Posts Tagged: Graphic Novel

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Cute But Not Much Else: Cast No Shadow by Nick Tapalansky & Anissa Espinosa

Posted by 1 Comment

Cute But Not Much Else: Cast No Shadow by Nick Tapalansky & Anissa Espinosa
Cast No Shadow
Anissa Espinosa, Nick Tapalansky
Genre: Paranormal, Romance, YA
Publication date: October 10th, 2017
by First Second

GoodreadsPurchase
Greg has lived in Lancaster his whole life. The town's always had its quirks, and being born without a shadow means he's counted among them. When Greg discovers an old mansion in the woods just outside of town, he didn't expect to meet a smart, beautiful, funny, and...very dead teenaged girl named Eleanor.

Yeah. He's in love with a ghost.

And before he knows what's happening, Greg finds himself at the wrong end of a history lesson when the town's past, and his own, threaten to pull the two of them apart permanently!

From acclaimed comics writer Nick Tapalansky and phenomenal newcomer artist Anissa Espinosa, Cast No Shadow is a teen romance with humor and heart.
-A copy was provided by First Second for review-

Cast No Shadow was a surprise graphic novel I received but it looked really cute and I couldn’t help but read it right away. Of course, this was some time ago and I am only now getting around to writing the review for the book so forgive me.

Greg has no shadow and is kind of an outcast. One day, he discovers a haunted mansion and ends up falling in love with the resident ghost. Obviously, things get a little complicated and there is some good angst going on there too.

The graphic novel is as cute as it sounds but doesn’t necessarily leave a lasting impression. Not every book I read, or anyone reads, needs to be revolutionary but I think the premise is so unique that I would have hoped that it’s uniqueness actually made it memorable. The problem is that even though this is a story about a boy without a shadow, it’s really just a love story. It’s a love story between Greg and the ghost and really, Greg and himself. This novel focuses on the characters rather than the world and plot and maybe that’s gonna work better for some readers than others but I just wanted there to be a stronger focus on the world building.

It is a graphic novel which means there isn’t as much room to convey those things through words but it can be done through the art. The art is just as important in a graphic novel as the words and I found the art wasn’t really expressive. It aided the story but it wasn’t part of it in many ways.

There is so much potential for this graphic novel to be more than just a ghost love story and it just. doesn’t. deliver.

This is all such a subjective opinion though because different readers want different things from their stories. Some are 1000% find a romance focus (I am too sometimes and there is nothing wrong with that) and maybe the graphic novel will work out better for them than it did for me. Some might want a more gothic, horror story vibe that this novel attempts but doesn’t deliver on. WHO KNOWS.

One of the book’s biggest successes, I think, is the twist at the end. It’s foreshadowed well but still comes as a surprise. It was incorporated beautifully into the story and ties the novel up really nicely.

Overall, Cast No Shadow is a graphic novel I’d recommend to people who are fans of cute ghost love stories and interesting premises. Even though I didn’t love it, I still found it really enjoyable and it’s a nice read to relax with on a cosy winter night :’)

 

2.5 Stars
2.5 Hot Espressos

A Graphic Novel That You Most Definitely Need: Pashmina by Nidhi Chanani

A Graphic Novel That You Most Definitely Need: Pashmina by Nidhi Chanani

Posted by on 11/03/2017 • 2 Comments

I’ve been waiting for Pashmina since I first heard it existed so when my friend got a copy, I dove into hers while I was visiting and also ended up coming home to a precious copy of my own (#SHOUTOUT.) I’ve already read it twice and there is a very huge possibility I’ll have read it a third time before the end of the year (and even the end of the month, tbh.) SO. I THINK it’s safe to say that I love Pashmina.

It’s already being marketed as such but I also just think Pashmina is perfect for fans of American Born Chinese. The books share so many wonderful qualities and parallels but Pashmina is still its own story and so so SO heartfelt at that. I mean, it even has Gene Luen Yang’s stamp…

Legend: The Graphic Novel Series adapted by Leigh Dragoon, illustrated by Kaari

Legend: The Graphic Novel Series adapted by Leigh Dragoon, illustrated by Kaari

Posted by on 05/08/2016 • 1 Comment

Having loved the first two books in the Legend series (I still haven’t read Champion!), I was so excited to dive into these graphic novel adaptations and see how the story would translate over into a new medium.

Day and June are fantastic characters whether they are in a novel or graphic novel. I love them as individuals and I love them as a couple. Although, admittedly, I am kind of upset my favorite bathroom scene did not find its way into the graphic novel (SO MUCH SWOON IN THAT SCENE.)

The action scenes also translate very well into the graphic novel format and I love the ways in which the world building comes to life through the beautiful illustrations. It allowed me to experience the dystopic world Marie Lu…

Review: I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

Review: I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

Posted by on 12/17/2015 • 8 Comments

Reasons to read I Am Princess X

1. All about the friendship. Seriously, who doesn’t love a book that focuses on friendships of all relationships. Friends are important!

2. If you like books involving scavenger hunts, this book is for you. In the book, May has to put together a bunch of clues to find out what happened to her friend and how she might be able to find her. YAAAS.

3. The mystery. It comes with the scavenger hunt aspect of the novel but the book kept me on my toes. At one point while I was reading, my phone buzzed and I almost jumped out of my skin because I was so absorbed by the novel and the mystery.

4. The images. The comic strips with Princess X are…

Review: PIXU by  Gabriel Bá, Fábio Moon (Illustrations), Becky Cloonan (Illustrations)

Review: PIXU by Gabriel Bá, Fábio Moon (Illustrations), Becky Cloonan (Illustrations)

Posted by on 09/23/2015 • 1 Comment

I don’t read a lot of Graphic Novels, but I do enjoy them once in a while. I have come across a lot of really great ones, but unfortunately this was not one of them. The artwork was beautiful, and the story was creepy and disturbing, but it left a lot to be desired. I understand that with this type of novel, you are a bit limited, though there is no reason that it couldn’t have been a more fully developed story. Others I have read are plenty well rounded. Anyways, this is a great creepy novel for going into Halloween season. It was a short and quick read. Be forewarned though, there is much adult content in this. Not just in the blood and gore, but the subject matter…

Review: The Marvels by Brian Selznick

Review: The Marvels by Brian Selznick

Posted by on 07/30/2015 • 4 Comments

Wow, this book was so cool!! The first 400 pages or so are all just drawings. Gorgeous artwork. It seems odd that it’s just picture after picture, but surprisingly, it tells an amazing story. I have never read 400 pages of a book so quick!! The first part of the book is set in a totally different time period than the second part. The second part of the book is set in 1990 I believe. This one is written, not told in pictures. It is not a seemingly different story as the synopsis explains. In fact, it is pretty easy to see how the two are related, but in a really interesting way. I loved discovering how the second story all fit with the first one and was drawn in….