Publisher: HarperTeen


Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Review: Don’t Touch by Rachel M. Wilson

Posted by • 11 Comments

Review: Don’t Touch by Rachel M. Wilson
Don't Touch
Rachel M. Wilson
Genre: Contemporary, YA
Publication date: September 2nd 2014
by HarperTeen

GoodreadsPurchase
A powerful story of a girl who is afraid to touch another person’s skin, until the boy auditioning for Hamlet opposite her Ophelia gives her a reason to overcome her fears.

Step on a crack, break your mother’s back. Touch another person’s skin, and Dad’s gone for good.

Caddie can’t stop thinking that if she keeps from touching another person’s skin, her parents might get back together... which is why she wears full-length gloves to school and covers every inch of her skin.

It seems harmless at first, but Caddie’s obsession soon threatens her ambitions as an actress. She desperately wants to play Ophelia in her school’s production of Hamlet. But that would mean touching Peter, who’s auditioning for the title role—and kissing him. Part of Caddie would love nothing more than to kiss Peter—but the other part isn't sure she's brave enough to let herself fall.

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, this debut novel from Rachel M. Wilson is a moving story of a talented girl who's fighting an increasingly severe anxiety disorder, and the friends and family who stand by her.
-A copy was provided by HarperTeen for review-

When I started reading Don’t Touch I didn’t expect for it to be the experience that it ended up being for me. I had some very uncomfortable realizations about myself as I made my way through it’s pages and it became a story that I don’t think I will ever forget.

Before I tell you why this one really hit home for me I want to talk about the novel for what it is. It’s the story of Caddie, a young girl who has just started school at an academy for performing arts. It’s the story of how her anxiety has led her to believe that bad things will happen if she touches other people and it’s the story of her working through that fear. Putting a character like Caddie in an academy like she was in in the novel is a very interesting choice. There are a lot of touchy feely people so it really threw her for a loop once she realized the type of people she was going to be dealing with on a day to day basis. Homing her in a bit was that fact that Mandy, an old friend of hers, goes to the school and is there to help her fit in. We watch Caddie struggle with hiding her fear of touch while at the same time opening herself up to new relationships. I felt really stressed out by her need to follow the rules of this “game” that was in her head which was constantly hindering her want to embrace these new people in her life.

The characters in the novel are fantastic. Caddie gets in with Mandy’s group of friends and they are all loveable and quirky in their own unique ways. I loved how the secondary characters really became people that I cared about, not just people who were there. Peter, who Caddie begins to fall for, was awesome. The understanding and compassion that he shows towards her as she works through her issues was amazing and had me swooning more times than I can count. He wasn’t played out to be the most handsome guy on Earth or even perfect in any way, which is why I could relate so well to the relationship that builds between him and Caddie. That’s what most romances are in real life, right? Two flawed people coming together and learning to accept and even work through their issues together.

Now for why this was such an experience for me. Since my early 20’s I’ve had really bad issues with my jaw. The dentist got me fitted for a splint thinking that would help with the locking that I experience on a daily basis but when that didn’t help he said something that made me mad. He started asking me if I had a lot of stress and anxiety in my daily life and I pretty much scoffed at him and told him where to shove it. Dentist man, stay dentist man do not try to be therapy man, okay? Then my sister mentioned to me once that I always seem really high strung and that she thought I should maybe talk to my GP about it and once again I told here where she could go with that suggestion. But while I was reading through this book I realized that I am pretty sure both my dentist and my sister have good points. Anxiety manifests itself in everyone differently, in me it’s a lot of jaw clenching leading to terrible pain and many many sleepless nights. I don’t think I really understood what anxiety was and the physical ramifications it can have until I read Don’t Touch. I’ve always known that I am a very obsessive and worrisome person but I didn’t realize that the pain I am often feeling in my body could in any way be associated with those issues. I am thankful for this book because it has prompted me to make some long overdue phone calls to see what I can do about all the things I have been struggling with for so long.

You’re not here to read about me and my sob story, you’re here to read what I thought about this novel. All I can say is that it deals with a new side of OCD that I had never been faced with before. When I thought about people who didn’t want to touch others prior to reading this novel I always thought it had something to do with germs but this is a whole new spin on the issue for me.The only complaint I can think of to mention about Don’t Touch is that once Caddie does open up about her issues to others she begins getting over everything rather quickly. I found it a little hard to believe that she would be as open as she was so fast in the final moments of the novel. This one ended up being a very changing experience for me and for that it is not one that I will soon forget. I hope this novel finds it’s way into so many pairs of hands in hopes that it could have an effect on them like it did me.

