Genre: Contemporary


Friday, November 03, 2017

A Graphic Novel That You Most Definitely Need: Pashmina by Nidhi Chanani

Posted by 2 Comments

A Graphic Novel That You Most Definitely Need: Pashmina by Nidhi Chanani
Pashmina
Nidhi Chanani
Genre: Contemporary, Graphic Novel, YA
Publication date: October 3rd, 2017
by First Second

GoodreadsPurchase
Priyanka Das has so many unanswered questions: Why did her mother abandon her home in India years ago? What was it like there? And most importantly, who is her father, and why did her mom leave him behind? But Pri's mom avoids these questions--the topic of India is permanently closed.

For Pri, her mother's homeland can only exist in her imagination. That is, until she find a mysterious pashmina tucked away in a forgotten suitcase. When she wraps herself in it, she is transported to a place more vivid and colorful than any guidebook or Bollywood film. But is this the real India? And what is that shadow lurking in the background? To learn the truth, Pri must travel farther than she's ever dared and find the family she never knew.

In this heartwarming graphic novel debut, Nidhi Chanani weaves a tale about the hardship and self-discovery that is born from juggling two cultures and two worlds.
-A copy was provided by First Second for review-

I’ve been waiting for Pashmina since I first heard it existed so when my friend got a copy, I dove into hers while I was visiting and also ended up coming home to a precious copy of my own (#SHOUTOUT.) I’ve already read it twice and there is a very huge possibility I’ll have read it a third time before the end of the year (and even the end of the month, tbh.) SO. I THINK it’s safe to say that I love Pashmina.

It’s already being marketed as such but I also just think Pashmina is perfect for fans of American Born Chinese. The books share so many wonderful qualities and parallels but Pashmina is still its own story and so so SO heartfelt at that. I mean, it even has Gene Luen Yang’s stamp of approval.

Pashmina follows the story of Priyanka Das as she learns more about the place her mother immigrated from. Priyanka’s mom has cut off all contact with her family in India and doesn’t ever talk about the circumstances that her brought her to the United States. When she discovers a hidden pashmina in a suitcase, she discovers an India she has never gotten to know.

Through Priyanka’s story, Chanani explores the complex relationships between immigrant parents and their children. It is an ode to the diaspora experienced when you are dislocated from the ‘motherland’ but ultimately, its an exploration of how cultures transcend artificial boundaries.

The panels in this graphic novel are also stunning. While I don’t have the right vocabulary to really describe the art-work, it is beautifully done and I love the carefully planned use of colors to accentuate certain scenes throughout the novel. The artwork really brings Priyanka’s journey to life in a way words really couldn’t.

If this book wasn’t on your radar, I really hope you will choose to add it to your enormous tbr’s because this graphic novel is so wonderful, and so heartfelt and I just have a lot of emotions. I am so grateful to Nidhi Chanani for gracing us with this wonderful piece of literature and I cannot wait to talk even more about it to ANYONE WHO WILL FUCKING LISTEN.

 

4.5 Stars
4.5 Hot Espressos

Might Have Been Better In Verse: Wait for Me by An Na

Might Have Been Better In Verse: Wait for Me by An Na

Posted by on 11/02/2017 • 0 Comments

Wait for Me was a new-to-me title when it showed up on my (metaphorical) doorstep. I hadn’t heard much about it but upon some research found out it was being republished with a pretty new cover and all. I dove into the book not entirely sure what to expect but ready to meet new characters and enjoy a new story.

This review is a hard one to write because upon finishing, I am not entirely sure how I feel about Wait for Me. I am divided on it because there are parts of it I enjoyed and other parts that really made it hard for me to finish the book feeling like I had read something worthwhile.

I think the number one issue I had with the book was just the pacing…

A Letter To Nic Stone: Dear Martin

A Letter To Nic Stone: Dear Martin

Posted by on 10/25/2017 • 1 Comment

Dear Nic Stone,

I know you’ve had a lot of people already telling you this and my voice is no more important or valuable than theirs but thank you for writing this book. Thank you for giving this gift to the world.

