Saturday, May 26, 2012

Fresh Batch (May 27th – June 2nd)

Posted by

Exclusively titled for Xpresso Reads, Fresh Batch features the hottest releases of this upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Darkness Before Dawn
J.A. London
Release date: May 29th, 2012
by HarperCollins Publishers

Goodreads / Purchase

This electrifying new trilogy blends the best of paranormal and dystopian storytelling in a world where the war is over. And the vampires won.

Humans huddle in their walled cities, supplying blood in exchange for safety. But not even that is guaranteed. Dawn has lost her entire family and now reluctantly serves as the delegate to Lord Valentine, the most powerful vampire for miles. It isn’t until she meets Victor, Valentine’s son, that she realizes not all vampires are monsters….

Darkness Before Dawn is a fresh new story with captivating characters, unexpected plot twists, a fascinating setting, and a compelling voice. Written under the name J. A. London by a talented mother-son team, the trilogy is perfect for fans of True Blood and the House of Night and Morganville Vampires series.

J. A. London is the mother-son writing team of Jan and Alex Nowasky. As Rachel Hawthorne, Jan has written many novels for teens, including the popular Dark Guardian series. Alex, a recent graduate with a degree in Historical Studies, enjoys combining history and fiction to create unique worlds.


 Other releases this week (click on cover for Goodreads):
*In no particular order*  *Purchase links are for Book Depository*

Noelle’s life is all about survival. Even her best friend doesn’t know how much she gets bullied, or the ways her mom neglects her. Noelle’s kept so much about her life a secret for so long that when her longtime crush Julian Porter starts paying attention to her, she’s terrified.

Purchase

Locked in an unexpected land dispute, Rafe Stryker is trapped in the one place he vowed never to return to – the Castle Ranch in Fool’s Gold, California. He made millions facing ruthless adversaries in the boardroom, but nothing could’ve prepared him to go head-to-head against stubborn, beautiful Heidi Simpson.

Sabina Kane is on the hunt. Her prey: Cain, the father of the vampire race and the one who murdered her family and her friends. Unfortunately, Cain is hunting Sabina, too.

Jerome Hancock is Heidi Devine’s guardian angel. Sort of. He’s more of an angel trainee, in heaven’s soul-rehabilitation program for wayward teens. And he’s just about to get kicked out for having too many absences and for violating too many of the Ten Commandments for the Dead.

Skylynn doesn’t know how Kaiden manages to stay so young, virile, and impossibly attractive. But she knows she wants him…even if he harbors a fearful secret he refuses to tell her.

Purchase

When Erika wakes up after a horrific car crash, she finds herself somewhere between earth and heaven, between life and death. She doesn’t want to accept help from Jeremiah, who she’s not sure she can trust, even as she finds herself drawn to him, following him into a grim city of souls.

As Henry VIII draws his last breath, two very different women, Jane Dudley, Viscountess Lisle, and Frances Grey, Marchioness of Dorset, face the prospect of a boy king, Edward VI.

Purchase

In this final installment of the Bloodlines trilogy, Keira and her friends face their toughest battles yet. Not only with the ones they believe have set out to destroy them, but also with themselves and each other.

 



After Alison DiLaurentis tried to kill them, Spencer, Aria, Emily, and Hanna tried to get their lives back on track. But these girls just can’t stay out of trouble.

Puchase

Mallory Quinn has had enough of playing it safe. As a nurse and devoted daughter, she takes care of everyone but herself. And as the local good girl, she’s expected to date Mr. Right. But for once, she’d like to take a risk on Mr. Wrong.

When Cora Kensington learns she is the illegitimate daughter of a copper king, her life changes forever. Even as she explores Europe with her new family, she discovers that the most valuable journey is within.

Purchase

I’ve seen so many freaky things since I started attending Mythos Academy last fall. I know I’m supposed to be a fearless warrior, but most of the time, I feel like I’m just waiting for the next Bad, Bad Thing to happen. Like someone trying to kill me—again.

Every time Cassie Farrier tries to sleep, she is plagued by visions of a death. In desperation Cassie is sent for treatment in an old manor house. There she meets other children just like her. Including Seth, who looks so familiar. Her dream becomes a nightmare—and then reality.

