Genre: Retellings


Thursday, August 24, 2017

Not the Persuasion Retelling My Heart Desires: The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel

Posted by 1 Comment

Not the Persuasion Retelling My Heart Desires: The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel
The One That Got Away
Melissa Pimentel
Genre: Adult, Chick Lit, Retellings
Publication date: August 22, 2017
by Thomas Dunne Books

GoodreadsPurchase
Ruby and Ethan were perfect for each other. Until the day they suddenly weren't.

Ten years later, Ruby's single, having spent the last decade focusing on her demanding career and hectic life in Manhattan. There's barely time for a trip to England for her little sister's wedding. And there's certainly not time to think about seeing Ethan there for the first time in years.

But as the family frantically prepare for the big day, Ruby can't help but wonder if she made the right choice all those years ago? Because there's nothing like a wedding for stirring up the past . . .
-A copy was provided by Thomas Dunne Books for review-

I’ve always regarded Persuasion as my favorite Jane Austen novel so when I heard about The One That Got Away, I was immediately intrigued. There is something about the angst of a second chance romance that always draws me in and I love seeing the various takes on the classic novel. I dove into The One That Got Away expecting to enjoy it and I am not sure I did? I am also not sure I didn’t.

Retellings don’t have to follow the original storyline word for word but in my opinion a good retelling is at least very aware of the word for word storyline and has a fun take on that story. I felt like The One That Got Away didn’t really do that? It’s biggest tribute to the novel was essentially the second chance romance with a couple of throwaway characters that were parallel to some from the original story.

I think if it wasn’t marketed as a Persuasion retelling, I would have had different expectations and might have enjoyed the book more. To be fair though, my main problem with the book wasn’t even that it doesn’t really do much on the Persuasion end of things, it was that I didn’t really like the main character.

Ruby seems very full of herself and makes lots of odd remarks. Some which are just completely inappropriate and in one instance she makes a jibe at millennials even though she is technically a millennial herself (FYI, not all young people are millennial, 1982-2002 gen are the millennial.) She also has a very weird way of approaching her relationship with Ethan (who is actually a great guy) both in the present and past and I just want her to get her shit together but don’t have much of a desire to cheer her on.

Ethan is definitely the person I would want to cheer on and I really wish we actually got chapters from his perspective in the present. The story would have been much more interesting through his eyes and while I am rambling, can I just say that can we get a gender-swapped Persuasion over here?

Overall, I would not say that The One That Got Away was a terrible read because it wasn’t. I actually read it very quickly and I am trash for second chance romances so I would say there were moments that I actually did enjoy it. I just think it might be much much much more suited for screen than for a book and I would probably enjoy it more on-screen than on-page.

Final Verdict: Don’t read if you want a Persuasion retelling to blow you away, read if you just want a quick and easy chick lit novel to read.

2 Stars
2 Hot Espressos

4 Reasons to Read Geekerella by Ashley Poston

4 Reasons to Read Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Posted by on 04/04/2017 • 6 Comments

GEEKERELLA is everything it promises to be. It is incredibly cute and adorably nerdy. Did you grow up kind of obsessed with the Another Cinderella Story movies? Do you want to read a book that is at least the first movie in book form? YOU’VE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE. GEEKERELLA is everything you will ever want from a modern adaptation of a Cinderella retelling. It reminded me so much of why modern retellings of fairy tales are some of my favorite things to read.

Elle grew up watching Starfield (a Star Trek-esque show) with her father. It is one of her few connections to him now that he is gone and it is also one of her only form of escapes. It has allowed her to connect to…

Giveaway: Spindle by E.K. Johnston

Giveaway: Spindle by E.K. Johnston

Posted by on 12/05/2016 • 9 Comments

Today we are partnering with the lovely people at Disney-Hyperion to bring you a fabulous giveaway! E.K. Johnston is an incredibly talented author and I am SO excited to read Spindle. I enjoyed A Thousand Nights and CRIED while reading The Garden of Three Hundred Flowers (a short b/w A Thousand Nights  and Spindle, more info will be below) so I am sure Spindle will be even better. Exit, Pursued by a Bear (a retelling of Shakespeare’s The Winter’s Tale) was also one of my favorite books of the year so basically, I just need all of Johnston’s books in my life :’)

