Publisher: Simon Pulse


Friday, January 12, 2018

‘Stranded in an Airport’ Story I’ve Been Waiting For: The Chaos of Standing Still by Jessica Brody

Posted by 3 Comments

‘Stranded in an Airport’ Story I’ve Been Waiting For: The Chaos of Standing Still by Jessica Brody
The Chaos of Standing Still
Jessica Brody
Genre: Contemporary, Grief, YA
Publication date: November 28th, 2017
by Simon Pulse

GoodreadsPurchase
Over the course of one chaotic night stranded at the Denver airport, Ryn confronts her shattered past thanks to the charm of romance, the uniqueness of strangers, and the magic of ordinary places in this stunning novel from the author of Boys of Summer.

Ryn has one unread text message on her phone. And it’s been there for almost a year.

She hasn’t tried to read it. She can’t. She won’t. Because that one message is the last thing her best friend ever said to her before she died.

But as Ryn finds herself trapped in the Denver International Airport on New Year’s Eve thanks to a never-ending blizzard on the one-year anniversary of her best friend’s death, fate literally runs into her.

And his name is Xander.

When the two accidentally swap phones, Ryn and Xander are thrust into the chaos of an unforgettable all-night adventure, filled with charming and mysterious strangers, a secret New Year’s Eve bash, and a possible Illuminati conspiracy hidden within the Denver airport. But as the bizarre night continues, all Ryn can think about is that one unread text message. It follows her wherever she goes, because Ryn can’t get her brialliantly wild and free-spirited best friend out of her head.

Ryn can’t move on.

But tonight, for the first time ever, she’s trying. And maybe that’s a start.

As moving as it is funny, The Chaos of Standing Still is a heartwarming story about the earth-shattering challenges life throws at us—and the unexpected strangers who help us along the way.

The first discovered Jessica Brody with 52 Reasons to Hate My Father. She immediately had my intention and I really wanted to read everything she wrote but I quickly found out that perhaps everything she wrote wasn’t for me. Which is unfortunate because I really enjoyed her writing style. But then I came The Chaos of Standing Still, a book that demanded my attention.

At 403 pages The Chaos of Standing Still is not a short book but don’t let it fool you. Those 403 pages FLY BY. There are books I’ve read where even 300 pages feel like they are too fucking much but Jessica Brody knows how to pace a story well. In fact she probably deserves an award because there have not been many times in my life where I’ve read 403 pages in one single sitting without moving at all. I can read 400 pages in a day, no problem but in one sitting? Slightly harder to do.

Okay so maybe you’re not here for me to write an ode to Brody’s pacing skills butttttttt I HAD TO TALK ABOUT THEM, OKAY?

The Chaos of Standing Still is a story about a girl who lost her best friend and has survivor’s guilt and a whole lot of grief. I think Brody deals with these issues very well and even though there is a romance, the romance never overshadows Ryn’s experiences. This is Ryn’s story and its her story as she learns how to move on and how to continue living even though her best friend, the light in her life no longer is.

I’ve spent my fair share of time at airports and travelling so when I first read the summary of The Chaos of Standing Still, I was immediately hooked. There are not a whole lot of books that involve being stranded at airports and that’s MY JAM. The overarching plot of the book obviously deals with Ryn’s emotional coming of age but I LOVE the subplots with the airport. There are so many secondary characters to meet and they are all FLESHED OUT. They feel like real people with real stories. And a lot of secondary characters can be fleshed out but I don’t always care about every single one of their stories. I did here and I loved the way we got to see them develop too (if only it was ever so slightly) over the span of 403 pages.

The Chaos of Standing Still is worth reading not just because its a good exploration of grief but also because it is adorable and it is such a feel-good read for a warm winter day.

4 Stars
4 Hot Espressos

Author Interview: Sandhya Menon

Author Interview: Sandhya Menon

Posted by on 06/02/2017 • 0 Comments

HELLO and welcome back to this fancy feature that Nick (Nick & Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist) and I are collaborating on! This month I am sharing an interview I did with Sandhya Menon! So PLEASE GIVE HER a virtual round of applause.

1. If Dimple and Rishi’s romance could be set to only one bollywood song, which one would it be?

Tujh Mein Rab Dikhta Hai from Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi, definitely. 🙂

2. What is one book you think the world would just not be the same without?

Ahhh, really, just one?! Hmm…I guess I’d pick The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.

