Publisher: Harlequin Teen


Tuesday, February 06, 2018

Review + Giveaway: The First to Know by Abigail Johnson

Posted by 12 Comments

Review + Giveaway: The First to Know by Abigail Johnson
The First to Know
Abigail Johnson
Genre: Contemporary, YA
Publication date: November 7th, 2017
by Harlequin Teen

GoodreadsPurchase
Dana Fields's father never knew his parents. When Dana secretly does a DNA test for her dad, hoping to find him some distant relatives for his birthday, her entire world implodes. Instead of a few third cousins, Dana discovers a half brother her age whose very existence means her parents' happy marriage is a lie.

Dana's desire to know her half brother, Brandon, and the extent of her dad's deception, clashes with her wish not to destroy her family. When she sees the opportunity to get to know Brandon through his cousin, the intense yet kind Chase, she takes it. But the more she finds out about Brandon, her father's past and the irresistible guy who'll never forgive her if he discovers the truth, the more she sees the inevitable fallout from her own lies. With her family crumbling around her, Dana must own up to her actions and find a way to heal the breach—for everyone—before they're torn apart for good.
-A copy was provided by [author] for review-

Abigail Johnson is a new-to-me author so I had no idea what to expect but The First to Know blew me away. It’s a heartfelt family drama and totally worth it.

Dana Fields just wants to do something nice for her dad for his birthday. What starts off as a heartwarming gesture soon turns into Dana’s worst nightmare. In her search for her father’s family, Dana discovers that she has a half-brother her age that no one knew about.

When she confronts her half-brother, he wants nothing to do with her. With no one she can really turn to, she does what she really shouldn’t, she turns to her half-brother’s cousin (she and the cousin aren’t related by blood.)

I know, I know. This all sounds like a soap opera and it kind of is but in the best way possible. Johnson clearly knows how to write her dramas. The book is just dramatic enough, the angst just right enough that it doesn’t become overbearing. Instead, you feel sympathetic to Dana’s dilemma who really doesn’t know what to do with this new found information that has the possibility to tear apart her nearly perfect family.

Watching the tension build up and Dana struggle to figure out what to do is truly satisfying in some ways because nothing about the situation is easy. There is no simple answer and there is no right or wrong. Johnson forces readers to step outside of our occasional black and white binaries to truly examine the complexity of the situation at hand. I loved every single minute of it.

Of course, like all books, this one isn’t perfect either but it IS good and one I’d recommend to anyone who loves some substantial angst and good drama. The First to Know is absolutely worth the read and I do hope you’ll choose to give it a shot!

In the meantime, our US followers can enter to win a copy of this fabulous book!

DividerXR

Giveaway!

Two (2) winners receive:
Copy of the book
Lip Balm + Bookmarkers

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author



Abigail was born in Pennsylvania. When she was twelve, her family traded in snow storms for year round summers, and moved to Arizona. Abigail chronicled the entire cross-country road trip (in a purple spiral bound notebook that she still has) and has been writing ever since. She became a tetraplegic after breaking her neck in a car accident when she was seventeen, but hasn’t let that stop her from bodysurfing in Mexico, writing and directing a high school production of Cinderella, and becoming a published author.

Review: The Women in the Walls by Amy Lukavics

Review: The Women in the Walls by Amy Lukavics

Posted by on 09/13/2016 • 9 Comments

I literally don’t know how to start this review because there are a lot of things to say but they can all just be covered with a big NO. There is potential in this book but it’s all potential that is unrealized. From the spoilt MC who is a cardboard cutout to the world building, this book is just lacking. It isn’t BAD but it isn’t GOOD which is especially disappointing because I was really looking forward to reading this book.

The MC was a clear let down but I was really upset that the MC’s cutting is not at all talked about in ways that isn’t a character trait. It’s used as a description of the MC in the way an adjective might be used.

There are…

Behind the Scenes with Adi Alsaid + Giveaway!

Behind the Scenes with Adi Alsaid + Giveaway!

