Posts Categorized: Blog Tour

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

5 Books Carrie Mac Wishes Were Around When She Was Growing Up

Posted by 1 Comment

Hello and welcome to Xpresso Reads’ tour stop for 10 Things I Can See From Here. Today, author Carrie Mac shares 5 books she wishes were around when she was growing up! Her list is full of many wonderful recs (and some new to me titles) so I am definitely piling up on those books! I hope you’ll check the books and 10 Things I Can See From Here!

PLEASE GIVE IT UP FOR, Carrie Mac!

I’ve picked books aimed at younger readers, say 8-12-years-old or so because that’s when kids need to see the people they are, or will become, represented in books. When they don’t—because the book hasn’t been written or they’re not allowed to read it—that’s when feelings of isolation really set in, just in time for adolescence to kick in and kick ass. If kids are armed with reflections of themselves and the person they might become, they will feel less alone, and it will be less likely that adolescence will be able to demolish them.

George – Alex Gino

A middle grade story about a little girl who desperately wants to play Charlotte in the school play, except that everyone else thinks she’s a boy. If kids read this, they’re already half way up the ladder of gender understanding.

Zita the Space Girl – Ben Hatke

Girl hero in outer space! Aliens! Evil! Best friend needs rescue! Series! No dumb tropes!

 


Pride: Celebrating Diversity and Community
– By my lovely friend Robin Stevenson.

A Pride primer for middle grade readers. Knowledge = understanding. Understand it younger, then all the diversity part is about celebrating differences, not highlighting them as less-than or weird.

 

Sex is a Funny Word: A Book about Bodies, Feelings and YOU – Cory Silverberg, illustrated by Fiona Smyth

A comic-style book about bodies and gender and sexuality aimed at middle grade kids but perfect for everyone. Sex is a Funny Word features kids and folks and families of all makeups, orientations and identities. I think every kid should have this book. And every parent and caregiver too. This book and Silverberg’s What Makes a Baby are two must-haves when it comes to opening conversations with kids that includes all the ways babies and families and love and sex and gender present.

Better Nate than Ever – Tim Federle

A boy falls in love with Broadway and will do anything it takes to get there, defying gender stereotypes along the way and introducing kids to the world of theatre through the eyes of a small town kid with big sparkly, shimmering dreams.

About the Book

5 Books Carrie Mac Wishes Were Around When She Was Growing Up

10 Things I Can See From Here
Carrie Mac
Genre: Contemporary, LGBTQIA, Mental Health, YA
Publication date: February 28th, 2017
by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

GoodreadsPurchase
Perfect for fans of Finding Audrey and Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.

Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.


Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?


About the Author



CARRIE MAC is an award-winning Canadian novelist making her US debut. She lives in East Vancouver – where this story takes place- with her partner and two children, overlooking the shipyards and with a great view of the crows flying home to roost.

 

 

Follow the Blog Tour

February 20 – Butter My Books
February 21 – The Compulsive Reader
February 22 – Take Me Away to A Great Read
February 23 – The Mod Podge Bookshelf
February 24 – Bookhounds YA
February 27thNick and Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist
Adventures in YA Publishing
February 28thRamblings of the Perpetual New Girl
March 1stReaders in Wonderland
March 2ndYA Wednesdays
March 3rdHere’s to Happy Endings
March 4th: Adventures in YA Publishing
March 6thNo More Grumpy Bookseller
March 7thA Midsummer Night’s Read
March 8thRainy Day Coffee and Books
March 9thThe Fandom
March 10thPicture Books to YA and Everything in Be”Tween”
March 13thBookworm Everlasting
March 14thThe Moral of Our Stories
March 15- Fangirlish
March 16- The Young Folks
March 17- Fiktshun
March 20-YA Books Central
March 21- Xpresso Reads
March 22- A Dream Within A Dream

Q&A With S. Jae Jones

Q&A With S. Jae Jones

Posted by on 02/13/2017 • 2 Comments

Hello and welcome to Xpresso Reads’ tour stop for Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones. Today we have a Q&A with the author and hopefully they’ll make you feel even more excited about reading the book!

Please give a round of applause for S. Jae-Jones!

Q&A With S. Jae-Jones

What was your favorite part about writing this book? What was your favorite scene to write?

