Genre: Retellings


Monday, December 05, 2016

Giveaway: Spindle by E.K. Johnston

Posted by 9 Comments

Today we are partnering with the lovely people at Disney-Hyperion to bring you a fabulous giveaway! E.K. Johnston is an incredibly talented author and I am SO excited to read Spindle. I enjoyed A Thousand Nights and CRIED while reading The Garden of Three Hundred Flowers (a short b/w A Thousand Nights  and Spindle, more info will be below) so I am sure Spindle will be even better. Exit, Pursued by a Bear (a retelling of Shakespeare’s The Winter’s Tale) was also one of my favorite books of the year so basically, I just need all of Johnston’s books in my life :’)

About the Book



Giveaway: Spindle by E.K. Johnston
Spindle
E.K. Johnston
Series: A Thousand Nights #2
Genre: Fantasy, Retellings, YA
Publication date: December 6th, 2016
by Disney Hyperion

GoodreadsPurchase
The world is made safe by a woman...but it is a very big world.

It has been generations since the Storyteller Queen drove the demon out of her husband and saved her country from fire and blood. Her family has prospered beyond the borders of their village, and two new kingdoms have sprouted on either side of the mountains where the demons are kept prisoner by bright iron, and by the creatures the Storyteller Queen made to keep them contained.

But the prison is crumbling. Through years of careful manipulation, a demon has regained her power. She has made one kingdom strong and brought the other to its knees, waiting for the perfect moment to strike. When a princess is born, the demon is ready with the final blow: a curse that will cost the princess her very soul, or force her to destroy her own people to save her life.

The threads of magic are tightly spun, binding princess and exiled spinners into a desperate plot to break the curse before the demon can become a queen of men. But the web of power is dangerously tangled--and they may not see the true pattern until it is unspooled.

About the Author



ek-johnstonE.K. Johnston had several jobs and one vocation before she became a published writer. If she’s learned anything, it’s that things turn out weird sometimes, and there’s not a lot you can do about it. Well, that and how to muscle through awkward fanfic because it’s about a pairing she likes.


Freebie Novella: The Garden of Three Hundred Flowers


the-garden-of-three-hundred-flowers
Download The Garden of Three Hundred Flowers for free for your Nook or Kindle

The Garden of Three Hundred Flowers is an interstitial short story by E.K. Johnston set between her novels A THOUSAND NIGHTS and SPINDLE. For readers excited to learn more, this story also includes excerpts from A THOUSAND NIGHTS, SPINDLE, and Johnston’s Star Wars novel, AHSOKA.

DividerXR

Giveaway!

One (1) winner receives:
A Copy of Spindle
Sleepytime Tea
Cozy Socks
Tea Infuser Travel Mug

princesscurseprizepack

Giveaway Rules!

  • Open to US residents
  • Xpresso Reads will not be responsible for any lost/damaged items
  • You must be 13+ or have parental permission to participate
  • No Cheating Allowed
  • A new winner will be picked if the initial winner does not respond within 48 hours.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour: Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood by Liesl Shurtliff – Review

Blog Tour: Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood by Liesl Shurtliff – Review

Posted by on 03/11/2016 • 4 Comments

 

Hello everyone!! I am honored to be participating in this huge blog tour for Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood. I adore fairy tales and I love retellings, so naturally I had to take part. This tour has been running for about a month and there is plenty more to come. You can refer to the tour schedule that will be at the end of this post. Don’t forget to check out the other stops for really great guest posts and fun things! For my post I am doing a review of this book.

This book was all sorts of fun. The characters were fantastic and the storyline was great. There was a bit of mystery to it as well as magic (of course), friendships, and adventure….

Blog Tour: Teen Frankenstein by Chandler Baker (High School Horror #1) Review and Guest Post

Blog Tour: Teen Frankenstein by Chandler Baker (High School Horror #1) Review and Guest Post

Posted by on 01/18/2016 • 3 Comments

Hello everyone!! I am happy to be participating in the blog tour for this book. Right when I read the synopsis, I knew that I had to read the book. So I will be doing my review and I have a great guest post with a real life high school horror story from Charlotte Huang, a friend of the author who is also an author.

