Genre: Retellings


Tuesday, April 04, 2017

4 Reasons to Read Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Posted by 6 Comments

4 Reasons to Read Geekerella by Ashley Poston
Geekerella
Ashley Poston
Genre: Chick Lit, Retellings, YA
Publication date: April 4th, 2017
by Quirk Books

GoodreadsPurchase
Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise. But when she disappears at midnight, will he ever be able to find her again?

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom.
-A copy was provided by Quirk Books for review-

GEEKERELLA is everything it promises to be. It is incredibly cute and adorably nerdy. Did you grow up kind of obsessed with the Another Cinderella Story movies? Do you want to read a book that is at least the first movie in book form? YOU’VE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE. GEEKERELLA is everything you will ever want from a modern adaptation of a Cinderella retelling. It reminded me so much of why modern retellings of fairy tales are some of my favorite things to read.

Elle grew up watching Starfield (a Star Trek-esque show) with her father. It is one of her few connections to him now that he is gone and it is also one of her only form of escapes. It has allowed her to connect to a bigger community out there who lives and breathes Starfield in the same way it does.

Poston pays so much attention to detail in this book and creates the Starfield fandom with such care and with so many details. Social media is also incorporated into this book in fun ways. 

WITHOUT FURTHER ADO, here are 4 reasons to read GEEKERELLA 

1. The romance. I LOVE THIS OTP so much. Darrien and Elle technically don’t like each other (she isn’t happy with him being cast as the lead for this adaptation and he is mad at her for shit-posting about him on the internet) but they don’t really know each other. When a ~kind of~ wrong number incident puts the two in touch, they get to be their true selves without all these barriers in between. They have no idea who the person on the other end is, but they do in that they get to know each other really well. They are the nerdiest of nerds but also cutie pies.

2. FANDOM. To be entirely honest, I don’t consider myself part of any particular fandom but I am a fan of MANY things so I REALLY enjoyed seeing the way fan culture was incorporated into the book. This book truly is a love letter to nerd culture. It incorporates all the good and bad things.

3. An original take. In my opinion, GEEKERELLA is the best of both worlds. It retains a lot of the original tropes of the fairy tale but gives them an original spin and changes relationship dynamics in ways that works and makes the story even more enjoyable.

4. The characters.  Good characters are the backbone of any good story and Geekerella has them aplenty. From the wonderful second characters who Elle befriends to Elle and Darrien themselves. They are all complex and fun to read about.

Book Trailer

4 Stars
4 Hot Espressos

Giveaway: Spindle by E.K. Johnston

Giveaway: Spindle by E.K. Johnston

Posted by on 12/05/2016 • 9 Comments

Today we are partnering with the lovely people at Disney-Hyperion to bring you a fabulous giveaway! E.K. Johnston is an incredibly talented author and I am SO excited to read Spindle. I enjoyed A Thousand Nights and CRIED while reading The Garden of Three Hundred Flowers (a short b/w A Thousand Nights  and Spindle, more info will be below) so I am sure Spindle will be even better. Exit, Pursued by a Bear (a retelling of Shakespeare’s The Winter’s Tale) was also one of my favorite books of the year so basically, I just need all of Johnston’s books in my life :’)

About the Book About the Author

E.K. Johnston had several jobs and one vocation before she became a published writer. If she’s learned anything, it’s that things turn out weird sometimes, and there’s not a lot…

Blog Tour: Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood by Liesl Shurtliff – Review

Blog Tour: Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood by Liesl Shurtliff – Review

Posted by on 03/11/2016 • 4 Comments

 

Hello everyone!! I am honored to be participating in this huge blog tour for Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood. I adore fairy tales and I love retellings, so naturally I had to take part. This tour has been running for about a month and there is plenty more to come. You can refer to the tour schedule that will be at the end of this post. Don’t forget to check out the other stops for really great guest posts and fun things! For my post I am doing a review of this book.

