Posts Tagged: Humor

Friday, November 25, 2016

ARC Review: Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly

Posted by 0 Comments

ARC Review: Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly
Trouble Makes a Comeback
Stephanie Tromly
Series: Trouble #2
Genre: Contemporary, Mystery, YA
Publication date: Nov 22nd, 2016
by Kathy Dawson Books

GoodreadsPurchase
A whip-smart, screwball noir mystery—with snappy prose, wry humor, and breakneck dialogue—this sequel to Trouble Is a Friend of Mine is perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, Sherlock, John Hughes, and Carl Hiassen.

After a fall semester of fiascos: getting arrested, then kidnapped, then blown up in an explosion (all thanks to the weird but brilliant Philip Digby), Zoe Webster is looking forward to a quiet spring. Now that Digby has left town, she's finally built a regular high school life for herself. She's dating Miles, the alternate QB; she knows girls she considers friends; she's learning to enjoy being normal and semi-popular. Which of course is when Digby comes back: He's got a new lead on his missing sister and he needs Zoe's help.

Suddenly Zoe is tussling with a billionaire arch-villain, locking horns with armed goons, and digging into what makes the Digby family tick, even as she tries to navigate the confusing and emotionally fraught world of high school politics and locker-room drama. After all, it's hard to explain Digby to a boy like Miles, especially when Zoe isn't sure how she feels about Digby herself—or how he feels about her.

Now that Digby's back, get ready for another hilarious whodunit filled with razor-sharp dialogue, ridiculously funny action, and the most charismatic, dynamic duo you've ever met. And just try to stay out of trouble.

We dare you.
-A copy was provided by Kathy Dawson Books for review-

I’ve been waiting to read Trouble Makes a Comeback for a while now and it completely exceeded my expectations. It was also a comfort read I picked up post-election because I needed something that would make me feel good even for a short period of time. Trouble Makes a Comeback did just that.

Digby is back (after disappearing for 6 months and not keeping in touch) and so is trouble. Honestly, I was so worried we’d be waiting for a part of this book for Digby to be back. I couldn’t handle that wait but HE WAS BACK starting first chapter and I have so much love for him. He is a precious cinnamon roll too good, too pure for this world. One of the complains I had in Trouble is a Friend of Mine was that a lot of his MH issues were sometimes seen as quirks, in this book, my problem was that his MH issues weren’t talked about at all. Digby is back and just as amazing as ever but he is far from perfect and I wish we dealt a little bit more with his trauma. Alas, Zoe Webster is the heroine of this book and is at the center of everything.

Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing because she kind of is amazing and she really has grown in many ways since Trouble is a Friend of Mine. I love that she stands up to the BS of both of her parents. She may have made some stupid friends + gained an annoying boyfriend since she last saw Digby but what is important is that (DIGBY IS BACK) she is also willing to open herself up to new experiences. After all, she starts a kind-of friendship with someone she DOESN’T LIKE because she gets to know them better in this book!

This book does come with a side of angst and while I was frustrated sometimes, I also felt like it made sense and it worked? Or perhaps I am just too #teamdigby to fall for that pseudo-love triangle 😉 So yes, we get a little bit of romance, and a little bit of OTP action (seriously, Zoe’s BF is clearly not the real deal so if you’re shipping them, I don’t know what to tell you.)

The mystery in this book is a lot more subtle than it was in Trouble is a Friend of Mine but it is there. You may have to connect the dots a little bit more but the overarching plot made sense and towards the end, you really do start to see where it fits with the mystery regarding Digby’s sister.

Trouble Makes a Comeback was exactly what I needed when I read it and I am sure many others will be able to find comfort in its loving arms. Also read book 1 before you read this because 1. ITS GOOD and 2. THIS IS PART OF A SERIES. NO SKIPSIES allowed. This book is witty, charming and will sweep you up before you know it. Tromly’s writing is just so much fun and I honestly cannot wait for the next book. I need more Digby and Zoe in my life.

4 Stars
4 Hot Espressos

Review: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

Review: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

Posted by on 10/14/2016 • 12 Comments

Feels in a gif:

I usually find it hard to express all my feels about a book in a singular gif but with The Hating Game, it was quite easy. Actual pic of me after I finished the book.

I haven’t read a rom-com I loved this much in years and I think The Hating Game encompasses everything I love about good rom-coms and a good romance. It made me feel so mushy and happy on the inside and I am glad that The Hating Game found its way into my life. This book has already received so much hype and so many people are already loving it so instead of doing a review review, I thought I’d list 5 quick reasons that might make you want to pick this book up.

1. Main…

Review: The Boy is Back by Meg Cabot

Review: The Boy is Back by Meg Cabot

Posted by on 09/01/2016 • 8 Comments

Earlier this year, Remembrance came out – an adult add-on to one of my favorite series growing up – and I was d.i.s.a.p.p.o.i.n.t.e.d. I had come to expect so much from Meg Cabot but the book failed to deliver and I was filled with sadness. But when I heard about The Boy is Back, I was pumped and ready to dive into the book. Fortunately, The Boy is Back is as amazing as a Cabot book should be and filled with all the sugary goodness that makes me squeal with delight.  

I am trash for good second chance romance novels and even though it was Meg Cabot,  I was a little vary because I hate the second chance romances where two people were in love in HS and 10 years later,…

Review: The Doublecross: And Other Skills I Learned as a Superspy by Jackson Pierce

Review: The Doublecross: And Other Skills I Learned as a Superspy by Jackson Pierce

Posted by on 04/29/2015 • 3 Comments

OKAY, THIS IS PROBABLY THE MOST ADORABLE AND FUNNIEST SPY-KIDS NOVEL I HAVE EVER READ.

Sorry for the all-caps, but seriously, I never thought a premise involving elite spy kids… or, err… pseudo-elite spy kids… would be in the same sentence as “cute” and “adorable”. In less than 3 hours, I finished from A-Z and I was like, “I NEED MORE SPY KIDS IN MY LIFE.”

Heroes don’t always look like heroes, and villains don’t always look like villains.

I had to work out who was who. I had to work out the truth.

Meet Hale Jordan – the son of two of the most elite spies of the SRS and the brother of a possible spy prodigy – a young soon-to-be-and-still-in-training spy who could not be anymore “unfit” for the role….