Posts Tagged: Contemporary

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

5 Books Carrie Mac Wishes Were Around When She Was Growing Up

Posted by 1 Comment

Hello and welcome to Xpresso Reads’ tour stop for 10 Things I Can See From Here. Today, author Carrie Mac shares 5 books she wishes were around when she was growing up! Her list is full of many wonderful recs (and some new to me titles) so I am definitely piling up on those books! I hope you’ll check the books and 10 Things I Can See From Here!

PLEASE GIVE IT UP FOR, Carrie Mac!

I’ve picked books aimed at younger readers, say 8-12-years-old or so because that’s when kids need to see the people they are, or will become, represented in books. When they don’t—because the book hasn’t been written or they’re not allowed to read it—that’s when feelings of isolation really set in, just in time for adolescence to kick in and kick ass. If kids are armed with reflections of themselves and the person they might become, they will feel less alone, and it will be less likely that adolescence will be able to demolish them.

George – Alex Gino

A middle grade story about a little girl who desperately wants to play Charlotte in the school play, except that everyone else thinks she’s a boy. If kids read this, they’re already half way up the ladder of gender understanding.

Zita the Space Girl – Ben Hatke

Girl hero in outer space! Aliens! Evil! Best friend needs rescue! Series! No dumb tropes!

 


Pride: Celebrating Diversity and Community
– By my lovely friend Robin Stevenson.

A Pride primer for middle grade readers. Knowledge = understanding. Understand it younger, then all the diversity part is about celebrating differences, not highlighting them as less-than or weird.

 

Sex is a Funny Word: A Book about Bodies, Feelings and YOU – Cory Silverberg, illustrated by Fiona Smyth

A comic-style book about bodies and gender and sexuality aimed at middle grade kids but perfect for everyone. Sex is a Funny Word features kids and folks and families of all makeups, orientations and identities. I think every kid should have this book. And every parent and caregiver too. This book and Silverberg’s What Makes a Baby are two must-haves when it comes to opening conversations with kids that includes all the ways babies and families and love and sex and gender present.

Better Nate than Ever – Tim Federle

A boy falls in love with Broadway and will do anything it takes to get there, defying gender stereotypes along the way and introducing kids to the world of theatre through the eyes of a small town kid with big sparkly, shimmering dreams.

About the Book

5 Books Carrie Mac Wishes Were Around When She Was Growing Up10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers on February 28th, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, LGBTQIA, Mental Health, YA
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Perfect for fans of Finding Audrey and Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.

Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.

Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?



About the Author



CARRIE MAC is an award-winning Canadian novelist making her US debut. She lives in East Vancouver – where this story takes place- with her partner and two children, overlooking the shipyards and with a great view of the crows flying home to roost.

 

 

Follow the Blog Tour

February 20 – Butter My Books
February 21 – The Compulsive Reader
February 22 – Take Me Away to A Great Read
February 23 – The Mod Podge Bookshelf
February 24 – Bookhounds YA
February 27thNick and Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist
Adventures in YA Publishing
February 28thRamblings of the Perpetual New Girl
March 1stReaders in Wonderland
March 2ndYA Wednesdays
March 3rdHere’s to Happy Endings
March 4th: Adventures in YA Publishing
March 6thNo More Grumpy Bookseller
March 7thA Midsummer Night’s Read
March 8thRainy Day Coffee and Books
March 9thThe Fandom
March 10thPicture Books to YA and Everything in Be”Tween”
March 13thBookworm Everlasting
March 14thThe Moral of Our Stories
March 15- Fangirlish
March 16- The Young Folks
March 17- Fiktshun
March 20-YA Books Central
March 21- Xpresso Reads
March 22- A Dream Within A Dream

Reminicient of Breakfast Club: Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen

Reminicient of Breakfast Club: Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen

Posted by on 02/22/2017 • 4 Comments

My feelings about this novel as about as complex as they get. Optimists Die First does some really great things but also needs a whole lot of work. Keep in mind that this is all based on an ARC version of the book as opposed to the finished copy and ARCs and finished copies can be worlds apart.

For starters, this book is about as cute as it sounds and looks. It is short and sweet and all about friendships and journeys. As one character in the book says, Optimists Die First is a ‘twisted version of the breakfast club.’

