Wednesday, December 05, 2018

Lush & Powerful: Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan

Posted by 6 Comments

Lush & Powerful: Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan
Girls of Paper and Fire
Natasha Ngan
Series: Girls of Paper and Fire #1
Genre: Fantasy, LGBTQIAP+, YA
Publication date: November 6th, 2018
by Jimmy Patterson Books

GoodreadsPurchase
Each year, eight beautiful girls are chosen as Paper Girls to serve the king. It's the highest honor they could hope for...and the most cruel.

But this year, there's a ninth girl. And instead of paper, she's made of fire.


In this lush fantasy, Lei is a member of the Paper caste, the lowest and most oppressed class in Ikhara. She lives in a remote village with her father, where the decade-old trauma of watching her mother snatched by royal guards still haunts her. Now, the guards are back, and this time it's Lei they're after--the girl whose golden eyes have piqued the king's interest.

Over weeks of training in the opulent but stifling palace, Lei and eight other girls learn the skills and charm that befit being a king's consort. But Lei isn't content to watch her fate consume her. Instead, she does the unthinkable--she falls in love. Her forbidden romance becomes enmeshed with an explosive plot that threatens the very foundation of Ikhara, and Lei, still the wide-eyed country girl at heart, must decide just how far she's willing to go for justice and revenge.

TW: violence and sexual abuse.
-A copy was provided by Jimmy Patterson Books for review-

I am a mood reader and my mood this year has led me to read WAY WAY WAY more contemporary novels than fantasy novels, even though there was once a time when I would avoid contemporary novels like the plague. I dove into Girls of Paper and Fire because it sounded great but also came highly recommended from a friend. The first time around, I got to about 10% and then stopped reading because I just didn’t have the energy for a fantasy but then, I picked it up again and got completely sucked in. Girls of Paper and Fire was so refreshing not just because it’s so wholly different from the contemporaries I have been reading lately but also because it takes some common fantasy tropes and puts its own, unique twist on them (please note that I love tropes and tropes are my fav.)

Lei is forcibly taken from her home to serve as a paper girl for the Demon King – the highest honor for any girl belonging to the paper caste. Of course, Lei isn’t honored. I think, the fact that Lei already stands out from the rest of the girls because of her gold eyes could easily allow her to be one of those characters who is ‘not like the other girls’ but that was just not the case here. Lei, is, of course, a badass and I love that she works so hard to stay true to herself but more than that, I love the paper girls as a group. I love that even though not all the paper girls are friendly, they do understand each other. They are there for each other (FOR THE MOST PART) and realize almost all of them would rather be somewhere else. I think the most powerful part of this novel is seeing this group of girls navigate their extremely unequal society and finding strength & inspiration in one another.

The world is also so fascinating! I always love a good fantasy world and even though, in this book, we are mostly restricted to the palace and don’t get to experience much of the physical world of Ikhara, the social world is very well developed. We get an entire backlog of history and culture and I CANNOT WAIT TO SEE more of this world. I KNOW WE HAVE GREAT ADVENTURES AHEAD OF ME.

Also. Like. Okay. So. WOW I AM SO GOOD WITH WORDS. But I am trying to transition into talking about the romance and its hard because I LOVE THESE BABIES SO MUCH. So, if you read my reviews/know me. You know I am a slow burn kinda gal and question when people declare their ILYS much too quickly. But honestly, the chemistry & romance between Lei and Wren is SO WELL WRITTEN everything just felt natural. Also I loved that it was a little angsty too… (HAHAHA.)

Everyone and their dog has heard of Girls of Paper and Fire at this point but if you haven’t, this book needs to be on your tbr. The hype doesn’t disappoint and even though the ending will leave you screeching in agony, sacrificing your emotions to the greater good of having this novel will be worth it.

4 Stars
4 Hot Espressos

Fresh Batch (December 2nd – 8th)

Fresh Batch (December 2nd – 8th)

Posted by on 12/01/2018 • 0 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

The Dirty Ones J.A. Huss Publication date: December 4th 2018Goodreads Purchase

They say write what you know. So that’s all I did. I wrote dirty. I wrote erotic. I wrote… the truth.

And then they called me a liar. 

But it’s not me who’s lying. It’s them.

The Dirty Ones is a brand new dark romance about the secret world of erotica authors releasing December 4, 2018.

 

Other releases this week: * In no particular order *

– My Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren [Purchase]– Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield [Purchase]–…

Myers-Briggs Book Tag

Myers-Briggs Book Tag

Posted by on 11/26/2018 • 3 Comments

I saw Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight do this and decided I needed to do it too since I am low-key obsessed with personality tests. Here is where this tag originated. Take the test here and join us in the fun shenanigans!!!