4.5 Stars
4.5 Hot Espressos

Review: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Review: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Posted by on 08/04/2014 • 23 Comments

When I think about what I want to say about Jellicoe Road all that comes to mind is that I can’t believe that this amazing novel was sitting under my nose for so long. It’s really making me think about ARC requesting and prompting me to look at my overflowing TBR shelf and wonder what other gems are in there.

This novel came into my life a while ago in a gift from my lovely co-blogger and it sat on my shelf all lonely and cold for far too long. Upon tweeting about a slump that I was in Bekka of Great Imaginations told me to finally pick it up and I am so happy that she did. From the very beginning I was wrapped up in the writing…

Review: The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno

Review: The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno

Posted by on 07/17/2014 • 13 Comments

From the get-go this was a very intriguing read. We’ve got a girl who’s experiencing regular black outs where she finds herself at a completely different place with no recollection of the hours she’s just lost. What’s even weirder is how no one around her seem to comment on these disappearances. This is absolutely my kind of read. I love books that play with your mind and baffles you with bizarre, inexplicable happenings. The one thing with books like these though, is that it all comes down to the ending. This is where the book lost its flair for me. I was hoping for a deeper meaning, or at least a point to it all.

I was instantly compelled by Molly’s voice and character. Not only is she mysterious…

Review: The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno

Review: The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno

Posted by on 07/03/2014 • 14 Comments

I’ll be honest and say that I didn’t even read the blurb for The Half Life of Molly Pierce, I was sold simply by the name and the cover. Even though the novel features a premise that I have read/watched many times before, it was an intriguing, fast-paced read that kept me entertained until the last page.

We meet Molly Pierce as she wakes up in her car with no recollection of how she got to where she is. Her last memory is from that morning when she was in school, where she was supposed to be all day. As she is driving back to school she notices a boy following her on his motorcycle and that he is driving quite recklessly. He gets hit in the middle of an…

Review: On The Fence by Kasie West

Review: On The Fence by Kasie West

Posted by on 06/26/2014 • 15 Comments

For readers looking for the perfect summer read, look no further than On The Fence by Kasie West. This was a sweet, fun read and although I didn’t really swoon as I was hoping to I did get lost in the lives we meet and I was fully engrossed in the story.

Charlie lost her mother when she was very young, in lieu of memories she has a box of pictures that she goes through from time to time to keep her mom’s memory fresh in her mind. Her mother’s passing left her growing up in a household of 3 brothers (which is basically 4 because of the neighbour boy, Braden, who has become a part of the family over the years.) She’s athletic and has a great sense…

Review: 17 First Kisses by Rachael Allen

Review: 17 First Kisses by Rachael Allen

Posted by on 06/13/2014 • 25 Comments

The fact that I even read 17 First Kisses at all is a testament to what book bloggers can accomplish. I had written this one off and didn’t think it was going to be for me at all until I saw Blythe’s (Finding Bliss In Books) review. As soon as I saw that she recommended it for fans of Courtney Summers I knew that it was going to be so much more than the blurb let on. And it was, this one has become close to, if not my favourite contemporary read of 2014 so far.

What I loved so much about this book is that it was so much more than a romance. There were friendships here that were so interesting, secondary characters that were perfectly fleshed out and…

Review: The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Review: The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Posted by on 05/30/2014 • 8 Comments

I’m slowly learning that I am very picky when it comes to the type of “mindfuck-ey” books that I like. There are some that I love, that skyrocket to the very top of my favourite books list (like Another Little Piece, Lucid or Complicit to name a few) and then there are some that just never grab me and seem to almost go over my head. Falling into this group is books like (Don’t You) Forget About Me and now The Vanishing Season. There were definitely things that I appreciated in this novel but I never connected to it in any way nor did I come to care about the relationships.

Maggie’s family has had to downsize after her mother got laid off from her job in Chicago. They move…

Review: (Don’t You) Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn

Review: (Don’t You) Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn

Posted by on 05/22/2014 • 18 Comments

Holy crap! I feel like my brain is totally spent after this mind-f*ck of a book! Books like these are so hard to review, so I’m going to do my best to make sense of my thoughts. First, I gotta warn you this not the kind of book that will mesh with everyone. For one, it’s so different it breaks all molds of normalcy ever built around story-telling. For another, it introduces the kind of paranormal where you have to go in with an open mind, and just accept this town for what it is (similarly to Teeth by Hannah Moskowitz).

Welcome to Gardnerville. A place where no one gets sick. And no one ever dies.

This is the story of Gardernville. A bizarre isolated town where sickness and…