Genre: Urban Fantasy


Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Heisting Were-Dragons: Fire & Heist by Sarah Beth Durst

Posted by 0 Comments

Heisting Were-Dragons: Fire & Heist by Sarah Beth Durst
Fire & Heist
Sarah Beth Durst
Genre: Adventure, Urban Fantasy, YA
Publication date: December 4th, 2018
by Crown Books for Young Readers

GoodreadsPurchase
In Sky Hawkins's family, leading your first heist is a major milestone--even more so than learning to talk, walk, or do long division. It's a chance to gain power and acceptance within your family, and within society. But stealing your first treasure can be complicated, especially when you're a wyvern--a human capable of turning into a dragon.

Embarking on a life of crime is never easy, and Sky discovers secrets about her mother, who recently went missing, the real reason her boyfriend broke up with her, and a valuable jewel that could restore her family's wealth and rank in their community.

With a handpicked crew by her side, Sky knows she has everything she needs to complete her first heist, and get her boyfriend and mother back in the process. But then she uncovers a dark truth about were-dragon society--a truth more valuable and dangerous than gold or jewels could ever be.
 
-A copy was provided by Crown Books for Young Readers for review-

THIS BOOK HAS WERE-DRAGONS AND HEIST. If that alone isn’t enough to get your interest, there is no way I could change your mind with my boring-ass words. But I do have a review to write so I guess you could stick around if you felt like. I’d much rather you just read the book though.

MOVING ON. I’ve been reading Sarah Beth Durst for quite some time now and I’ve never read a book by her that I didn’t like. I expected Fire and Heist to be set in a high fantasy world so it took me a little longer to get around to read it but it’s actually set in an urban-fantastical world and I LOVE URBAN FANTASY. When you dive into a book featuring heists and were-dragons, you go in with certain expectations. The actual book was slightly different from my expectations was in it was less intense and more fun but fun is never a bad thing and I honestly just couldn’t stop reading.

Sky Hawkins’ life fell apart one month ago. Her mother did something so terribly wrong her family lost half their wealth, their place in their society and also, their mother. Sky also lost all her friends and her boyfriend/best friend who chose to shun her. Her father and brothers are also being weird about the big, bad thing that went wrong and trying to protect her from the world. Of course, that’s not really helpful and really frustrating given that this affects her just as much as it affects them.

When her ex finds a way to share the truth with her, she knows her family’s honor must be avenged and she must complete the heist her mother started. She assembles a rag-tag group of people to help her with the heist and so an adventure begins.

AND IT IS QUITE THE ADVENTURE. This book, in my opinion, is not necessarily about the heist itself but about everything that caused it and everything it will cause. Sky’s life has been split into a before and after and while she wishes things could go back to before, she is forced to re-evaluate her society and examine it without her rose-tinted glasses. There is quite the scandal surrounding the thing they are trying to heist and it only gets more intense.

I am a great lover of heists but I think what really stood out about this book to me was the world Sarah Beth Durst has built. It should seem excessive and over-the-top but honestly, it just worked and it was fun. Not really a surprise given that Durst is REALLY good with world building BUT YOU KNOW, I am happy.

I ALSO LOVED all the relationships. I loved watching Sky step out and make friends with a human and realize that she was a sucky person in the past, I loved Sky and her brothers, I loved Sky and her fathers, and yes, I did love Sky and her ‘ex’ as well.

If you are a lover of fun and having a good time, this book should already be on your TBR, but if it’s not, I am definitely not gonna convince you so you should just go sulk in a corner and continue not having ANY FUN WHATSOEVER.

3.5 Stars
3.5 Hot Espressos

New Beginnings: Diamond Fire by Ilona Andrews

New Beginnings: Diamond Fire by Ilona Andrews

Posted by on 11/23/2018 • 0 Comments

I’ve been obsessed with the Hidden Legacy for years now so I was more than a little sad when it came to an end. OF COURSE, they announced a spin off and we got the first hint of that in this little novella.

Nevada and Rogan are getting married! FINALLY! And of course, given how things just happen around them, the wedding planning isn’t going as smoothly as anticipated. A family heirloom goes missing and there might be someone plotting a wedding murder.  In comes Catalina (also the narrator of the spin-offs I believe) who is put to the task of solving this mystery without alerting Nevada to the on-going shenanigans.