This book was all sorts of fun. The characters were fantastic and the storyline was great. There was a bit of mystery to it as well as magic (of course), friendships, and adventure….

Blog Tour: Teen Frankenstein by Chandler Baker (High School Horror #1) Review and Guest Post

Blog Tour: Teen Frankenstein by Chandler Baker (High School Horror #1) Review and Guest Post

Posted by on 01/18/2016 • 3 Comments

Hello everyone!! I am happy to be participating in the blog tour for this book. Right when I read the synopsis, I knew that I had to read the book. So I will be doing my review and I have a great guest post with a real life high school horror story from Charlotte Huang, a friend of the author who is also an author.

To start, I really liked the characters. They were great. Especially Tor and her best friend Owen. They really were what pulled me into the story. I did enjoy this book, but had to ignore all of the things that just didn’t make sense to me. As with all things fiction, not everything has to make sense or be logical right? I can’t go into…

Review: Macbeth #killingit by William Shakepeare and Courtney Carbone

Review: Macbeth #killingit by William Shakepeare and Courtney Carbone

Posted by on 12/02/2015 • 3 Comments

I know that I have already review a few of these books, well actually all of them so far, and they are getting harder to review. I can only say how fun they are so many times. Macbeth is one of stories that I really enjoyed reading back in the day when I was in school, so I really liked getting to read it in this format. What’s even better is that the Macbeth movie comes out Friday. Yup, that’s right, December 4th and it looks pretty good. I can’t wait to see it. So, if you haven’t read Macbeth, you should check out the movie, then pick up this book when it comes out in January to see how entertaining reading in this format makes a dark story.

Review: A Midsummer Night #nofilter by William Shakespeare and Brett Wright

Review: A Midsummer Night #nofilter by William Shakespeare and Brett Wright

Posted by on 11/25/2015 • 1 Comment

Every time I have read one of these books I can’t help but smile. They are great fun!! I have actually never read A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I have read little bits, but never the whole thing. Of course, I knew what the story was about, but reading it in this way made it so much fun. Once again, I have to say that these books are amazing because they make learning about these stories entertaining, and in my case, want to read the real thing.

Text and social media are such prominent things today that this is such a great way to write a book. Especially books that some may find boring otherwise. Or have trouble understanding the language since we all know that Shakespeare can be a…

Giveaway: A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

Giveaway: A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

Posted by on 09/15/2015 • 3 Comments

Thanks to the lovely people at Disney-Hyperion, we’ve got a copy of A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston up for giveaway today! A THOUSAND NIGHTS is a dazzling retelling of Arabian Nights by E.K. Johnston – in stores October 6th! All samples and prizing are provided by Disney-Hyperion.

Make sure to: Learn more on un-requiredreading.com Check out the first four chapters of A THOUSAND NIGHTS here. #AThousandNights

Giveaway!

PRETTY THINGS IN A DANGEROUS PLACE prize pack One (1) winner receives: · Copy of A Thousand Nights; · Branded nail polish set & tea bag dispenser.

 

Open to US addresses only Prizing and samples provided by Disney-Hyperion Full contest terms and conditions found on Rafflecopter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review: Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis

Review: Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis

Posted by on 08/19/2015 • 9 Comments

I am honestly quite conflicted with this book.

While I appreciated this was a retelling of an under-the-radar fairy tale (come on, we have had enough of Cinderella, Beauty and the Beast, Little Mermaid retellings!), this book left me feeling a little underwhelmed. I kind of expected a lot because even though I had some problems with Stitching Snow, the author does know how to write a story. With a cover like that, with a premise like that (oh-em-gee, eight older brothers?! Sign me up, s’il te plaît!), surely after a year, and with a writer like R.C. Lewis, surely this book will knock other retellings out of the water?! Unfortunately, instead of feeling enamored with it, I just feel a bit… deflated.

Meet Liddi Jantzen, the heiress to a large techy company that…