write because upon finishing, I am not entirely sure how I feel about Wait for Me. I am divided on it because there are parts of it I enjoyed and other parts that really made it hard for me to finish the book feeling like I had read something worthwhile.

I think the number one issue I had with the book was just the pacing…

A Letter To Nic Stone: Dear Martin

A Letter To Nic Stone: Dear Martin

Posted by on 10/25/2017 • 1 Comment

Dear Nic Stone,

I know you’ve had a lot of people already telling you this and my voice is no more important or valuable than theirs but thank you for writing this book. Thank you for giving this gift to the world.

You probably already know this but the world sucks right now and honestly, books like Dear Martin make it a little better. I am glad people will walk into a bookstore and pick this book up (and I know, I am going to be pushing it at literally anyone. I already got someone to check out a copy!)

This year has been chock full of amazing books (one of the few things that don’t suck about this year) and Dear Martin still stands out because it is so…

A Fun Read If A Little Romance Heavy: There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

A Fun Read If A Little Romance Heavy: There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

Posted by on 10/11/2017 • 2 Comments

While I admittedly have some complex feelings about Anna and the French Kiss, I can wholeheartedly say that I enjoy Stephanie Perkins’ writing style and that when I heard about There’s Someone Inside Your House, I was extremely excited to see how her unique writing style would translate across genres.

It did take me a while to get into There’s Someone Inside Your House so it is slow-going but as soon as things started getting bloodier and gorier, I was HERE FOR IT and I just got sucked in.

While it does kind of suck it took me a while to get into There’s Someone Inside Your House, I think it also makes sense because it is drawing from the classic horror movie, Scream and classic horror movies take time…