To start, I really liked the characters. They were great. Especially Tor and her best friend Owen. They really were what pulled me into the story. I did enjoy this book, but had to ignore all of the things that just didn’t make sense to me. As with all things fiction, not everything has to make sense or be logical right? I can’t go into…

Review: Macbeth #killingit by William Shakepeare and Courtney Carbone

Review: Macbeth #killingit by William Shakepeare and Courtney Carbone

Posted by on 12/02/2015 • 3 Comments

I know that I have already review a few of these books, well actually all of them so far, and they are getting harder to review. I can only say how fun they are so many times. Macbeth is one of stories that I really enjoyed reading back in the day when I was in school, so I really liked getting to read it in this format. What’s even better is that the Macbeth movie comes out Friday. Yup, that’s right, December 4th and it looks pretty good. I can’t wait to see it. So, if you haven’t read Macbeth, you should check out the movie, then pick up this book when it comes out in January to see how entertaining reading in this format makes a dark story.

Review: A Midsummer Night #nofilter by William Shakespeare and Brett Wright

Review: A Midsummer Night #nofilter by William Shakespeare and Brett Wright

Posted by on 11/25/2015 • 1 Comment

Every time I have read one of these books I can’t help but smile. They are great fun!! I have actually never read A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I have read little bits, but never the whole thing. Of course, I knew what the story was about, but reading it in this way made it so much fun. Once again, I have to say that these books are amazing because they make learning about these stories entertaining, and in my case, want to read the real thing.

Text and social media are such prominent things today that this is such a great way to write a book. Especially books that some may find boring otherwise. Or have trouble understanding the language since we all know that Shakespeare can be a…

Giveaway: A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

Giveaway: A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

Posted by on 09/15/2015 • 3 Comments

Thanks to the lovely people at Disney-Hyperion, we’ve got a copy of A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston up for giveaway today! A THOUSAND NIGHTS is a dazzling retelling of Arabian Nights by E.K. Johnston – in stores October 6th! All samples and prizing are provided by Disney-Hyperion.

Make sure to: Learn more on un-requiredreading.com Check out the first four chapters of A THOUSAND NIGHTS here. #AThousandNights

Giveaway!

PRETTY THINGS IN A DANGEROUS PLACE prize pack One (1) winner receives: · Copy of A Thousand Nights; · Branded nail polish set & tea bag dispenser.

 

Open to US addresses only Prizing and samples provided by Disney-Hyperion Full contest terms and conditions found on Rafflecopter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review: Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis

Review: Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis

Posted by on 08/19/2015 • 9 Comments

I am honestly quite conflicted with this book.

While I appreciated this was a retelling of an under-the-radar fairy tale (come on, we have had enough of Cinderella, Beauty and the Beast, Little Mermaid retellings!), this book left me feeling a little underwhelmed. I kind of expected a lot because even though I had some problems with Stitching Snow, the author does know how to write a story. With a cover like that, with a premise like that (oh-em-gee, eight older brothers?! Sign me up, s’il te plaît!), surely after a year, and with a writer like R.C. Lewis, surely this book will knock other retellings out of the water?! Unfortunately, instead of feeling enamored with it, I just feel a bit… deflated.

Meet Liddi Jantzen, the heiress to a large techy company that…

Review: A Whole New World by Liz Braswell

Review: A Whole New World by Liz Braswell

Posted by on 07/31/2015 • 19 Comments

What a disappointment this book turned out to be.

You know, when I requested for this book, I did it because I was really, really expecting a Disney movie retelling (wait, is that even allowed? Isn’t there supposed to be some copyright thingy about modifying a well-known commercial masterpiece into something else? Can some lawyer clarify this for me, please?!) that would literally bring me a whole new world. You see, there is something that books can do better than movies – one of them is characterization. With a book, you can get into the deepest psyche of the characters and really get to know them in a more personal and intimate level; we’ll be able to know more why they feel a certain why or how their feeling or other…