Posted by on 07/20/2015 • 14 Comments

I’m happy to be a part of the Never Always Sometimes tour today! I’ve got Adi here to take us behind the scenes on his writing, and you can also enter to win before you go! First, let’s see what this book is all about:

Guest post by Adi Alsaid

Behind the Scenes- My Writing Office(s)

As I sit down to write this, I’m at a restaurant patio in Siem Reap, Cambodia in the midst of a 5-week backpacking trip throughout Southeast Asia. I’m a bit sweaty, but it’s early evening and the heat is past its peak. My feet are up on the red cushion of the large lounging chair I’ve camped out in while I wait for my friends to finish their yoga…

Interview with Kady Cross + Giveaway!

Interview with Kady Cross + Giveaway!

Posted by on 05/01/2015 • 14 Comments

Being a huge fan of ghost stories, I’m excited to be a part of the Sisters of Blood and Spirit blog tour! I’ve got the lovely Kady Cross on the blog today for a short interview along with a giveaway! First, let’s see what this book is all about in case you missed out on this one so far:

Interview with Kady Cross Let’s start with giving us a brief description of this book using a tweet (140 characters or less).

Sweet Valley High meets Supernatural.

What was the hardest part of writing Sisters of Blood and Spirit?

Sorting out, and keeping track of what ghosts can and can’t do in this world, and then staying on top of which of those rules Wren…

Songs that Influenced Breaking the Rules + Giveaway!

Songs that Influenced Breaking the Rules + Giveaway!

Posted by on 12/08/2014 • 16 Comments

I’m a big an of the Pushing the Limits series and today I’m excited to have Katie McGarry on the blog to talk to us about this newest release, Breaking the Rules! Here’s a bit of info on this book first:

Guest Post by Katie McGarry

Songs that influenced Breaking the Rules

Breaking the Rules was a very emotional journey for me to write. At the same time, there were so many wonderful, sigh worthy moments between Echo and Noah that I never wanted the story to end.

To show the extremes of emotions of the story, here are two songs that heavily influenced Breaking the Rules.

The emotional side: “Try” by P!nk Loving isn’t always easy and neither is trusting. At times, we hurt the people…

Review: Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

Review: Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

Posted by on 09/22/2014 • 9 Comments

There are some books you read for pure entertainment, and others, like Lies We Tell Ourselves, end up being much more than that. This novel tells an important story tied to our own history. One not too far in the past. One that is still a factor in our present, just with an altered face. It’s hard to read at times, but it’s also full of hope, strength and courage.

Not only is this an eye opening story, but it’s one narrated with the help of two wildly compelling teenage voices. The year is 1959, and Sarah is one of the first black students to attend a school that used to be all-white. This integration is not wanted by any of these white kids nor their parents, so you can…

Interview with Alexandra Adornetto + Giveaway!

Interview with Alexandra Adornetto + Giveaway!

Posted by on 08/13/2014 • 40 Comments

As a big fan of ghost stories, I’m excited to have the Ghost House tour stop by today where I got to interview Alexandra Adornetto, and you can enter to win before you go!

Interview with Alexandra Adornetto

What’s the best word to describe Ghost House?

Haunting.

What’s the biggest challenge you had while writing this book?

Allowing Alex to be a 19th century gentleman with 19th century values, without making him come across as an oppressive or controlling figure in Chloe’s life. I feel like this was best avoided by making Chloe sassy and confident within herself. I couldn’t change Alex, but I could make sure she knew how to hold her own!

Do you have a favorite scene from Ghost House?

The flashback sequence where Alex…

Review: The Aftermath by Jen Alexander

Review: The Aftermath by Jen Alexander

Posted by on 08/06/2014 • 8 Comments

With a highly unique premise and complex world building, The Aftermath easily stands out in its genre. It’s very well thought-out with a lot to love for gamers especially, but it did fall flat in character development and plot progression.

In few words: Claudia is a character in a post-apocalyptic game, being controlled by the person playing her (who is most likely a psychopath). Cool, right? I thought so. This concept is really intriguing, but how it was executed could have used a little more… oomph. It didn’t take long for me to grow frustrated with our heroine, Claudia. Not her personality itself, but how easily she clued into this wild concept we’re thrown in. After only a few clues, Claudia puts it all together, even asks herself how she…