Publisher: Simon Pulse


Friday, March 30, 2018

Adventurous and Swoony: Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett

Posted by 1 Comment

Adventurous and Swoony: Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett
Starry Eyes
Genre: Adventure, Contemporary, YA
Publication date: April 3rd, 2018
by Simon Pulse

GoodreadsPurchase
Ever since last year’s homecoming dance, best friends-turned-best enemies Zorie and Lennon have made an art of avoiding each other. It doesn’t hurt that their families are the modern day, Californian version of the Montagues and Capulets.

But when a group camping trip goes south, Zorie and Lennon find themselves stranded in the wilderness. Alone. Together.

What could go wrong?

With no one but each other for company, Zorie and Lennon have no choice but to hash out their issues via witty jabs and insults as they try to make their way to safety. But fighting each other while also fighting off the forces of nature makes getting out of the woods in one piece less and less likely.

And as the two travel deeper into Northern California’s rugged backcountry, secrets and hidden feelings surface. But can Zorie and Lennon’s rekindled connection survive out in the real world? Or was it just a result of the fresh forest air and the magic of the twinkling stars?
-A copy was provided by Simon Pulse for review-

I’ve been reading Jenn Bennett for half a decade now and she’s been one of those authors I basically just read anything by. I don’t need a summary or acclaim, I JUST NEED BOOKS BY JENN BENNETT. This book had the added advantage of having an enemies-to-lovers/friends-to-lovers romance trope and an survival-esque story so like… yeah.

Unsurprisingly, I loved this book but I also got to buddy-read it with a close friend which made my experience reading it all the more better. But as anyone knows, loving a book doesn’t make writing a review any easier. It probably makes it a lot harder.

Zorie and Lennon used to be the best of friends and were on their way to becoming something more when something goes wrong. Now they go out of their way to ignore each other’s existence. Somehow though, they end up on a camping trip with the same group of people and now they must either play nice or continue trying to snip each others heads off. When their (obnoxious, imho) group packs up and leaves while they are sleeping, Zorie and Lennon are left alone to deal with their complicated feelings about each other and the WILDERNESS. THE GODDAMN WILDERNESS.

I’ve loved a good adventure/survival story since I was in elementary school and combined with a growing romance, Zorie and Lennon’s story is truly just incredibly charming and fun to read.

Like Bennett’s other stories, it also deals with more complicated issues than just first love. Before Zorie goes on her camping trip, she finds out that not everything she knows about her family is true and her dad is a cheating asshole. She might also just be the last person to find that out?

But, also like Bennett’s other stories, it comes with a slew of amazing secondary characters who hold our characters up and are there for them when things are not going so great. Zorie’s mom is amazing and both of Lennon’s moms are amazing. Even if we have one shitty parental figure, there are so many other ones to look up to.

Starry Eyes, like other novels by Jenn Bennett, is an ode to sweet, adorkable first love. It is also a heartwarming story of families, friendships and just following your dreams. If you don’t at the very least like it, there is a chance I will think something is seriously wrong with you.I cannot recommend it and everything else by Jenn Bennett enough and hope you will pick it up.

 

4.5 Stars
4.5 Hot Espressos

Didn’t Love: American Panda by Gloria Chao

Didn’t Love: American Panda by Gloria Chao

Posted by on 02/02/2018 • 3 Comments

American Panda was one of my most anticipated novels of 2018 so it is truly unfortunate that I did not, in fact, love it. I do want to start off by saying that I don’t intend to discourage anyone from reading the book in this review, just convey my experience with it. We are at a point in time where even though there is a large influx in diverse books, we still don’t have nearly enough. Stats show that the number of diverse books published by diverse authors every year is so dismal. I hope that this book will allow many many many kids to see themselves reflected in the story and that they will be able to cherish it.

That said, my biggest issue with the book is not…

‘Stranded in an Airport’ Story I’ve Been Waiting For: The Chaos of Standing Still by Jessica Brody

‘Stranded in an Airport’ Story I’ve Been Waiting For: The Chaos of Standing Still by Jessica Brody

Posted by on 01/12/2018 • 6 Comments

The first discovered Jessica Brody with 52 Reasons to Hate My Father. She immediately had my intention and I really wanted to read everything she wrote but I quickly found out that perhaps everything she wrote wasn’t for me. Which is unfortunate because I really enjoyed her writing style. But then I came The Chaos of Standing Still, a book that demanded my attention.