So, I went into Diamond Fire with no idea what the novella was about or that it…

A Fairy tale about Fairy tales: The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

A Fairy tale about Fairy tales: The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

Posted by on 01/30/2018 • 4 Comments

I think it’s fair to say there has been some mild hype surrounded The Hazel Wood. I mean, that gorgeous cover and the synopsis are kind of hard to resist so it makes sense. BUT, is the book worth it? This is a slightly complex question to answer because I ~know~ this book won’t be for everyone. To be honest, I also kind of avoided reminding myself what the book was about before I read it because I dreaded the hype getting the better of me and my tastes. I came out pleasantly surprised.

The Hazel Wood is part urban fantasy, part fairy tale and part a book about stories. If someone had told me that before I read the book, I would be intrigued but also nervous because…

An Adventurous Middle Grade Novel: The Gauntlet by Karuna Riazi

An Adventurous Middle Grade Novel: The Gauntlet by Karuna Riazi

Posted by on 05/10/2017 • 1 Comment

5 Things You Need To Know About The Gauntlet

1. It is a great book for kids who love games and kids who love RP games. Have you ever wondered what it would be like if you were made a character in your fav game? WELL THIS BOOK ANSWERS all those questions and more.

2. Friendships are a huge deal in this book. Farah and her friends grew apart when she moved and as they are forced into The Gauntlet, they reconnect and work together to rescue Farah’s brothers. Lots of cutes to go around.

3. It is fast paced. While I do enjoy a fast paced book, I did feel like it was a little rushed in terms of development and transitions from challenge to challenge.

4. FOOD PORN. Lots and lots of…

Not really memorable: Freya by Matthew Laurence

Not really memorable: Freya by Matthew Laurence

Posted by on 03/29/2017 • 1 Comment

I feel pretty let down by Freya? The question mark is there because I am not even entirely sure how I feel, just that Freya wasn’t what I wanted it to be when I was looking for a book with norse myth in it. I love books that are set in the modern world and feature heavy doses of mythology and yet, while Freya-the book-was absolutely adorable at times, Freya as a character was kind of annoying. She was obnoxious and while it sometimes made sense since she was a goddess, it could also get really annoying.

I like the contrast the author attempts with her being badass and feminine at the same time, but I also feel like he wasn’t entirely successful with crafting Freya’s character as a blend of those characteristics. She…

Reaction Post: This is Shyness by Leanne Hall

Reaction Post: This is Shyness by Leanne Hall

Posted by on 10/23/2016 • 0 Comments

This Is Shyness is one of those wonderful Aussie gems that is available on this side of the ocean and I am so glad it is because it is such a beautiful book. I am not going to do a traditional review for this one but want to experiment a little.

Welcome to Shyness, a place where the sun never rises and the people who live there are anything but normal…

THIS IS SHYNESS is about a boy who can howl and a girl trying to escape. Over the course of the night they go on an adventure, explore shyness and discover some things about themselves. They might or might not fall in love while they are at it 😉

Reaction Gifs

At first I was like:

Continue Reading »

Review: Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

Review: Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

Posted by on 09/16/2016 • 6 Comments

Here is the thing about this book, it would have hands down been a favorite of the year were it not so flipping confusing. I am not the kind of person that is immediately turned off from a book when something doesn’t make sense to me. In fact, I enjoy it when my mind is being twisted into a pretzel because everything is SO COMPLICATED but that isn’t Vassa in the Night. Vassa in the Night has beautiful writing, an interesting plot and a gorgeous atmosphere but the problem is that the world building needs a LOT of work. I don’t understand at ALL how the world works. This book is trying so hard to be whimsical and eerie that the bare bones are kind of just forgotten about. I…

Review: Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews

Review: Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews

Posted by on 11/20/2015 • 3 Comments

Guys, if you haven’t read an Ilona Andrews book, please, for the love of all things sane and holy, GET YOUR PRIORITIES STRAIGHT AND READ HER NOW! Specifically the Innkeeper Chronicles series! Clean Sweep! Sweep in Peace! ALL OF HER BOOOKS!

This is, by far, the BEST urban fantasy I’ve ever read. EVER EVER EVER READ. You’re probably thinking, “But, Faye, didn’t you say a few months ago that it was Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series that was the best you’ve ever read?” That tidbit was very much true… until I’ve stumbled upon her more recent work, to which I would gleefully and willingly pay a limb to read the succeeding books. As soon as fucking possible.

Okay, fine, I’d also sacrifice a limb to read Anne Bishop’s Marked in Flesh (The…