I loved that I was able to draw on so many things that inspired or influenced me aesthetically as I wrote this book. I love goth stories, Death and the Maiden tropes, Jacques Cocteau movies, Phantom of the Opera, glitter, David Bowie, Mozart, and all of that made it into my book in some form or another. I don’t have a favorite scene,…

Playlist for The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman + Giveaway

Playlist for The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman + Giveaway

Posted by on 02/02/2017 • 6 Comments

Hello and welcome to Xpresso Reads’ tour stop for The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman AKA the book I created my goodreads OTP OF PAIN shelf for. I thoroughly enjoyed The Dark Days Club last year but fell head over heels for The Dark Days Pact. In this book, Goodman really upped the stakes and basically put me through hell :’) It was great. Basically, you need this series on your TBR and to help you do that, I put together a playlist that ~I~ think describes the book/series.

THE PLAYLIST

Feat angsty music + some songs that might not be the best fit BUT SINCE I AM MAKING THE PLAYLIST, you’re stuck with them 😉 Also making playlists is H.A.R.D. If you click on the little thing on…

Blog Tour: The Warden’s Daughter by Jerry Spinelli

Blog Tour: The Warden’s Daughter by Jerry Spinelli

Posted by on 01/19/2017 • 5 Comments

The Warden’s Daughter is honestly unlike anything I’ve ever read by Jerry Spinelli. When I was in middle school, Stargirl was one of the most important books in my life so I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect from a historical middle grade novel written by Spinelli. There is still very much the ‘old Spinelli’ in this book but I can definitely see that he has grown and developed as a writer since I last had the joy of reading a book by him.

The Warden’s Daughter is a heartfelt story of loss and just the general need to find one’s place within the world. Cammie has always felt a little incomplete because she never had a mother growing up. She has made it her summer goal to claim a mother…

Blog Tour: The Midnight Star by Marie Lu

Blog Tour: The Midnight Star by Marie Lu

Posted by on 09/26/2016 • 4 Comments

Today we’re kicking off The Midnight Star tour and I am excited to share with you my top 5 reasons to read this series and sharing some of my series sensory associations!

5 Reasons to Read The Young Elites

 

1. A villainous MC.

Adelina is not your run-of-the-mill villainous MC. Over the course of the series, she spirals down into a dark places and goes from being a naive and clearly wronged girl to someone who is downright terrifying and hurts people she loves.

2. Hits you in the feels.

Do you enjoy having your emotions messed with? Do you enjoy having a series leave you completely drained and feeling like life cannot go on? This is the series for you.

3. World building.

This series has amazing world…

Writing Outside My Perspective with Paula Stokes

Writing Outside My Perspective with Paula Stokes

Posted by on 08/22/2016 • 0 Comments

I am a huge fan of Paula (because she is an amazing human being) and her books (because they are fabulously crafted pieces of works) so when I was asked to participate in the blog tour, I was elated. Vicarious  was one of my most anticipated books of the year and it lived up to all my expectations even if there was a whole lot of heartbreak. . Today, I have Paula on the blog with a well-written and thoughtful guest post that I hope you’ll enjoy as much as I did.

Writing Outside  My Perspective: Maintaining Authenticity and Respect; Balancing Cultural Information with Pacing/Storyline Needs

I wanted to portray my characters and their cultures authentically and respectfully, but for me that did not mean I had to paint any culture…

Blog Tour: Goldfish by Nat Luurtsema Review and Guest Post

Blog Tour: Goldfish by Nat Luurtsema Review and Guest Post

Posted by on 07/15/2016 • 1 Comment

 

Hello loves!! Today I have the pleasure of taking part in the Goldfish blog tour. I have my review and a guest post from the author. This book is about swimming and summer is the perfect time to be thinking about that. I can’t wait to hit the beach soon. Hopefully some of you will be too. Just don’t forget the sunblock!! (Sorry, I work at a dermatologist office so I have to promote keeping your skin protected.)

 

While I enjoyed this book, it wasn’t one of my favorites. The MC kind of irritated me, but once again it may be because since I am older, it’s harder to remember the high school girl mind. She just seemed so much about herself and it took too long to…

Blog Tour: Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff – Review

Blog Tour: Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff – Review

Posted by on 06/15/2016 • 1 Comment

Today I am taking part in the blog tour for Places No One Knows. I have my review below for you.

This was one of those books that I wasn’t really sure what to think of. I liked the idea of her dreaming herself into somewhere else, but it was a bit weird and it’s not like she has some special power or anything. And the characters didn’t do a whole lot for me. There were a few that I liked enough, but most of them irritated me. I thought that Waverly was a bit melodramatic and very shallow. I suppose when you have a best friend like hers it’s kind of hard not to be though. I guess I had a hard time really connecting with all of it,…