Yearly Archives:: 2017

Monday, June 26, 2017

Cover Reveal for No Limits by Ellie Marney

Posted by 0 Comments

Ellie Marney is the beloved author of the Every Breath series and I am honored to be helping out with the cover reveal of her upcoming book No Limits!

But first, here is a quick synopsis of the book (because keeping you waiting is my goal in life)

New Australian YA romantic crime from the author of the award-winning Every series…

Boozer, brawler, ladies’ man – nineteen-year-old Harris Derwent is not a good guy.

His one attempt to play the hero – helping out his old flame, Rachel Watts – has landed him in hospital. Now injured, broke, and unemployed, he’s stuck back in the country, at his father’s mercy. Harris needs to pay off his dad’s debts, and fast. But working as a runner for a drug cartel is a dangerous path – especially if Harris agrees to narc…

Eighteen-year-old Amita Blunt is the perfect police sergeant’s daughter – practical, trustworthy, and oh-so responsible. Getting involved in Harris’s case was never part of the plan. But working at the hospital, she’s invisible – which makes her the ideal contact for a boy feeding information back to the police…

Harris and Amie’s connection is sizzling hot – but if the cartel finds out about them, things could get downright explosive. Backed into a corner, with everything at stake, it’s time for Harris and Amie to find out if love really has no limits…

 

BUT NOW… FOR THE COVER.

ARE YOU EXCITED? IS YOUR BODY FOR A NEW NOVEL BY ELLIE MARNEY? Me too.

Fresh Batch (June 25th – July 1st)

Fresh Batch (June 25th – July 1st)

Posted by on 06/24/2017 • 1 Comment

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

The Impossible Vastness of Us Samantha Young Publication date: June 27th 2017by Harlequin Teen

Goodreads Purchase

I know how to watch my back. I’m the only one that ever has.

India Maxwell hasn’t just moved across the country—she’s plummeted to the bottom rung of the social ladder. It’s taken years to cover the mess of her home life with a veneer of popularity. Now she’s living in one of Boston’s wealthiest neighborhoods with her mom’s fiancé and his daughter, Eloise. Thanks to her soon-to-be stepsister’s clique of friends, including Eloise’s gorgeous, arrogant boyfriend Finn, India feels like the one thing she hoped…

Required Reading: YA Retellings of the ‘Classics’

Required Reading: YA Retellings of the ‘Classics’

Posted by on 06/22/2017 • 7 Comments

Most of us at one time or another have had to do some dreaded required reading for HS or college level English classes where we were forced to read not so interesting books. Or maybe you’re in HS right now and dreading that book you have to read over the summer for class. In any case, some people say that they’d rather watch the movie than read the book and I say, why not read the YA retelling instead? 

1. Sometimes We Tell the Truth by Kim Zarins: A retelling of The Canterbury Tales

If you’re read The Canterbury Tales, you’re probably well aware that the stories are HARD to read. Especially if you, like me, had to read them in MIDDLE ENGLISH. UGH. Give me the YA version literally any day…

Fresh Batch (June 18th – 24th)

Fresh Batch (June 18th – 24th)

Posted by on 06/17/2017 • 0 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Trusting You & Other Lies Nicole Williams Publication date: June 20th 2017by Crown Books for Young Readers

Goodreads Purchase

USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Nicole Williams delivers a seductive summer romance worth swooning over. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins.

Phoenix can’t imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years—do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better?

On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum—the head counselor who is…

A Poignant Novel That Deals With Immigration: The Lines We Cross by Randa Abdel-Fattah

A Poignant Novel That Deals With Immigration: The Lines We Cross by Randa Abdel-Fattah

Posted by on 06/16/2017 • 2 Comments

Maybe you know or maybe you have no idea who I even am or how you ended up on this site but Randa Abdel-Fattah changed my life when I was a kid. On more than one occasion, I’ve talked about how Does My Head Look Big In This is one of the three most important books in my life that helped redefine how I felt about my identity and about myself as a human being. So, when I heard that she had a new book coming out, I was over the moon. Of course, this was ages ago and this was when the book was coming out in Australia and I was all the way here, sad because I didn’t think I’d get to read the book. Then I found out…

For the summer feel-good vibes: I Believe In A Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo

For the summer feel-good vibes: I Believe In A Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo

Posted by on 06/15/2017 • 1 Comment

I honestly cannot believe I haven’t seen more hype for I Believe in A Thing Called Love because it is one of my favorite books of the year (out of the 100 I’ve read so far.) It’s charming, a little unrealistic but PACKED with fun, joy, and general happiness.

Those are very general, descriptive terms that could describe any fluffy book that some people might write off all together but you know what? They would be missing out. For one, ‘fluff’ isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Charles Dickens wrote commercial fiction (and while it wasn’t fluff, he was getting paid by the sentence so those painfully boring pages weren’t because he was being ~literary~), Shakespeare’s works were definitely mean for entertainment, etc etc.

On the surface, I Believe in a Thing Called…

5 Books to Cool Down With in the Summer Heat

5 Books to Cool Down With in the Summer Heat

Posted by on 06/13/2017 • 2 Comments

🎶It’s getting hot in here so take the dust jackets off all your books🎶

It was 90+ degrees here today and I cannot deal with anything in this heat so TODAY, I am bringing you a list of 5 books that look like a good way to cool down in this summer heat.

1. Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch 2. See You at Harry’s by Jo Knowles 3. The Summer of Firsts and Lasts by Terra Alan McVoy 4. Rocky Road by Rose Kent 5. Shug by Jenny Han Do you have any book recommendations for this heat? Please tell me because I will die soon from being overheated and want to get some reading done before that happens.

Fresh Batch (June 11th – 17th)

Fresh Batch (June 11th – 17th)

Posted by on 06/10/2017 • 0 Comments

Fresh Batch, posted weekly, keeps you up to date on the hottest releases of the upcoming week.

Flavor of the week:

Bad Romance Heather Demetrios Publication date: June 13th 2017by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Goodreads Purchase

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it’s too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship…