Friday, November 23, 2018

New Beginnings: Diamond Fire by Ilona Andrews

Posted by 0 Comments

New Beginnings: Diamond Fire by Ilona Andrews
Diamond Fire
Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #3.5
Genre: Adult, Short Stories, Urban Fantasy
Publication date: November 6th, 2018
by Avon

GoodreadsPurchase
Nevada Frida Baylor and Connor Ander Rogan cordially invite you to join their wedding celebration. Summoning, weather manipulation, and other magical activities strictly forbidden.

Catalina Baylor is looking forward to wearing her maid of honor dress and watching her older sister walk down the aisle. Then the wedding planner gets escorted off the premises, the bride’s priceless tiara disappears, and Rogan's extensive family overruns his mother’s home. Someone is cheating, someone is lying, and someone is plotting murder.

To make this wedding happen, Catalina will have to do the thing she fears most: use her magic. But she’s a Baylor and there’s nothing she wouldn't do for her sister's happiness. Nevada will have her fairy tale wedding, even if Catalina has to tear the mansion apart brick by brick to get it done.
-A copy was provided by Avon for review-

I’ve been obsessed with the Hidden Legacy for years now so I was more than a little sad when it came to an end. OF COURSE, they announced a spin off and we got the first hint of that in this little novella.

Nevada and Rogan are getting married! FINALLY! And of course, given how things just happen around them, the wedding planning isn’t going as smoothly as anticipated. A family heirloom goes missing and there might be someone plotting a wedding murder.  In comes Catalina (also the narrator of the spin-offs I believe) who is put to the task of solving this mystery without alerting Nevada to the on-going shenanigans.

So, I went into Diamond Fire with no idea what the novella was about or that it wasn’t even narrated by Nevada. If I had known it wasn’t narrated by her, I might not have read it which would have been the gravest mistake ever made because Catalina is an absolute cinnamon roll.

She is younger so she is more angsty than Nevada but angst isn’t a bad thing. CATALINA JUST HAS A LOT ON HER PLATE, OKAY? And we must form a bubble around her to protect her. Of course, her powers being what they are don’t really help her with the whole opening up thing.

In this novella, we get to see a glimpse of the kind of stuff we will see Catalina struggling with in the spin-off series and I am honestly so ready for it. It is also a wedding novella so we get to see a little bit of Nevada and Rogan, some of their fams and some of our old Baylor favs. For all current fans of this series, you are not gonna be disappointed by this novella, for everyone who hasn’t read this series, READ IT FOR Mad Rogan the Baylor fam’s general awesomeness and a wonderful, exciting, magical world.

4 Stars
4 Hot Espressos

A Fresh Take On P&P: Pride by Ibi Zoboi

A Fresh Take On P&P: Pride by Ibi Zoboi

Posted by on 11/21/2018 • 1 Comment

I consider myself a ~connoisseur~ of Jane Austen retellings so when I heard about Pride, I was P U M P E D. As a ~connoisseur~, I realize that some of them are basically indistinguishable but Pride takes the best elements of Pride and Prejudice and transforms them into something unique. It is a retelling of Pride and Prejudice set in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is slowly becoming gentrified.

Zuri Benitez is not gonna be everyone’s favorite heroine. She is stubborn, hates change and is definitely the kind of person who likes to win an argument. BUT she is extremely loyal to her fam, sisters, friends and neighborhood. She is also passionate about the world around her and is determined to leave her mark on it.  While she isn’t…

Extremely Addicting: Little White Lies by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Extremely Addicting: Little White Lies by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Posted by on 11/19/2018 • 5 Comments

Not to be extremely dramatic or anything but I’d kill to read the sequel to Little White Lies (and to The Long Game but that’s a whole other story.) This is probably an odd sentence to start a review with but honestly, that’s just how J Lynn Barnes’s books make me FEEL. Barnes has a knack for writing addicting novels that you cannot stop reading even if they are over 400 pages long. Little White Lies is not only addicting but it reads like a puzzle, clues dispersed everywhere that you need to connect to form the bigger picture.

