Genre: Romance


Friday, June 02, 2017

Author Interview: Sandhya Menon

Posted by 0 Comments

HELLO and welcome back to this fancy feature that Nick (Nick & Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist) and I are collaborating on! This month I am sharing an interview I did with Sandhya Menon! So PLEASE GIVE HER a virtual round of applause.

1. If Dimple and Rishi’s romance could be set to only one bollywood song, which one would it be?

Tujh Mein Rab Dikhta Hai from Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi, definitely. 🙂

2. What is one book you think the world would just not be the same without?

Ahhh, really, just one?! Hmm…I guess I’d pick The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.

3. If Dimple and Rishi were a food pairing, what would they be? (I AM JUST CURIOUS, OKAY)

Haha, this is an amazing question! I’d say…sea salt and chocolate! Because Rishi’s sweet and Dimple’s salty, get it? Okay, I’ll see myself out.

4. What is Dimple’s fav social media app? What about Rishi?

Dimple’s is Tumblr (so she can write hateposts about certain douchebags who totally deserve it), and Rishi’s is Instagram (to post all his sketches)!

5. What is your favorite romance trope?

So many! Hate to love (natch!), mistaken identity, forbidden lovers, fake dating/marriage, and arranged marriage (also natch!). 🙂

6. Would you rather have to go to summer camps that actually last the entire year or have an entire year’s work condensed into a summer?

I’d rather have a hectic summer and be free to do whatever I wanted the rest of the year!

7. Maggi Noodles or Ramen Noodles?

OMG MAGGI. No contest.

For the funsies:

Team Nick & Rishi or Dimple & Rishi?

Hahahaha! Oh, man, I feel like I’m caught between two incredibly powerful women no matter how I answer, so…pass! 😉

 

About the Book

Author Interview: Sandhya Menon
When Dimple Met Rishi
Sandhya Menon
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, YA
Publication date: May 30th, 2017
by Simon Pulse

GoodreadsPurchase
A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married.

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Thanks so much to Sandhya Menon for joining us today!

Our monthly round up for diverse releases will be up soon too so don’t forget to come back and check out all the diverse releases for the month of May!

Review: 738 Days by Stacey Kade

Review: 738 Days by Stacey Kade

Posted by on 06/07/2016 • 4 Comments

It’s been so long since I’ve read a book that completely hooked me and wouldn’t let go. I am so glad that I picked this one up to read because it reminded me of how much I love getting absorbed in a book and nothing can stop me from putting it down. The characters were so complex and amazing, and the story was interesting to read. I needed to know what would happen next and how their relationship would progress. This book gave me all the feels and I had many tears of happiness, and of heartbreak. I felt like I really knew the characters and what was happening to them took a toll on my emotions.

I will start with Amanda Grace. My heart broke for her so much,…

Review: My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories Edited by Stephanie Perkins

Review: My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories Edited by Stephanie Perkins

Posted by on 12/22/2015 • 6 Comments

I love the holidays, so when I was approached about reviewing this book I couldn’t pass it up. I also always love “feel good” stories and knew this would be filled with them. It didn’t disappoint. It has twelve different stories having to do with the holidays written by an amazing variety of authors. No matter what holiday you celebrate, this book will make you smile. Some even had me tearing up with happy tears. I always really have a hard time reviewing anthologies because I don’t want to have a review that is super long or too short, but I am going to try to do it as good as I can, but be assured, this is a book you want to read around the holidays or any time…

Review: Consent by Nancy Ohlin

Review: Consent by Nancy Ohlin

Posted by on 11/18/2015 • 4 Comments

This book was a bit tough for me. It was a good book, and I knew what it was about going into it, but reading it made me feel a bit icky at times. I liked the MC and her best friend was pretty good too, but Dane just gave me the creeps. I thought that it was a well done story though, and of course it isn’t unheard of to have student/teacher relationships. Besides the relationship aspect though, it really goes into family issues as well and I really liked that.

Bea is a senior in high school and thinking about her future. She has a super smart best friend and she has these grand plans for Harvard. It’s not an unlikely dream either. They are both smart, and…

Review: The Next Together by Lauren James

Review: The Next Together by Lauren James

Posted by on 10/09/2015 • 11 Comments

Wow… just wow.

When you hear the word “time-travel”, the first thing that comes to mind (usually) is “science fiction”. You think of the technology and machines that make this feat possible; you think of the physics involved, of subatomic atoms transferring from one place to another (or however that is supposed to be done); you think of action-packed plots, of conspiracy theories, that push our heroes and heroines to time travel in the first place.

But… romance? With time-travel? To be quite honest, the cynic in me long believed a time-travel with romance in the center would be hard to pull off without it being too cheesy. With a different audience in mind, it would also be hard to talk about the technicalities of how time travel works in the…

Review: Hold Me Like a Breath by Tiffany Schmidt

Review: Hold Me Like a Breath by Tiffany Schmidt

Posted by on 04/01/2015 • 21 Comments

This is probably the first time in a long while since I’ve gotten this infuriated and angry and just fuming over a book. I chose to read this novel expecting great things (especially with such a title as romantic as that), but I ended up putting the book down at certain times and pacing around the room just to cool off the steam coming out of my ears. I was that seething. 

(And I’m not the only one. I buddy read this with Aimee and we kept ranting about the book to each other.)

I don’t even know where to start with this thing. It had so many factors that could have given us an amazing story – underground family-syndicates that deal with black market organ transplants, a heroine who has an autoimmune disorder, assigned guardians…

Interview with Colleen Hoover + Giveaway!

Interview with Colleen Hoover + Giveaway!

Posted by on 03/18/2015 • 12 Comments

I’ve got the wonderful Colleen Hoover, NA rockstar, on the blog today for a short interview about her newest book, Confess! First let’s take a peek at this pretty for those who hadn’t heard of it yet:

Interview with Colleen Hoover Hi Colleen! Thanks so much for dropping by my little space on the web! Hopeless was the first New Adult book I ever read and I absolutely loved it! But today let’s talk about your newest release – Confess! 🙂

Let’s start with giving us a brief description of Confess using only 2 sentences.

Boy meets girl. Crap, I’m out of sentences.

What was the whole confessions part like – the book mentions they’re actual confessions you received – did you get some that will…

Review: On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves

Review: On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves

Posted by on 12/18/2014 • 15 Comments

We’ve all been asked something along the lines of “What would you bring with you on a deserted island”, but for Anna and TJ, this is not rhetorical anymore. And unfortunately they didn’t even get that choice. All they have on the island they’re stranded on, is what has floated in from their plane crash. A suitcase full of mostly useless stuff, but stuff nonetheless. Stories like these really make you appreciate everything we have, here. The choices that we have. For Anna and TJ, they’re only hoping to survive from one day to the next.

One thing I appreciated from this novel is that it isn’t overly dramatic. There’s not a new crisis in every chapter, they don’t have near death experiences and close calls every 3 pages….