At 403 pages The Chaos of Standing Still is not a short book but don’t let it fool you. Those 403 pages FLY BY. There are books I’ve read where even 300 pages feel like they are too fucking much but Jessica Brody knows how to pace a story well. In fact she probably deserves an award because there have not been many times in my…

Author Interview: Sandhya Menon

Author Interview: Sandhya Menon

Posted by on 06/02/2017 • 0 Comments

HELLO and welcome back to this fancy feature that Nick (Nick & Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist) and I are collaborating on! This month I am sharing an interview I did with Sandhya Menon! So PLEASE GIVE HER a virtual round of applause.

1. If Dimple and Rishi’s romance could be set to only one bollywood song, which one would it be?

Tujh Mein Rab Dikhta Hai from Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi, definitely. 🙂

2. What is one book you think the world would just not be the same without?

Ahhh, really, just one?! Hmm…I guess I’d pick The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.

3. If Dimple and Rishi were a food pairing, what would they be? (I AM JUST CURIOUS, OKAY)

Haha, this is an amazing question! I’d say…sea salt and…

DNF Review: Hotel Ruby by Suzanne Young

DNF Review: Hotel Ruby by Suzanne Young

Posted by on 11/27/2015 • 11 Comments

Welcome to the Hotel California Such a lovely place (Such a lovely place) Such a lovely face Plenty of room at the Hotel California Any time of year (Any time of year) You can find it here

Let me tell you something about my childhood. Back when I was a kid, I would fly to the Sultanate of Oman (a very peaceful Middle Eastern country) to spend time with my father. He worked there as the head Quality Surveyor of a pretty kick-ass construction company, and the times I spent there were one of the very few times I could be with him (the rest of the year would be spent in the Philippines, away from his loving arms). Every time we were in the car, he would put on…

Review: Consent by Nancy Ohlin

Review: Consent by Nancy Ohlin

Posted by on 11/18/2015 • 4 Comments

This book was a bit tough for me. It was a good book, and I knew what it was about going into it, but reading it made me feel a bit icky at times. I liked the MC and her best friend was pretty good too, but Dane just gave me the creeps. I thought that it was a well done story though, and of course it isn’t unheard of to have student/teacher relationships. Besides the relationship aspect though, it really goes into family issues as well and I really liked that.

Bea is a senior in high school and thinking about her future. She has a super smart best friend and she has these grand plans for Harvard. It’s not an unlikely dream either. They are both smart, and…

Review: Violent Ends by Shaun David Hutchinson and Various Authors

Review: Violent Ends by Shaun David Hutchinson and Various Authors

Posted by on 08/19/2015 • 4 Comments

This book was really interesting. It’s about a school shooting, and told in twelve different POV’s ranging from friends, other classmates, people who knew people who went to the school it happened at, and even the gun that Kirby used. It was interesting to hear about Kirby from people who knew him in some way or another, or about the event from those who didn’t know him. It’s tragic what happened, and to see how things changed with Kirby. How premeditated it was at the end. It was something he thought about, planned, and was somewhat pushed to. In this day and age where this is a topic that people do worry about, it’s a very important book. I think how it was told was equally important too since we…

Giveaway: The Remedy by Suzanne Young

Giveaway: The Remedy by Suzanne Young

Posted by on 04/30/2015 • 6 Comments

Thanks to the lovely people at Simon & Schuster, I’ve got a copy of The Remedy up for giveaway today! This novel is the first in a new series set in a world before The Program that has just released last week!

The Program series: (Click on the covers for Goodreads)

Don’t forget to: Read the first 8 chapters of The Remedy here! Find Suzanne Young on Twitter and Facebook Share using hashtag #ReleasetheRemedy

Giveaway!

Simon & Schuster has generously offered up a THE WORLD BEFORE THE PROGRAM prize pack:

–a copy of The Remedy –plus Suzanne Young’s series The Program and The Treatment.

Open to US and Canadian addresses only Giveaway ends May 11th, 2015 Prizing & samples…