Genre: Chick Lit


Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Imperfect but 100% Lovable: From Twinkle, With Love by Sandhya Menon

Posted by 1 Comment

Imperfect but 100% Lovable: From Twinkle, With Love by Sandhya Menon
From Twinkle, With Love
Sandhya Menon
Genre: Chick Lit, Contemporary, YA
Publication date: May 22nd, 2018
by Simon Pulse

GoodreadsPurchase
Aspiring filmmaker and wallflower Twinkle Mehra has stories she wants to tell and universes she wants to explore, if only the world would listen. So when fellow film geek Sahil Roy approaches her to direct a movie for the upcoming Summer Festival, Twinkle is all over it. The chance to publicly showcase her voice as a director? Dream come true. The fact that it gets her closer to her longtime crush, Neil Roy—a.k.a. Sahil’s twin brother? Dream come true x 2.

When mystery man “N” begins emailing her, Twinkle is sure it’s Neil, finally ready to begin their happily-ever-after. The only slightly inconvenient problem is that, in the course of movie-making, she’s fallen madly in love with the irresistibly adorkable Sahil.

Twinkle soon realizes that resistance is futile: The romance she’s got is not the one she’s scripted. But will it be enough?

Told through the letters Twinkle writes to her favorite female filmmakers, From Twinkle, with Love navigates big truths about friendship, family, and the unexpected places love can find you.
-A copy was provided by Simon Pulse for review-

So, even though When Dimple Met Rishi was one of my most anticipated books of 2017 and I winded up with two/three copies of it, I actually never ended up reading it. Of course, Sandhya Menon is a champ and regardless of whether or not I had read When Dimple Met RishiFrom Twinkle, With Love was already on my TBR and most anticipated for 2018. Of course, May went back, Twinkle came out and I still hadn’t read it because that’s WHO I AM. A PROCRASTINATOR. But. then. I decided to do a thing. I decided to read the GODDAMN BOOK and it was absolutely, 100% worth it. 

I think it is worth it to mention that I found that Twinkle wasn’t as easy to get into. It’s written exclusively in letters so it was more informal and a little younger than what I was expecting but once I got used to Twinkle’s voice, it was smooth sailing. 

WORDS are hard but anyway, From Twinkle, With Love is a coming-of-age story. Twinkle is struggling with figuring out changing friendships, crushes, her place within her household and her place within the world. 

When Sahil, her crush’s brother, approaches her to help produce a short movie for the upcoming summer festival, she is reluctant but eventually jumps onboard for a chance to pursue her dreams (and potentially a chance to get to know Nikhil better ;)) Of course, her changing friendship with her long-time BFF makes things a little more complicated for her. Especially when she decides to cast said-BFF as the lead of the movie. 

On top of that, she is fielding anon emails from someone who could be Nikhil all the while falling slowly in love with Sahil.

WHAT A SUMMER for Twinkle. 

My summers where never that exciting. 

But of course, this isn’t about me. It’s about Twinkle. Twinkle is just such a well written character. She is kind and yet wholly imperfect. I love that there are times over the course of the novel where she gets SO angry and petty. She is mostly a wallflower but the way people treat her does get to her and I loved seeing that anger expressed and written down. It was kind of cathartic tbh, since I was also once an angry teenager.

The best part of course as that not only do we get to see Twinkle grow stronger and more complex over the course of the book, a number of secondary characters also experience strong character-development arcs as they are forced to confront their insecurities. INCLUDING Maddie, the aforementioned BFF. 

So, if you’re looking for a complex summer-read with characters who aren’t perfect- they will likely piss you off at times but overall win your heart-, funny grandmas, and some filmmaking, YOU’VE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE. From Twinkle, With Love should absolutely be on your radar. Not only will it look stunning on your bookshelves but also STUNNING IN YOUR SOUL ONCE YOUVE DEVOURED IT. 

 

4 Stars
4 Hot Espressos

Really Funny and Over-the-Top: Save the Date by Morgan Matson

Really Funny and Over-the-Top: Save the Date by Morgan Matson

Posted by on 06/21/2018 • 2 Comments

Save the Date is neither unpredictable nor does it really break any moulds. It is exactly what you would expect it to be and it is fucking amazing. If you, like me, are a connoisseur of rom-coms & chick-flicks and are upset by how few are being made lately, this book is what you deserve.