So I cannot remember what is the other thing I’ve gotten in the past but in the 3-4 times I’ve taken this test, I’ve gotten INTJ pretty consistently I THINK. It’s the type I remember getting so thats what we are going with. I am also a close ISTJ but I think INTJ is slightly more relevant to who I am as a person and I LIKE IT BETTER so there we have it. Its also kind of like the whole house thing where I’ve gotten both Slytherin…

Fresh Batch (Nov 25th – Dec 1st)

Fresh Batch (Nov 25th – Dec 1st)

Posted by on 11/23/2018 • 0 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Love à la Mode Stephanie Kate Strohm Publication date: November 27th 2018by Disney-Hyperion

Goodreads Purchase

Take two American teen chefs, add one heaping cup of Paris, toss in a pinch of romance, and stir. . . .

Rosie Radeke firmly believes that happiness can be found at the bottom of a mixing bowl. But she never expected that she, a random nobody from East Liberty, Ohio, would be accepted to celebrity chef Denis Laurent’s school in Paris, the most prestigious cooking program for teens in the entire world. Life in Paris, however, isn’t all cream puffs and crepes. Faced with a challenging curriculum…

New Beginnings: Diamond Fire by Ilona Andrews

New Beginnings: Diamond Fire by Ilona Andrews

Posted by on 11/23/2018 • 0 Comments

I’ve been obsessed with the Hidden Legacy for years now so I was more than a little sad when it came to an end. OF COURSE, they announced a spin off and we got the first hint of that in this little novella.

Nevada and Rogan are getting married! FINALLY! And of course, given how things just happen around them, the wedding planning isn’t going as smoothly as anticipated. A family heirloom goes missing and there might be someone plotting a wedding murder.  In comes Catalina (also the narrator of the spin-offs I believe) who is put to the task of solving this mystery without alerting Nevada to the on-going shenanigans.

So, I went into Diamond Fire with no idea what the novella was about or that it…

A Fresh Take On P&P: Pride by Ibi Zoboi

A Fresh Take On P&P: Pride by Ibi Zoboi

Posted by on 11/21/2018 • 1 Comment

I consider myself a ~connoisseur~ of Jane Austen retellings so when I heard about Pride, I was P U M P E D. As a ~connoisseur~, I realize that some of them are basically indistinguishable but Pride takes the best elements of Pride and Prejudice and transforms them into something unique. It is a retelling of Pride and Prejudice set in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is slowly becoming gentrified.

Zuri Benitez is not gonna be everyone’s favorite heroine. She is stubborn, hates change and is definitely the kind of person who likes to win an argument. BUT she is extremely loyal to her fam, sisters, friends and neighborhood. She is also passionate about the world around her and is determined to leave her mark on it.  While she isn’t…

Extremely Addicting: Little White Lies by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Extremely Addicting: Little White Lies by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Posted by on 11/19/2018 • 5 Comments

Not to be extremely dramatic or anything but I’d kill to read the sequel to Little White Lies (and to The Long Game but that’s a whole other story.) This is probably an odd sentence to start a review with but honestly, that’s just how J Lynn Barnes’s books make me FEEL. Barnes has a knack for writing addicting novels that you cannot stop reading even if they are over 400 pages long. Little White Lies is not only addicting but it reads like a puzzle, clues dispersed everywhere that you need to connect to form the bigger picture.

Sawyer Taft’s life changes when her grandmother shows up on her doorstep and offers her a deal she is unable to resist. Soon she is drawn into the world of…

Fresh Batch (November 18th – 24th)

Fresh Batch (November 18th – 24th)

Posted by on 11/17/2018 • 0 Comments

Flavor of the week:

Navigating the Stars Maria V. Snyder Series: Sentinels of the Galaxy #1 Publication date: November 16th 2018by HarperCollins

Goodreads Purchase

New York Times bestselling author Maria Snyder returns with a compelling new sci-fi series. Perfect for fans of Star Wars andPoison Study. Year 2471. A new discovery. Those three words thrill my parents – the galaxy’s leading archaeologists – but for me, it means another time jump to a different planet. One so big, my friends will be older than my dad when we arrive. And I’ll still be seventeen. Thanks, Einstein.

I really can’t blame Einstein, though. No one expected to find life-sized terracotta warriors buried on other planets. So off we go to investigate, traveling through space and time. With my…