3. If Dimple and Rishi were a food pairing, what would they be? (I AM JUST CURIOUS, OKAY)

Haha, this is an amazing question! I’d say…sea salt and…

DNF Review: Hotel Ruby by Suzanne Young

DNF Review: Hotel Ruby by Suzanne Young

Posted by on 11/27/2015 • 11 Comments

Welcome to the Hotel California Such a lovely place (Such a lovely place) Such a lovely face Plenty of room at the Hotel California Any time of year (Any time of year) You can find it here

Let me tell you something about my childhood. Back when I was a kid, I would fly to the Sultanate of Oman (a very peaceful Middle Eastern country) to spend time with my father. He worked there as the head Quality Surveyor of a pretty kick-ass construction company, and the times I spent there were one of the very few times I could be with him (the rest of the year would be spent in the Philippines, away from his loving arms). Every time we were in the car, he would put on…

Review: Consent by Nancy Ohlin

Review: Consent by Nancy Ohlin

Posted by on 11/18/2015 • 4 Comments

This book was a bit tough for me. It was a good book, and I knew what it was about going into it, but reading it made me feel a bit icky at times. I liked the MC and her best friend was pretty good too, but Dane just gave me the creeps. I thought that it was a well done story though, and of course it isn’t unheard of to have student/teacher relationships. Besides the relationship aspect though, it really goes into family issues as well and I really liked that.

Bea is a senior in high school and thinking about her future. She has a super smart best friend and she has these grand plans for Harvard. It’s not an unlikely dream either. They are both smart, and…

Review: Violent Ends by Shaun David Hutchinson and Various Authors

Review: Violent Ends by Shaun David Hutchinson and Various Authors

Posted by on 08/19/2015 • 4 Comments

This book was really interesting. It’s about a school shooting, and told in twelve different POV’s ranging from friends, other classmates, people who knew people who went to the school it happened at, and even the gun that Kirby used. It was interesting to hear about Kirby from people who knew him in some way or another, or about the event from those who didn’t know him. It’s tragic what happened, and to see how things changed with Kirby. How premeditated it was at the end. It was something he thought about, planned, and was somewhat pushed to. In this day and age where this is a topic that people do worry about, it’s a very important book. I think how it was told was equally important too since we…

Giveaway: The Remedy by Suzanne Young

Giveaway: The Remedy by Suzanne Young

Posted by on 04/30/2015 • 6 Comments

Thanks to the lovely people at Simon & Schuster, I’ve got a copy of The Remedy up for giveaway today! This novel is the first in a new series set in a world before The Program that has just released last week!

The Program series: (Click on the covers for Goodreads)

Don’t forget to: Read the first 8 chapters of The Remedy here! Find Suzanne Young on Twitter and Facebook Share using hashtag #ReleasetheRemedy

Giveaway!

Simon & Schuster has generously offered up a THE WORLD BEFORE THE PROGRAM prize pack:

–a copy of The Remedy –plus Suzanne Young’s series The Program and The Treatment.

Open to US and Canadian addresses only Giveaway ends May 11th, 2015 Prizing & samples…

Interview with Martina Boone, author of Compulsion + Giveaway!

Interview with Martina Boone, author of Compulsion + Giveaway!

Posted by on 10/22/2014 • 6 Comments

I’ve got the wonderful Martina Boone on the blog today for an interview as part of her blog tour. And you can also enter to win before you go! 😉 First, let’s see what her book is all about:

Interview with Martina Boone

Hi Martina, I actually met you at BEA where I got a signed copy of your book so I’m excited to be a part of your blog tour! 🙂

YAY! Thank you so much for being willing to host me. I’m excited to have that personal connection, because this whole process all kind of scary and exciting! : ) I’m thrilled to be here with you and your readers though, and I love the questions you sent!

Let’s start with how the idea for…

Review: If I Lie by Corrine Jackson

Review: If I Lie by Corrine Jackson

Posted by on 06/02/2014 • 11 Comments

I’ve had this book on my shelf for well over a year now but for some reason I never did get around to picking it up. When I saw Jamie from The Perpetual Page-Turner raving about it recently I decided it was time for me to bite the bullet and give If I Lie a read. Am I ever happy that I did. This story was just the kind of emotionally touching tale that I love to read and get lost in.

Sophie Topper Quinn has grown up with two very best friends, Carey and Blake. As they got older Sophie and Carey became known in their town as “Military Barbie & Ken.” People saw their future together and it was well known that they were an item. Once Carey…