Wednesday, July 05, 2017

Book Aesthetic: Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourne

Posted by 3 Comments

Book Aesthetic: Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourne
Wesley James Ruined My Life
Jennifer Honeybourne
Genre: Chick Lit, Comedy, YA
Publication date: July 18th, 2017
by Swoon Reads

GoodreadsPurchase
Sixteen-year-old Quinn Hardwick’s having a rough summer. Her beloved grandmother has been put into a home, her dad’s gambling addiction has flared back up and now her worst enemy is back in town: Wesley James, former childhood friend—until he ruined her life, that is.

So when Wesley is hired to work with her at Tudor Tymes, a medieval England themed restaurant, the last thing Quinn’s going to do is forgive and forget. She’s determined to remove him from her life and even the score all at once—by getting him fired.

But getting rid of Wesley isn’t as easy as she’d hoped. When Quinn finds herself falling for him, she has to decide what she wants more: to get even, or to just get over it.
-A copy was provided by Swoon Reads for review-

***images courtesy of Pinterest***

If you’re expecting this book to change your life, you’re probably going to be disappointed but it IS a perfectly, enjoyable summer book and not everything we read needs to revolutionize our lives. I, for one, have been too tired and too overheated lately to read books that will change my life so Wesley James Ruined My Life was the perfect read for me.

Is Quinn Hardwick stubborn as fuck and will you want to shake some sense into her? For SURE but the book also has so many feel-good vibes and part of the fun is when she does realize she is in the wrong. Quinn is stubborn and holds grudges for all the wrong reasons but we can all be stubborn sometimes and I for one am still angry at that person who never gave back my mechanical pencil back in 10th grade. IT WAS A NICE MECHANICAL PENCIL, okay??? 0.7 and everything.

Wesley James is the real winner of the show and is incredibly pure and precious. He does fuck up once or twice but you know what? It’s okay because he is an adorable cinnamon roll.

Wesley James Ruined My Life features some family relationships, a hate-love romance, good friends, and some geeky band goodness so really, it’s ~just~ the read to blow off some summer steam with!

3 Stars
3 Hot Espressos

Fresh Batch (July 2nd – 8th)

Fresh Batch (July 2nd – 8th)

Posted by on 07/01/2017 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Coming Up for Air Miranda Kenneally Series: Hundred Oaks # Publication date: July 4th 2017by Sourcebooks Fire

Goodreads Purchase

Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner. Homework. Bed. Repeat.

All of Maggie’s focus and free time is spent swimming. She’s not only striving to earn scholarships—she’s training to qualify for the Olympics. It helps that her best friend, Levi, is also on the team and cheers her on. But Levi’s already earned an Olympic try out, so she feels even more pressure to succeed. And it’s not until Maggie’s away on a college visit that she realizes how much of…

A Powerful Novel about Grief: The Girl with the Ghost Machine by Lauren DeStefano

A Powerful Novel about Grief: The Girl with the Ghost Machine by Lauren DeStefano

Posted by on 06/30/2017 • 2 Comments

Back in the day, everyone would rave about DeStefano’s YA series but I never really got around to reading the Wither series. Years later, here I am raving about DeStefano’s middle grade series. I honestly cannot imagine if her YA books could be any better or honestly, if any YA book could even tackle grief the way DeStefano does in every single one of the middle grade books I’ve read by her.

So probably there is some book out there that does grief better BUT THATS NOT THE POINT OF THIS REVIEW. The point of this review is so that I can sing The Girl with the Ghost Machine praises because series, this book hits you right in the fucking feels.

Emmaline Beaumont’s father starts building a ghost machine when her…

Cover Reveal for No Limits by Ellie Marney

Cover Reveal for No Limits by Ellie Marney

Posted by on 06/26/2017 • 0 Comments

Ellie Marney is the beloved author of the Every Breath series and I am honored to be helping out with the cover reveal of her upcoming book No Limits!

But first, here is a quick synopsis of the book (because keeping you waiting is my goal in life)

 

BUT NOW… FOR THE COVER.

ARE YOU EXCITED? IS YOUR BODY FOR A NEW NOVEL BY ELLIE MARNEY? Me too.

Fresh Batch (June 25th – July 1st)

Fresh Batch (June 25th – July 1st)

Posted by on 06/24/2017 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

The Impossible Vastness of Us Samantha Young Publication date: June 27th 2017by Harlequin Teen

Goodreads Purchase

I know how to watch my back. I’m the only one that ever has.

India Maxwell hasn’t just moved across the country—she’s plummeted to the bottom rung of the social ladder. It’s taken years to cover the mess of her home life with a veneer of popularity. Now she’s living in one of Boston’s wealthiest neighborhoods with her mom’s fiancé and his daughter, Eloise. Thanks to her soon-to-be stepsister’s clique of friends, including Eloise’s gorgeous, arrogant boyfriend Finn, India feels like the one thing she hoped…

Required Reading: YA Retellings of the ‘Classics’

Required Reading: YA Retellings of the ‘Classics’

Posted by on 06/22/2017 • 7 Comments

Most of us at one time or another have had to do some dreaded required reading for HS or college level English classes where we were forced to read not so interesting books. Or maybe you’re in HS right now and dreading that book you have to read over the summer for class. In any case, some people say that they’d rather watch the movie than read the book and I say, why not read the YA retelling instead? 

1. Sometimes We Tell the Truth by Kim Zarins: A retelling of The Canterbury Tales

If you’re read The Canterbury Tales, you’re probably well aware that the stories are HARD to read. Especially if you, like me, had to read them in MIDDLE ENGLISH. UGH. Give me the YA version literally any day…

Fresh Batch (June 18th – 24th)

Fresh Batch (June 18th – 24th)

Posted by on 06/17/2017 • 0 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Trusting You & Other Lies Nicole Williams Publication date: June 20th 2017by Crown Books for Young Readers

Goodreads Purchase

USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Nicole Williams delivers a seductive summer romance worth swooning over. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins.

Phoenix can’t imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years—do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better?

On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum—the head counselor who is…

A Poignant Novel That Deals With Immigration: The Lines We Cross by Randa Abdel-Fattah

A Poignant Novel That Deals With Immigration: The Lines We Cross by Randa Abdel-Fattah

Posted by on 06/16/2017 • 2 Comments

Maybe you know or maybe you have no idea who I even am or how you ended up on this site but Randa Abdel-Fattah changed my life when I was a kid. On more than one occasion, I’ve talked about how Does My Head Look Big In This is one of the three most important books in my life that helped redefine how I felt about my identity and about myself as a human being. So, when I heard that she had a new book coming out, I was over the moon. Of course, this was ages ago and this was when the book was coming out in Australia and I was all the way here, sad because I didn’t think I’d get to read the book. Then I found out…