There is a complex portrayal of MH without any real labels and that was great. Petula has to go to mandatory art therapy and kind of really hates it. She doesn’t like any…

The Holiday Novel I Didn’t Know I Needed: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

The Holiday Novel I Didn’t Know I Needed: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Posted by on 02/15/2017 • 2 Comments

I have no idea how to start this review because I just want to throw We Are Okay in everyone’s faces and get them to read it. What drew me to the book was Nina LaCour and the pretty cover. While I haven’t read anything solely written by her, I had read You Know Me Well by her last year which she co-authored with David Levithan and fell in love with her writing.

LaCour’s writing just makes me wish I was buried under a ton of blankets with a book and a nice, warm cup of hot cocoa. We Are Okay is everything I didn’t even know I wanted from a holiday-themed book. It is complex, cozy and gut wrenching. It uses the tropes from common holiday novels but…

A Book With the Potential to Completely Fuck You Over: Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson

A Book With the Potential to Completely Fuck You Over: Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson

Posted by on 02/01/2017 • 11 Comments

Holy shit. THIS BOOK GUYS. Allegedly was one of my most anticipated books, but my co-worker who read it before I had a lot of FEELS (not good or bad, just FEELS), so I was a little nervous when I dove in. I had no idea the book would grip me and NOT LET ME GO. I read the 373 page book in a little over 2.5 hours. I GOBBLED IT, all while growing more and more anxious as I could feel something B.I.G. coming.

This book treads all the fine lines ever. There is no easy black and white in this book and it goes to lengths to make sure YOU KNOW THAT TOO. Justice, family, life cannot be put into little boxes and Jackson really explores what is right…

A Well Written, Character Driven Novel: Fire Color One by Jenny Valentine

A Well Written, Character Driven Novel: Fire Color One by Jenny Valentine

Posted by on 01/27/2017 • 3 Comments

Fire Color One is usually not the kind of novel I would find myself enjoying but I was thoroughly swept away by it. I love character development but I don’t really tend to enjoy books that are solely character driven. Fire Color One is primarily character driven. There is definitely a plot but it revolves around character revelations. Not around actual happenings. Yet it somehow managed to sweep me away till I had somehow run out of pages to read (*shakes fist at book for not being longer*)

This is a novel about grief, about relationships and a little bit about some revenge (and I am totes petty so I am all about the revenge life.) I think part of the magic of this book comes from how well the relationships…

ARC Review: Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly

ARC Review: Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly

Posted by on 11/25/2016 • 0 Comments

I’ve been waiting to read Trouble Makes a Comeback for a while now and it completely exceeded my expectations. It was also a comfort read I picked up post-election because I needed something that would make me feel good even for a short period of time. Trouble Makes a Comeback did just that.

Digby is back (after disappearing for 6 months and not keeping in touch) and so is trouble. Honestly, I was so worried we’d be waiting for a part of this book for Digby to be back. I couldn’t handle that wait but HE WAS BACK starting first chapter and I have so much love for him. He is a precious cinnamon roll too good, too pure for this world. One of the complains I had in Trouble is…

Reaction Post: This is Shyness by Leanne Hall

Reaction Post: This is Shyness by Leanne Hall

Posted by on 10/23/2016 • 0 Comments

This Is Shyness is one of those wonderful Aussie gems that is available on this side of the ocean and I am so glad it is because it is such a beautiful book. I am not going to do a traditional review for this one but want to experiment a little.

Welcome to Shyness, a place where the sun never rises and the people who live there are anything but normal…

THIS IS SHYNESS is about a boy who can howl and a girl trying to escape. Over the course of the night they go on an adventure, explore shyness and discover some things about themselves. They might or might not fall in love while they are at it 😉

Reaction Gifs

At first I was like:

Continue Reading »

Exclusive Cover Reveal for This is How it Happened by Paula Stokes + ARC Giveaway

Exclusive Cover Reveal for This is How it Happened by Paula Stokes + ARC Giveaway

Posted by on 10/17/2016 • 32 Comments

I know its a Monday and everyone is like UGH, weekend come back again, but today we are hosting an exclusive cover reveal for THIS IS HOW IT HAPPENED by Paula Stokes so I am actually excited about it being a Monday (*gasp*)

 

Not only is Stokes a wonderful human, she is also a wonderful writer and having read four of her books, I can say this with confidence. Girl Against the Universe is one of my favorite books of 2016 and Vicarious is an equally amazing action filled novel that came out this year so there are books by her out in the world that you could already be checking out and fangirling over.

 

Anywayy (I am quite the talker, aren’t I?) I am REALLY REALLY excited for THIS IS HOW…