Friday, November 23, 2018

Fresh Batch (Nov 25th – Dec 1st)

Posted by 0 Comments

FreshBatchBanner637
Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Love à la Mode
Stephanie Kate Strohm
Publication date: November 27th 2018
by Disney-Hyperion

Goodreads Purchase

Take two American teen chefs, add one heaping cup of Paris, toss in a pinch of romance, and stir. . . .

Rosie Radeke firmly believes that happiness can be found at the bottom of a mixing bowl. But she never expected that she, a random nobody from East Liberty, Ohio, would be accepted to celebrity chef Denis Laurent’s school in Paris, the most prestigious cooking program for teens in the entire world. Life in Paris, however, isn’t all cream puffs and crepes. Faced with a challenging curriculum and a nightmare professor, Rosie begins to doubt her dishes.

Henry Yi grew up in his dad’s restaurant in Chicago, and his lifelong love affair with food landed him a coveted spot in Chef Laurent’s school. He quickly connects with Rosie, but academic pressure from home and his jealousy over Rosie’s growing friendship with gorgeous bad-boy baker Bodie Tal makes Henry lash out and push his dream girl away.

Desperate to prove themselves, Rosie and Henry cook like never before while sparks fly between them. But as they reach their breaking points, they wonder whether they have what it takes to become real chefs.

Perfect for lovers of Chopped Teen Tournament and Kids Baking Championship, as well as anyone who dreams of a romantic trip to France, Love la Mode follows Rosie and Henry as they fall in love with food, with Paris, and ultimately, with each other.


Other releases this week:
* In no particular order *




What If? (YA Verse) by Anna Russell [Purchase]
Runebreaker (The Runebinder Chronicles #2) by Alex R. Kahler [Purchase]
Winter Loon by Susan Bernhard [Purchase]
Waypoint by Deborah Adams & Kimberley Perkins [Purchase]


Outrun the Wind by Elizabeth Tammi [Purchase]
Amber & Dusk by Lyra Selene [Purchase]
Men and Monsters (Nightfall #2) by Elena May [Purchase]
By Winged Chair by Kendra Merritt [Purchase]


Slow Burn (Anchor & Sophia #2) by Tommy Wallach [Purchase]
Oath Keeper by Shelley Wilson [Purchase]


See anything you’re excited for?

Find previous Fresh Batch posts here!

 

New Beginnings: Diamond Fire by Ilona Andrews

New Beginnings: Diamond Fire by Ilona Andrews

Posted by on 11/23/2018 • 0 Comments

I’ve been obsessed with the Hidden Legacy for years now so I was more than a little sad when it came to an end. OF COURSE, they announced a spin off and we got the first hint of that in this little novella.

Nevada and Rogan are getting married! FINALLY! And of course, given how things just happen around them, the wedding planning isn’t going as smoothly as anticipated. A family heirloom goes missing and there might be someone plotting a wedding murder.  In comes Catalina (also the narrator of the spin-offs I believe) who is put to the task of solving this mystery without alerting Nevada to the on-going shenanigans.

So, I went into Diamond Fire with no idea what the novella was about or that it…

A Fresh Take On P&P: Pride by Ibi Zoboi

A Fresh Take On P&P: Pride by Ibi Zoboi

Posted by on 11/21/2018 • 1 Comment

I consider myself a ~connoisseur~ of Jane Austen retellings so when I heard about Pride, I was P U M P E D. As a ~connoisseur~, I realize that some of them are basically indistinguishable but Pride takes the best elements of Pride and Prejudice and transforms them into something unique. It is a retelling of Pride and Prejudice set in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is slowly becoming gentrified.

Zuri Benitez is not gonna be everyone’s favorite heroine. She is stubborn, hates change and is definitely the kind of person who likes to win an argument. BUT she is extremely loyal to her fam, sisters, friends and neighborhood. She is also passionate about the world around her and is determined to leave her mark on it.  While she isn’t…

Extremely Addicting: Little White Lies by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Extremely Addicting: Little White Lies by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Posted by on 11/19/2018 • 5 Comments

Not to be extremely dramatic or anything but I’d kill to read the sequel to Little White Lies (and to The Long Game but that’s a whole other story.) This is probably an odd sentence to start a review with but honestly, that’s just how J Lynn Barnes’s books make me FEEL. Barnes has a knack for writing addicting novels that you cannot stop reading even if they are over 400 pages long. Little White Lies is not only addicting but it reads like a puzzle, clues dispersed everywhere that you need to connect to form the bigger picture.

Sawyer Taft’s life changes when her grandmother shows up on her doorstep and offers her a deal she is unable to resist. Soon she is drawn into the world of…

Fresh Batch (November 18th – 24th)

Fresh Batch (November 18th – 24th)

Posted by on 11/17/2018 • 0 Comments

Flavor of the week:

Navigating the Stars Maria V. Snyder Series: Sentinels of the Galaxy #1 Publication date: November 16th 2018by HarperCollins

Goodreads Purchase

New York Times bestselling author Maria Snyder returns with a compelling new sci-fi series. Perfect for fans of Star Wars andPoison Study. Year 2471. A new discovery. Those three words thrill my parents – the galaxy’s leading archaeologists – but for me, it means another time jump to a different planet. One so big, my friends will be older than my dad when we arrive. And I’ll still be seventeen. Thanks, Einstein.

I really can’t blame Einstein, though. No one expected to find life-sized terracotta warriors buried on other planets. So off we go to investigate, traveling through space and time. With my…

Fresh Batch (November 11th – 17th)

Fresh Batch (November 11th – 17th)

Posted by on 11/10/2018 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

This Splintered Silence Kayla Olson Publication date: November 13th 2018by HarperTeen

Goodreads Purchase

Lindley Hamilton has been the leader of the space station Lusca since every first-generation crew member on board, including her mother, the commander, were killed by a deadly virus.

Lindley always assumed she’d captain the Lusca one day, but she never thought that day would come so soon. And she never thought it would be like this—struggling to survive every day, learning how to keep the Lusca running, figuring out how to communicate with Earth, making sure they don’t run out of food.

When a member of the surviving second…

Pretty Toxic: Fight or Flight by Samantha Young

Pretty Toxic: Fight or Flight by Samantha Young

Posted by on 11/09/2018 • 3 Comments

Okay so we are diving right into this review because I have a lot to process and break down. Fight or Flight started off as a book that I didn’t expect too much from. I went it basically hoping I wouldn’t hate it and unfortunately, things didn’t turn out the way I had hoped. Let me back up here for a sec tho, for the first couple chapters I was NOT a fan but the book started growing on me a lot but then a THING happened and I ended up extremely disappointed and sad. I mean, the book wasn’t perfect aside from the thing but I was still enjoying it so it sucks. While keeping that in mind, I am breaking down this review into the good and the…

Join Our Xpresso Deals Community!

Join Our Xpresso Deals Community!

Posted by on 11/09/2018 • 0 Comments

We’re going to soon be sending out 99¢ and FREEBIE deals right in your inbox!

Subscribe below to receive the best deals on the best books in your email!

You can also see all current deals at any time on this page!

PLUS they’re all shared on our Facebook Page as well!

Subscribe here!

 

CURRENT DEALS: Romance

 

 

Sci-fi/Fantasy FREE! Buy now: Amazon / B&N Kobo / Google Play / Smashwords

AUTHORS!

Want to include your 99¢ or freebie book on Xpresso Deals?

Click here to learn more!