About the Book About the Author

E.K. Johnston had several jobs and one vocation before she became a published writer. If she’s learned anything, it’s that things turn out weird sometimes, and there’s not a lot…

Blog Tour: Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood by Liesl Shurtliff – Review

Blog Tour: Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood by Liesl Shurtliff – Review

Posted by on 03/11/2016 • 4 Comments

 

Hello everyone!! I am honored to be participating in this huge blog tour for Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood. I adore fairy tales and I love retellings, so naturally I had to take part. This tour has been running for about a month and there is plenty more to come. You can refer to the tour schedule that will be at the end of this post. Don’t forget to check out the other stops for really great guest posts and fun things! For my post I am doing a review of this book.

This book was all sorts of fun. The characters were fantastic and the storyline was great. There was a bit of mystery to it as well as magic (of course), friendships, and adventure….

Blog Tour: Teen Frankenstein by Chandler Baker (High School Horror #1) Review and Guest Post

Blog Tour: Teen Frankenstein by Chandler Baker (High School Horror #1) Review and Guest Post

Posted by on 01/18/2016 • 3 Comments

Hello everyone!! I am happy to be participating in the blog tour for this book. Right when I read the synopsis, I knew that I had to read the book. So I will be doing my review and I have a great guest post with a real life high school horror story from Charlotte Huang, a friend of the author who is also an author.

To start, I really liked the characters. They were great. Especially Tor and her best friend Owen. They really were what pulled me into the story. I did enjoy this book, but had to ignore all of the things that just didn’t make sense to me. As with all things fiction, not everything has to make sense or be logical right? I can’t go into…

Review: Macbeth #killingit by William Shakepeare and Courtney Carbone

Review: Macbeth #killingit by William Shakepeare and Courtney Carbone

Posted by on 12/02/2015 • 3 Comments

I know that I have already review a few of these books, well actually all of them so far, and they are getting harder to review. I can only say how fun they are so many times. Macbeth is one of stories that I really enjoyed reading back in the day when I was in school, so I really liked getting to read it in this format. What’s even better is that the Macbeth movie comes out Friday. Yup, that’s right, December 4th and it looks pretty good. I can’t wait to see it. So, if you haven’t read Macbeth, you should check out the movie, then pick up this book when it comes out in January to see how entertaining reading in this format makes a dark story.

Review: A Midsummer Night #nofilter by William Shakespeare and Brett Wright

Review: A Midsummer Night #nofilter by William Shakespeare and Brett Wright

Posted by on 11/25/2015 • 1 Comment

Every time I have read one of these books I can’t help but smile. They are great fun!! I have actually never read A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I have read little bits, but never the whole thing. Of course, I knew what the story was about, but reading it in this way made it so much fun. Once again, I have to say that these books are amazing because they make learning about these stories entertaining, and in my case, want to read the real thing.

Text and social media are such prominent things today that this is such a great way to write a book. Especially books that some may find boring otherwise. Or have trouble understanding the language since we all know that Shakespeare can be a…

Giveaway: A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

Giveaway: A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

Posted by on 09/15/2015 • 3 Comments

Thanks to the lovely people at Disney-Hyperion, we’ve got a copy of A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston up for giveaway today! A THOUSAND NIGHTS is a dazzling retelling of Arabian Nights by E.K. Johnston – in stores October 6th! All samples and prizing are provided by Disney-Hyperion.

Make sure to: Learn more on un-requiredreading.com Check out the first four chapters of A THOUSAND NIGHTS here. #AThousandNights

Giveaway!

PRETTY THINGS IN A DANGEROUS PLACE prize pack One (1) winner receives: · Copy of A Thousand Nights; · Branded nail polish set & tea bag dispenser.

 

Open to US addresses only Prizing and samples provided by Disney-Hyperion Full contest terms and conditions found on Rafflecopter

a Rafflecopter giveaway