Charlie Grant’s older sister is getting married this week, her family home is being sold, and her brother who she nor her parents have spoken to in almost two years is gonna be coming back for the wedding. To add to the stress, Charlie’s long-time crush and her are feeling the sparks which makes things awkward because a certain brother is crashing with her crush instead of with the fam. Charlie just wants…

The Summer of Jordi Perez and Rashika’s Favorite Burger Place

The Summer of Jordi Perez and Rashika’s Favorite Burger Place

Posted by on 04/10/2018 • 3 Comments

The Summer of Jordi Perez was everything you can ask from for a summer-y read. Romance, friendship, identity and just a little bit of food-fun, Jordi Perez was truly a package. Also Jordi Perez is the name of the love interest and she was delightful as well.

I always complain about this because I am a whiny baby but it is SO HARD to express feelings in a review for a book you really really enjoyed and Jordi Perez is SUCH A FUN READ. I’ve had a really rough month and a half and have read almost no books this month but Jordi Perez cheered me up when I needed it.

Summer is not going how Abby Ives had thought it would. It’s the summer before senior year and all…

Not the Persuasion Retelling My Heart Desires: The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel

Not the Persuasion Retelling My Heart Desires: The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel

Posted by on 08/24/2017 • 1 Comment

I’ve always regarded Persuasion as my favorite Jane Austen novel so when I heard about The One That Got Away, I was immediately intrigued. There is something about the angst of a second chance romance that always draws me in and I love seeing the various takes on the classic novel. I dove into The One That Got Away expecting to enjoy it and I am not sure I did? I am also not sure I didn’t.

Retellings don’t have to follow the original storyline word for word but in my opinion a good retelling is at least very aware of the word for word storyline and has a fun take on that story. I felt like The One That Got Away didn’t really do that? It’s biggest tribute to the novel was essentially…

Book Aesthetic: Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourne

Book Aesthetic: Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourne

Posted by on 07/05/2017 • 3 Comments

If you’re expecting this book to change your life, you’re probably going to be disappointed but it IS a perfectly, enjoyable summer book and not everything we read needs to revolutionize our lives. I, for one, have been too tired and too overheated lately to read books that will change my life so Wesley James Ruined My Life was the perfect read for me.

Is Quinn Hardwick stubborn as fuck and will you want to shake some sense into her? For SURE but the book also has so many feel-good vibes and part of the fun is when she does realize she is in the wrong. Quinn is stubborn and holds grudges for all the wrong reasons but we can all be stubborn sometimes and I for one am still angry…

For the summer feel-good vibes: I Believe In A Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo

For the summer feel-good vibes: I Believe In A Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo

Posted by on 06/15/2017 • 1 Comment

I honestly cannot believe I haven’t seen more hype for I Believe in A Thing Called Love because it is one of my favorite books of the year (out of the 100 I’ve read so far.) It’s charming, a little unrealistic but PACKED with fun, joy, and general happiness.

Those are very general, descriptive terms that could describe any fluffy book that some people might write off all together but you know what? They would be missing out. For one, ‘fluff’ isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Charles Dickens wrote commercial fiction (and while it wasn’t fluff, he was getting paid by the sentence so those painfully boring pages weren’t because he was being ~literary~), Shakespeare’s works were definitely mean for entertainment, etc etc.

On the surface, I Believe in a Thing Called…

4 Reasons to Read Geekerella by Ashley Poston

4 Reasons to Read Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Posted by on 04/04/2017 • 6 Comments

GEEKERELLA is everything it promises to be. It is incredibly cute and adorably nerdy. Did you grow up kind of obsessed with the Another Cinderella Story movies? Do you want to read a book that is at least the first movie in book form? YOU’VE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE. GEEKERELLA is everything you will ever want from a modern adaptation of a Cinderella retelling. It reminded me so much of why modern retellings of fairy tales are some of my favorite things to read.

Elle grew up watching Starfield (a Star Trek-esque show) with her father. It is one of her few connections to him now that he is gone and it is also one of her only form of escapes. It has allowed her to connect to…

Review: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

Review: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

Posted by on 10/14/2016 • 12 Comments

Feels in a gif:

I usually find it hard to express all my feels about a book in a singular gif but with The Hating Game, it was quite easy. Actual pic of me after I finished the book.

I haven’t read a rom-com I loved this much in years and I think The Hating Game encompasses everything I love about good rom-coms and a good romance. It made me feel so mushy and happy on the inside and I am glad that The Hating Game found its way into my life. This book has already received so much hype and so many people are already loving it so instead of doing a review review, I thought I’d list 5 quick reasons that might make you want to pick this book up.

1. Main…