Genre: Horror


Wednesday, October 11, 2017

A Fun Read If A Little Romance Heavy: There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

Posted by 2 Comments

A Fun Read If A Little Romance Heavy: There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins
There's Someone Inside Your House
Stephanie Perkins
Genre: Horror, Thriller, YA
Publication date: September 26, 2017
by Dutton Books for Young Readers

GoodreadsPurchase
Scream meets YA in this hotly-anticipated new novel from the bestselling author of Anna and the French Kiss.

One-by-one, the students of Osborne High are dying in a series of gruesome murders, each with increasing and grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, the dark secrets among them must finally be confronted.

International bestselling author Stephanie Perkins returns with a fresh take on the classic teen slasher story that’s fun, quick-witted, and completely impossible to put down.
-A copy was provided by Dutton Books for Young Readers for review-

While I admittedly have some complex feelings about Anna and the French Kiss, I can wholeheartedly say that I enjoy Stephanie Perkins’ writing style and that when I heard about There’s Someone Inside Your House, I was extremely excited to see how her unique writing style would translate across genres.

It did take me a while to get into There’s Someone Inside Your House so it is slow-going but as soon as things started getting bloodier and gorier, I was HERE FOR IT and I just got sucked in.

While it does kind of suck it took me a while to get into There’s Someone Inside Your House, I think it also makes sense because it is drawing from the classic horror movie, Scream and classic horror movies take time to built up suspense and excitement until you’re just hit in the face with all the action. This just makes the ride sweeter, I guess? Who knows. I am not a writer, just a reader.

One of my major issues with the book, and the reason I didn’t love it (even if I did enjoy it), was that it was a tad romance heavy for my tastes. I am not necessarily surprised but if there is a killer on the loose, I’d rather more time be dedicated to solving the mystery as opposed to kissing and relationships developing. The problem is that even though bonds are created under stressful situations, there was no real urgency to the pace at which their relationship progressed. I don’t mean in terms of insta love or anything but rather that everyone was just taking their sweet time doing things even though teens were being murdered.

Makani & Ollie’s romance may have been a little off putting but they are also both characters I enjoyed and I thought Perkins did a good job developing them and making it so they weren’t caricatures.

There was also a whole slew of secondary characters that made the story more entrancing and I enjoyed their stories as well. I do wish we had gotten more details about Makani’s parents though because they seemed odd.

Overall, I think that There’s Someone Inside Your House is a good, spoopy (not a spelling error), horror read to get you in the mood for Fall. The romance does dampen the horror a bit but the plot will definitely get your heart racing!

3 Stars
3 Hot Espressos

Blog Tour: Spill Zone by Scott Westerfeld

Blog Tour: Spill Zone by Scott Westerfeld

Posted by on 05/09/2017 • 1 Comment

This was a creepy, weird book, interesting graphic novel.  I don’t tend to read a lot of them, but I do enjoy them on occasion. This one has beautiful artwork and a pretty crazy storyline. I thought that the illustrations really brought the story to life and added a creepy factor to it.  The characters were great too and though we don’t learn too much about them yet, it really makes the anticipation for a sequel almost unbearable.

Addie is the main character. She takes care of her little sister now that her parents are dead. Thanks to The Spill. No one is allowed in the Spill Zone, but Addie sneaks in and takes gorgeous, haunting, and chilling photos of it. It’s super dangerous, but that is the only way…

The Last Harvest by Kim Liggett

The Last Harvest by Kim Liggett

Posted by on 02/10/2017 • 1 Comment

I have no idea how I am supposed to feel about this book. I love how the author builds tension throughout the book and I love the general creepiness of it but I struggled with a lot of other aspects of the book. The characters, the romance, and even some of the horror elements of the book.

I think my biggest qualm in terms of the actual horror parts of the book is how much they are based on Christian myth. This is obviously a very personal qualm and not all readers will have that same experience but as someone who exists outside of that narrative, it can be a little unsettling to have all this info forced down ones throat. It isn’t even just the satanic elements but rather the…

Review: Lost in Texas (The Living Dead Boy #2) by Rhiannon Frater

Review: Lost in Texas (The Living Dead Boy #2) by Rhiannon Frater

Posted by on 10/25/2016 • 1 Comment

As you are all probably aware, I love Rhiannon Frater. She writes amazing books with in depth characters, and tons of suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat. This follow up to the first book was no exception. The book may be short, but it packs a punch. Right from the start there is a tension about things. The looming threat of zombies, and the people around about to snap from fear and feeling trapped. I flew through this book simply because I had to. I couldn’t stop until I knew the outcome of it.

Josh is back of course and he is undoubtably one tough kid. Yes, he’s scared, but he has seen enough horror movies to know the things that will make you become zombie…

Review: The Women in the Walls by Amy Lukavics

Review: The Women in the Walls by Amy Lukavics

Posted by on 09/13/2016 • 9 Comments

I literally don’t know how to start this review because there are a lot of things to say but they can all just be covered with a big NO. There is potential in this book but it’s all potential that is unrealized. From the spoilt MC who is a cardboard cutout to the world building, this book is just lacking. It isn’t BAD but it isn’t GOOD which is especially disappointing because I was really looking forward to reading this book.

The MC was a clear let down but I was really upset that the MC’s cutting is not at all talked about in ways that isn’t a character trait. It’s used as a description of the MC in the way an adjective might be used.

There are…

Review: Can You Keep A Secret? (Fear Street Relaunch #4)

Review: Can You Keep A Secret? (Fear Street Relaunch #4)

Posted by on 06/14/2016 • 0 Comments

I read this one a while ago and got busy and kept forgetting to post my review for it. I have really been enjoying the Fear Street Relaunch books, and I enjoyed this one too. It’s dark and creepy at times, but not really scary. I thought the story was really fun and interesting. I liked that there was more than one type of danger going on, and how it all came together at the end. The characters were great and well done.

Emmy was pretty much your typical high school girl. She likes to hang out with friends, her boyfriend, party, and do things she’s not supposed to. Only, she gets herself in way over her head when she’s snuck out to go camping with her boyfriend and some…

Review: Nightstruck by Jenna Black

Review: Nightstruck by Jenna Black

Posted by on 03/17/2016 • 4 Comments

This book was creepy and dark and very enjoyable for the most part. I did feel like there was a whole lot of waiting going on and things weren’t really moving forward, but there was always plenty going on. I know that doesn’t make a lot of sense. What I mean is there is all sorts of creepy, crazy things happening even when the story didn’t seem to be moving forward that fast. I did feel like I wasn’t really sure what was going on, but since this is a start to a series I am assuming that we we get more information in the next ones. I think that it is a great start to a series and am interested to continue with it and see where things go….

Blog Tour: Teen Frankenstein by Chandler Baker (High School Horror #1) Review and Guest Post

Blog Tour: Teen Frankenstein by Chandler Baker (High School Horror #1) Review and Guest Post

Posted by on 01/18/2016 • 3 Comments

Hello everyone!! I am happy to be participating in the blog tour for this book. Right when I read the synopsis, I knew that I had to read the book. So I will be doing my review and I have a great guest post with a real life high school horror story from Charlotte Huang, a friend of the author who is also an author.

To start, I really liked the characters. They were great. Especially Tor and her best friend Owen. They really were what pulled me into the story. I did enjoy this book, but had to ignore all of the things that just didn’t make sense to me. As with all things fiction, not everything has to make sense or be logical right? I can’t go into…