Sawyer Taft’s life changes when her grandmother shows up on her doorstep and offers her a deal she is unable to resist. Soon she is drawn into the world of…

Fresh Batch (November 18th – 24th)

Fresh Batch (November 18th – 24th)

Posted by on 11/17/2018 • 0 Comments

Flavor of the week:

Navigating the Stars Maria V. Snyder Series: Sentinels of the Galaxy #1 Publication date: November 16th 2018by HarperCollins

Goodreads Purchase

New York Times bestselling author Maria Snyder returns with a compelling new sci-fi series. Perfect for fans of Star Wars andPoison Study. Year 2471. A new discovery. Those three words thrill my parents – the galaxy’s leading archaeologists – but for me, it means another time jump to a different planet. One so big, my friends will be older than my dad when we arrive. And I’ll still be seventeen. Thanks, Einstein.

I really can’t blame Einstein, though. No one expected to find life-sized terracotta warriors buried on other planets. So off we go to investigate, traveling through space and time. With my…

Fresh Batch (November 11th – 17th)

Fresh Batch (November 11th – 17th)

Posted by on 11/10/2018 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

This Splintered Silence Kayla Olson Publication date: November 13th 2018by HarperTeen

Goodreads Purchase

Lindley Hamilton has been the leader of the space station Lusca since every first-generation crew member on board, including her mother, the commander, were killed by a deadly virus.

Lindley always assumed she’d captain the Lusca one day, but she never thought that day would come so soon. And she never thought it would be like this—struggling to survive every day, learning how to keep the Lusca running, figuring out how to communicate with Earth, making sure they don’t run out of food.

When a member of the surviving second…

Pretty Toxic: Fight or Flight by Samantha Young

Pretty Toxic: Fight or Flight by Samantha Young

Posted by on 11/09/2018 • 3 Comments

Okay so we are diving right into this review because I have a lot to process and break down. Fight or Flight started off as a book that I didn’t expect too much from. I went it basically hoping I wouldn’t hate it and unfortunately, things didn’t turn out the way I had hoped. Let me back up here for a sec tho, for the first couple chapters I was NOT a fan but the book started growing on me a lot but then a THING happened and I ended up extremely disappointed and sad. I mean, the book wasn’t perfect aside from the thing but I was still enjoying it so it sucks. While keeping that in mind, I am breaking down this review into the good and the…

Join Our Xpresso Deals Community!

Join Our Xpresso Deals Community!

Posted by on 11/09/2018 • 0 Comments

We’re going to soon be sending out 99¢ and FREEBIE deals right in your inbox!

Subscribe below to receive the best deals on the best books in your email!

You can also see all current deals at any time on this page!

PLUS they’re all shared on our Facebook Page as well!

Subscribe here!

 

CURRENT DEALS: Romance

 

 

Sci-fi/Fantasy FREE! Buy now: Amazon / B&N Kobo / Google Play / Smashwords

AUTHORS!

Want to include your 99¢ or freebie book on Xpresso Deals?

Click here to learn more!  

Featuring the Cutest Donkey: Saving Winslow by Sharon Creech

Featuring the Cutest Donkey: Saving Winslow by Sharon Creech

Posted by on 11/07/2018 • 2 Comments

One of the coolest things about being a blogger is occasionally you will get the chance to review a book by an author you grew up reading. Sometimes of course, reading books you loved when you were younger doesn’t always turn out as well but its Sharon Creech. She changed my life a million times over when I was a child so it is safe to say that I loved Saving Winslow.

But of course, writing a review for a book you loved is not fun even though you get to share your love for it because writing is hard and you (read: I) are a lazy bum.

Saving Winslow is the story of Louie, who doesn’t really do the whole nurturing animals thing well. But one day, his…