You probably already know this but the world sucks right now and honestly, books like Dear Martin make it a little better. I am glad people will walk into a bookstore and pick this book up (and I know, I am going to be pushing it at literally anyone. I already got someone to check out a copy!)

This year has been chock full of amazing books (one of the few things that don’t suck about this year) and Dear Martin still stands out because it is so…

A Raw and Poignant Exploration of Mental Health: A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares by Krystal Sutherland

A Raw and Poignant Exploration of Mental Health: A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares by Krystal Sutherland

Posted by on 09/27/2017 • 6 Comments

Everyone raved about Our Chemical Hearts when it came out last year but because my tbr is overflowing and I am always short on time, I never did get around to reading it. A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares immediately caught my attention because it had such a cutesy title, cover & blurb but don’t let any of that fool you because this book will fucking break your heart.

A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares is such a raw, poignant exploration of mental health and I don’t even know where to begin unpacking my feels for those books. (But also, can we all agree that unpacking feels for books you love is so much harder than talking about books you hate?)

Esther Solar believes her family has been cursed…

A Semi-Definitive List of My 5 Worst Fears/Nightmares

A Semi-Definitive List of My 5 Worst Fears/Nightmares

Posted by on 09/18/2017 • 3 Comments

Hey hey hey! A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares is an important book that addresses mental health/phobias so I decided to share some of my fears/nightmares with y’all. Things are about to get weirdly personal (but also a little silly because that’s just who I am so if you’re not into that, I say it’s time to close your browser or email and do something else.

A Semi-Definitive List of My 5 Worst Fears/Nightmares

1. When I was a kid, I developed an odd fear of heights that never went away. When I was a kid, it wasn’t that the height scared me but more that I would lose something or someone important to me. Now it’s both?

2. Dying alone. I know a lot of people will share this…

A Letter Was Found in the Pages Of Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

A Letter Was Found in the Pages Of Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Posted by on 07/28/2017 • 2 Comments

Text:

Dear person reading this,

You might be wondering why I chose this page to write in & that is for several reasons including OTP feels but really, even if you haven’t read this book, you can relate to the way words move these characters in these pages. CATH CROWLEY is easily one of my fav authors and her words never fail to move me. Words in a Deep Blue was no different. The words in this book will make you cry, will make you laugh and most likely, the words in this book will change your life. Read it.

Love, Rashika

***images used in aesthetic do not belong to me***

5 Hot Espressos

Rashika’s Guide to Reading What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Rashika’s Guide to Reading What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Posted by on 07/07/2017 • 4 Comments

I felt like doing something a little different for this incredibly amazing book so I took some inspiration from the book (unfortunately, the title of this post references a terrible thing that happens… whoops) and decided to make a guide to reading What to Say Next.

1. Go grocery shopping before diving in. Make sure you buy Kleenex and stock up on your comfort foods. You will be needing those things very soon.

2. Prepare for a heartbreaking discussion on grief and death. If that’s not something you can do right now, probably don’t read the book but if you do choose to, there will be tears if you are a human bean (refer to the first point in this guide.)

3. Pace yourself because you’re in for a serious bookish hangover…

A Poignant Novel That Deals With Immigration: The Lines We Cross by Randa Abdel-Fattah

A Poignant Novel That Deals With Immigration: The Lines We Cross by Randa Abdel-Fattah

Posted by on 06/16/2017 • 2 Comments

Maybe you know or maybe you have no idea who I even am or how you ended up on this site but Randa Abdel-Fattah changed my life when I was a kid. On more than one occasion, I’ve talked about how Does My Head Look Big In This is one of the three most important books in my life that helped redefine how I felt about my identity and about myself as a human being. So, when I heard that she had a new book coming out, I was over the moon. Of course, this was ages ago and this was when the book was coming out in Australia and I was all the way here, sad because I didn’t think I’d get to read the book. Then I found out…