Friday, November 25, 2016

ARC Review: Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly

Posted by

ARC Review: Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly
Trouble Makes a Comeback
Stephanie Tromly
Series: Trouble #2
Genre: Contemporary, Mystery, YA
Publication date: Nov 22nd, 2016
by Kathy Dawson Books

GoodreadsPurchase
A whip-smart, screwball noir mystery—with snappy prose, wry humor, and breakneck dialogue—this sequel to Trouble Is a Friend of Mine is perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, Sherlock, John Hughes, and Carl Hiassen.

After a fall semester of fiascos: getting arrested, then kidnapped, then blown up in an explosion (all thanks to the weird but brilliant Philip Digby), Zoe Webster is looking forward to a quiet spring. Now that Digby has left town, she's finally built a regular high school life for herself. She's dating Miles, the alternate QB; she knows girls she considers friends; she's learning to enjoy being normal and semi-popular. Which of course is when Digby comes back: He's got a new lead on his missing sister and he needs Zoe's help.

Suddenly Zoe is tussling with a billionaire arch-villain, locking horns with armed goons, and digging into what makes the Digby family tick, even as she tries to navigate the confusing and emotionally fraught world of high school politics and locker-room drama. After all, it's hard to explain Digby to a boy like Miles, especially when Zoe isn't sure how she feels about Digby herself—or how he feels about her.

Now that Digby's back, get ready for another hilarious whodunit filled with razor-sharp dialogue, ridiculously funny action, and the most charismatic, dynamic duo you've ever met. And just try to stay out of trouble.

We dare you.
-A copy was provided by Kathy Dawson Books for review-

I’ve been waiting to read Trouble Makes a Comeback for a while now and it completely exceeded my expectations. It was also a comfort read I picked up post-election because I needed something that would make me feel good even for a short period of time. Trouble Makes a Comeback did just that.

Digby is back (after disappearing for 6 months and not keeping in touch) and so is trouble. Honestly, I was so worried we’d be waiting for a part of this book for Digby to be back. I couldn’t handle that wait but HE WAS BACK starting first chapter and I have so much love for him. He is a precious cinnamon roll too good, too pure for this world. One of the complains I had in Trouble is a Friend of Mine was that a lot of his MH issues were sometimes seen as quirks, in this book, my problem was that his MH issues weren’t talked about at all. Digby is back and just as amazing as ever but he is far from perfect and I wish we dealt a little bit more with his trauma. Alas, Zoe Webster is the heroine of this book and is at the center of everything.

Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing because she kind of is amazing and she really has grown in many ways since Trouble is a Friend of Mine. I love that she stands up to the BS of both of her parents. She may have made some stupid friends + gained an annoying boyfriend since she last saw Digby but what is important is that (DIGBY IS BACK) she is also willing to open herself up to new experiences. After all, she starts a kind-of friendship with someone she DOESN’T LIKE because she gets to know them better in this book!

This book does come with a side of angst and while I was frustrated sometimes, I also felt like it made sense and it worked? Or perhaps I am just too #teamdigby to fall for that pseudo-love triangle 😉 So yes, we get a little bit of romance, and a little bit of OTP action (seriously, Zoe’s BF is clearly not the real deal so if you’re shipping them, I don’t know what to tell you.)

The mystery in this book is a lot more subtle than it was in Trouble is a Friend of Mine but it is there. You may have to connect the dots a little bit more but the overarching plot made sense and towards the end, you really do start to see where it fits with the mystery regarding Digby’s sister.

Trouble Makes a Comeback was exactly what I needed when I read it and I am sure many others will be able to find comfort in its loving arms. Also read book 1 before you read this because 1. ITS GOOD and 2. THIS IS PART OF A SERIES. NO SKIPSIES allowed. This book is witty, charming and will sweep you up before you know it. Tromly’s writing is just so much fun and I honestly cannot wait for the next book. I need more Digby and Zoe in my life.

4 Stars
4 Hot Espressos

The following two tabs change content below.
Rashika is a mysterious creature who likes to hide in the shadows and plan horrifying things. She also happens to have a huge sweet tooth so she will lure you over to the dark side with baked goodies and good book recommendations.

Fatal error: Call to undefined function of_get_option() in /home/giselle/public_html/wp-content/themes/xpresso-reads/comments.php on line 52