Posts By: Giselle

Saturday, March 09, 2019

Fresh Batch (March 10th – 16th)

Posted by 0 Comments

FreshBatchBanner637
Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Bloodleaf
Crystal Smith
Series: Bloodleaf #1
Publication date: March 12th 2019
by HMH Books for Young Readers

Goodreads Purchase

Perfect for fans of RED QUEEN and UPROOTED, Crystal Smith’s debut novel, BLOODLEAF, is an imaginative retelling of the Grimm Fairy tale “The Goose Girl” that takes a ghostly mystery and sets it inside an epic fantasy world.

Princess Aurelia is a prisoner to her crown and the heir that nobody wants. Surrounded by spirits and banned from using her blood-magic, Aurelia flees her country after a devastating assassination attempt. To escape her fate, Aurelia disguises herself as a commoner in a new land and discovers a happiness her crown has never allowed. As she forges new bonds and perfects her magic, she begins to fall for a man who is forbidden to rule beside her. But the ghosts that haunt Aurelia refuse to abandon her, and she finds herself succumbing to their call as they expose a nefarious plot that only she can defeat. Will she be forced to choose between the weight of the crown and the freedom of her new life?


Other releases this week:
* In no particular order *




Meet Me in Outer Space by Melinda Grace [Purchase]
Shout by Laurie Halse Anderson [Purchase]
Izzy + Tristan by Shannon Dunlap [Purchase]
The Sound of Drowning by Katherine Fleet [Purchase]


When the Sky Fell on Splendor by Emily Henry [Purchase]
Cold Day in the Sun by Sara Biren [Purchase]
Beware the Night by Jessika Fleck [Purchase]
Heroine by Mindy McGinnis [Purchase]


The Waking Forest by Alyssa Wees [Purchase]
Space (Laws of Physics #2) by Penny Reid [Purchase]
The Witch’s Tower (Twisted Ever After #1) by Tamara Grantham [Purchase]
Die Mission (H.O.M.E. #2) by Eva Siegmund [Purchase]


Changing Lanes by Adi Alsaid [Purchase]
All the Walls of Belfast by Sarah Carlson [Purchase]
Other Words for Smoke by Sarah Maria Griffin [Purchase]
The Chaos Circus by Renee Dugan[Purchase]


Heart & Shadow: The Valkyrie Duology (Valkyrie #1-2) by Amanda Hocking [Purchase]
Angel Thieves by Kathi Appelt [Purchase]
Squad by Mariah MacCarthy [Purchase]
Last Girl Standing by Marjory Kaptanoglu [Purchase]


What’s on your wishlist this week?

Find previous Fresh Batch posts here!

 

Review: City of the Lost by Kelley Armstrong

Review: City of the Lost by Kelley Armstrong

Posted by on 03/04/2019 • 0 Comments

I’ve always been a fan of Kelley Armstrong ever since her Women of the Underworld series. While this one isn’t paranormal, it still has an air of fantasy in it when we’re taken into this secluded town where people go to escape their tragic or criminal past. 

This town is hidden from the world, and as you can guess comes with a side of mystery and even horror. Casey is brought there to try and find out why their people are disappearing and coming up murdered. The whole seclusion aspect makes this story so compelling and eerie. It’s sort of like a post-apocalyptic world where you have limited supplies and every skill is put to good use, and wandering off a bit too far from the edge means you’re likely…

Fresh Batch (March 3rd – 9th)

Fresh Batch (March 3rd – 9th)

Posted by on 03/02/2019 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Opposite of Always Justin A. Reynolds Publication date: March 5th 2019by Katherine Tegen Books

Goodreads Purchase

Jack Ellison King. King of Almost.

He almost made valedictorian.

He almost made varsity.

He almost got the girl . . . 

When Jack and Kate meet at a party, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks, Jack knows he’s falling—hard. Soon she’s meeting his best friends, Jillian and Franny, and Kate wins them over as easily as she did Jack. Jack’s curse of almost is finally over.

But this love story is . . . complicated. It is an…

Fresh Batch (Feb 25th – Mar 2nd)

Fresh Batch (Feb 25th – Mar 2nd)

Posted by on 02/24/2019 • 0 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Four Dead Queens Astrid Scholte Publication date: February 26th 2019by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Goodreads Purchase

Seventeen-year-old Keralie Corrington may seem harmless, but she’s, in fact, one of Quadara’s most skilled thieves and a liar. Varin, on the other hand, is an honest, upstanding citizen of Quadara’s most enlightened region, Eonia. He runs afoul of Keralie when she steals a package from him, putting his life in danger. When Varin attempts to retrieve the package, he and Keralie both find themselves entangled in a conspiracy that leaves all four of Quadara’s queens dead.

With no other choices and on the…

Fresh Batch (February 17th – 23rd)

Fresh Batch (February 17th – 23rd)

Posted by on 02/16/2019 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

The Art of Losing Lizzy Mason Publication date: February 19th 2019by Soho Teen

Goodreads Purchase

On one terrible night, 17-year-old Harley Langston’s life changes forever. At a party she discovers her younger sister, Audrey, hooking up with her boyfriend, Mike—and she abandons them both in a rage. When Mike drunkenly attempts to drive Audrey home, he crashes and Audrey ends up in a coma. Now Harley is left with guilt, grief, pain and the undeniable truth that her ex-boyfriend (who is relatively unscathed) has a drinking problem. So it’s a surprise that she finds herself reconnecting with Raf, a neighbor and childhood friend…

Fresh Batch (February 10th – 16th)

Fresh Batch (February 10th – 16th)

Posted by on 02/09/2019 • 0 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Crown of Feathers Nicki Pau Preto Series: Crown of Feathers #1 Publication date: February 12th 2019by Simon Pulse

Goodreads Purchase

I had a sister, once…

In a world ruled by fierce warrior queens, a grand empire was built upon the backs of Phoenix Riders—legendary heroes who soared through the sky on wings of fire—until a war between two sisters ripped it all apart.

I promised her the throne would not come between us.

Sixteen years later, Veronyka is a war orphan who dreams of becoming a Phoenix Rider from the stories of old. After a shocking betrayal from her controlling sister, Veronyka strikes…

Join Xpresso Readers Lounge!

Join Xpresso Readers Lounge!

Posted by on 02/08/2019 • 0 Comments

Hi lovely bookish people! We’d love to invite you to our new Xpresso Readers social lounge Facebook Group!

This group is for fans, readers, authors, and bloggers to socialize and discuss books. There will also be author takeovers, giveaways, freebie and sale notices, and more fun bookish stuff like hot teasers and sneak peeks! It’s mostly YA of all genres and adult Romance oriented, but there will be the occasional PNR/UF, too! Come in, get to know amazing bloggers, make new reader friends, and meet the best of the best authors! And don’t be shy – post questions, random bookish polls, discussions. We want to chat and get to know you!

Respect other members is our only rule! Book lovers unite!!…

Fresh Batch (February 3rd – 9th)

Fresh Batch (February 3rd – 9th)

Posted by on 02/02/2019 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Courting Darkness Robin LaFevers Series: Courting Darkness Duology #1 Publication date: February 5th 2019by HMH Books for Young Readers

Goodreads Purchase

Death wasn’t the end, it was only the beginning…

Sybella has always been the darkest of Death’s daughters, trained at the convent of Saint Mortain to serve as his justice. But she has a new mission now. In a desperate bid to keep her two youngest sisters safe from the family that nearly destroyed them all, she agrees to accompany the duchess to France, where they quickly find themselves surrounded by enemies. Their one ray of hope is Sybella’s fellow novitiates, disguised…