Purchase

Lincoln Thomas is a typical teenager … or at least, he used to be. But then one day he awoke with the power to slow time, stop
bullets mid-flight and turn his enemies into human popsicles.

By night she wanders through Hades, trying to stop the endless cycle of revenge that has cursed her family. By day she struggles to overcome the fatigue that is rapidly eroding her sanity. Without Lucas by her side, Helen is not sure she has the strength to go on.

Purchase

A biological bomb has just been discovered in the air ducts of a busy suburban mall. At first nobody knows if it’s even life threatening, but then the entire complex is quarantined, people start getting sick, supplies start running low, and there’s no way out.

Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own . . .

Purchase

Brielle’s a ballerina who went to the city to chase her dreams and found tragedy instead. She’s come home to shabby little Stratus, Oregon, to live with her grief and her guilt. Jake’s the new guy at school. The boy next door with burning hands and an unbelievable gift that targets him for corruption.
Purchase

Quinn Lennox is searching for a missing friend when she stumbles into a dark otherworld that only she can see—and finds herself at the mercy of Arturo Mazza, a dangerously handsome vampire whose wicked kiss will save her, enslave her, bewitch her, and betray her.

Purchase

Everyone in Lovett, Texas knows Sadie has always been a ‘notional’ kind of gal. She got a notion to leave town asap , and never visit her daddy (bless his heart). Now, she’s back and got the notion to invite a good-looking, hard-muscled, total stranger to her cousin’s wedding.

I thought last week was big, not THIS… this is big!
Who’s buying what?
Support my blog by using this link (also found on sidebar) to shop at TBD
Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
The following two tabs change content below.
Canadian blogger, wife, mother, coffee lover, and sarcastic at heart! She has had a love for all things bookish since before Amazon and eReaders existed *le gasp*. You can also find her organizing tours and other fun things at Xpresso Book Tours.
face twitter good YouTube Instagram

Latest posts by Giselle (see all)

28 Responses to “Fresh Batch (May 27th – June 2nd)”

  1. Nick

    Wow ! That’s a lot of books ! 🙂
    I don’t which one I want more, but I’m keeping my eyes open for Darkness Before Dawn and Dark Frost !

  2. Sam

    I’m really looking forward to Grim and Darkness Before Dawn. Both sound really interesting… and have great covers. 😉

  3. REBECCA@ReadingWishes

    I’ve heard of Darkness Before Dawn but I just realised that the author J.L London (along with her son) is Rachel Hawthorne – how awesome is that! Year’s ago before the dawn of the Goodreads and I first started reading YA, I used to seek out her short romance-y reads. Long, long ago they are all I used to read. It sounds intriguing but now that I know that this is Rachel Hawthorne’s newest release I’m looking forward to seeing her lastest work. Vampires vs. cute teen romance – there’s a lot of difference! Will be interested to see how this varies to her usual teen romance’s. 🙂

  4. Zabet

    I won Dark Frost on a Goodreads giveaway so I can’t wait for that to show up! I’m also interested in Grim, but I want to wait and see some of the reviews come in.

  5. Maja (The Nocturnal Library)

    No Safety in Numbers sounds right up my alley, I want it so badly it hurts. Also, I’ve had my eye on Darkness Before Dawn for so long, I can’t wait to finally grab a copy.
    Such an exciting week ahead of us.

  6. Mary @ BookSwarm

    Dang, that’s a lot of releases! I like how you’ve set them up–easy to read the quick blurb and a thumbnail of the cover (which I need, since I don’t really remember books I want to read until I see the cover. Sad, I know!).

  7. Amy

    Once again a bunch of awesome books. I have Dreamless Pre-ordered for my nook. I am really looking forward to it. No Safety In Numbers, Grim and The Yard look really great. I just read Keep Holding On and it was fantastic!! Thanks for sharing the new releases!

  8. Melanie

    There’s so many of these books I’m dying to read. Lots of wonderful covers too. Thank God my birthday is coming up! lol

  9. Amber Hughes

    I’ve got Shadow Bound coming to me in the mail! Can’t wait for that one! I’ve got Darkness before Dawn & Keep Holding On on my TBR 🙂