Publisher: Viking Juvenile


Thursday, February 02, 2017

Playlist for The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman + Giveaway

Posted by 6 Comments

Hello and welcome to Xpresso Reads’ tour stop for The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman AKA the book I created my goodreads OTP OF PAIN shelf for. I thoroughly enjoyed The Dark Days Club last year but fell head over heels for The Dark Days Pact. In this book, Goodman really upped the stakes and basically put me through hell :’) It was great. Basically, you need this series on your TBR and to help you do that, I put together a playlist that ~I~ think describes the book/series.

THE PLAYLIST

Feat angsty music + some songs that might not be the best fit BUT SINCE I AM MAKING THE PLAYLIST, you’re stuck with them 😉 Also making playlists is H.A.R.D. If you click on the little thing on the upper left corner, you should be able to browse through my entire playlist and pick and choose songs to listen to. The first couple sort of set the mood and the rest are either angsty and about the darkness inside of oneself (WHICH CHARACTER COULD I BE REFERRING TO?) or my feels about OTP. GOOD LUCK.

About the Book

Playlist for The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman + Giveaway
The Dark Days Pact
Alison Goodman
Genre: Action, Historical, Paranormal, YA
Publication date: Jan 31st, 2017
by Viking Juvenile

GoodreadsPurchase
Summer, 1812.
After the scandalous events at her presentation ball in London, Lady Helen has taken refuge at the fashionable seaside resort of Brighton, banished from her family and training as a Reclaimer with the covert Dark Days Club. She must learn to fight the dangerous energy-wielding Deceivers and prepare to face their master, the elusive Grand Deceiver.As she struggles to put aside her genteel upbringing, Helen realizes that her mentor, Lord Carlston, is fighting his own inner battle.  Has the foul Deceiver energy poisoned his soul, or is something else driving him towards violent bouts of madness? Either way, Helen is desperate to help the man with whom she shares a deep but forbidden connection.

When Mr. Pike, the hard bureaucratic heart of the Dark Days Club, arrives in Brighton, he has a secret mission for Helen: find the journal left by a mad rogue Reclaimer, before it falls into the hands of the Deceivers. Coerced by Pike, Helen has no choice but to do as ordered, knowing that the search for the journal may bring about Lord Carlston’s annihilation.

About the Author



Alison Goodman is the author of the internationally bestselling and award-winning Eon/Eona duology, as well as a YASF thriller, Singing the Dogstar Blues, and the adult novel A New Kind of Death (originally titled Killing the Rabbit). She was a D.J. O’Hearn Memorial Fellow at Melbourne University, holds a Master of Arts, and teaches creative writing at the postgraduate level.


GIVEAWAY TIME!

Enter for a chance to win either one (1) grand prize set of Lady Helen books, including a paperback of The Dark Days Club and a hardcover of The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman (ARV: $28.98), or to be one of five (5) second prize winners to receive paperback copies of The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman (ARV: $10.99).

 

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on January 23, 2017 and 12:00 AM on February 13, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about February 14, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the rest of the blog tour:

Week One:
1/23 – A Page With a View – Like/Try/Why
1/24 – Tales of a Ravenous Reader – Interview
1/25 – Twinning for Books – Review + Mood Board
1/26 – My Friends Are Fiction – Guest Post
1/27 – In Wonderland – Review
Week Two:
1/30 – Alexa Loves Books – Bookish Style File
1/31 – The Reading Nook Reviews – Interview
2/1 – Xpresso Reads – Playlist 
2/2 – The YA Book Traveler – They Did What?!
2/3 – Icey Books – Guest Post
Week Three:
2/6 – YA Book Central – Excerpt
2/7 – Fiction Fare – Guest Post
2/8 – Forever Young Adult – Coming-Out Ball Mishaps
2/9 – Dark Faerie Tales – Interview
2/10 – Adventures of a Book Junkie – Reasons to Read
Giveaway: Half Wild by Sally Green

Giveaway: Half Wild by Sally Green

Posted by on 03/20/2015 • 5 Comments

On March 24th, Penguin will publish HALF WILD (Viking; on sale: March 24, 2015; 9780670017133; ages 12 up; $18.99), the second installment in Sally Green’s dark and captivating Half Bad trilogy. HALF WILD has already received two starred reviews, with Publishers Weekly raving that it “features the same powerful language, well-developed characters, fascinating magic, and harrowing action sequences as its predecessor and will leave its readers anxiously awaiting the final volume.”

When Half Bad released in the US, the critical response was resounding. TIME Magazine named Half Bad one of the “Best Books of 2014 So Far,” calling it “highly entertaining and dangerously addictive”. USA Today called it “refreshing” while The Boston Globe declared it “much more than a book about witches…a ruminative exploration of the nature of evil.”

US…

Review: All the Truth That’s In Me by Julie Berry

Review: All the Truth That’s In Me by Julie Berry

Posted by on 09/24/2013 • 23 Comments

A strange, yet captivating book; All The Truth That’s in Me gives a reading experience like no other. I can’t say I’ve read anything quite like this before. It’s different! This is the best, if most simple way to describe it.

The way this book is written is as if, especially during the first part, we’re seeing a story unfold through bursts of random flashes of a life. There’s an editor’s note at the beginning of my copy that describes it as “a pinhole narrative – you start out looking through a tiny hole that allows you to see only a fraction of Judith’s world, and as the story goes on, the pinhole widens” It’s the the perfect way to exemplify the storytelling style. As you can guess, it’s not…

Review: The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

Review: The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

Posted by on 05/24/2013 • 34 Comments

As my first Sarah Dessen novel I was a little worried as it seems people either love her books or don’t, so it’s a relief that I fall in with her fans. The Moon and More is an especially perfect beach read. It’s lighthearted, it’s fun, with a great summery atmosphere, and it has enough emotion to keep you fully immersed.

This book is not really about anything at all (and I say this in a positive light), or some may say it’s about everything; it’s about growing up. It spans one summer in Emaline’s life; the last summer before she’s off to college which, for a lot of us, is when our life suddenly feels changed. We say goodbye to our high school days, and often to our boyfriend…