Friday, December 23, 2011

Review: Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler

Posted by

Bittersweet
Sarah Ockler
Release date: January 3rd, 2011
by Simon Pulse

Goodreads / Purchase

Hudson can’t wait to get out of Watonka, her working-class town outside of Buffalo. Once upon a time, her talent as a skater was going to be her ticket out… but when her parents’ marriage unraveled three years ago, so did her dreams. Now, she buries herself in making cupcakes for her mom’s diner and imagining her parallel life where she went on to skate to glory. But when she gets a letter inviting her to audition for a skating scholarship *and* the hockey team asks for her help with their technique (read: free ice time for Hudson), it’s impossible to ignore the signs. Is she ready to get back on the ice? Could this be her ticket out? Hudson’s determined not to let anything stand in her way. But between baking and waitressing at the diner, the love triangle that’s developing with two outrageously cute hockey boys, and the simmering drama with her best friend, her future is anything but certain…

*A copy was provided by Simon & Schuster for review purposes*
Red Hot Double Crush Cakes:
Ginger vanilla cupcakes with chilli-infused dark chocolate cream cheese frosting, dusted with cinnamon.

Ladies and gentlemen, may I present to you, the cupcake Queen of Watonka! That’s right, Hudson is the queen of everything cupcake and a wonderful character to boot. Living in a humble little town just getting by on her mother’s diner income, Hudson has thrown herself into creating (delicious) cupcakes to forget that she once had big dreams. However, these dreams are being dangled in front of her face once more. Hudson has this personality that you can’t help but ADORE. She is down to earth, she loves to make up amusingly exaggerated scenarios in her mind as well as being incredibly responsible and smart which I admired.

With every chapter beginning with a delicious cupcake recipe, Bittersweet will make your mouth water at every turn. When it’s not because of these delicacies, it will be because of our dear – and numerous – boys that are swarming the pages of this book. See, Hudson has a deal with the hockey captain, she gets ice time if she gives this much needed team some skating advice. And, since boys will be boys, it gets pretty entertaining. I enjoyed the playfulness and the teasing that we were bound to have. They are a great bunch of personalities that fill this book with humor and charm.

What I enjoyed the most about this novel, though, is the romance. Bittersweet holds a brilliantly written love story that is flawed- but perfect. I loved every moment, every kiss, every worry, and every tear. There is absolutely no insta-love in here, it feels completely real and perfectly enchanting. As they often say, the journey is the best part!

For fans of Catching Jordan, Sarah Ockler gives us a novel filled with family, love, cupcakes and hockey boys that is simply… bittersweet!

4 Hot Espressos
The following two tabs change content below.
Canadian blogger, wife, mother, coffee lover, and sarcastic at heart! She has had a love for all things bookish since before Amazon and eReaders existed *le gasp*. You can also find her organizing tours and other fun things at Xpresso Book Tours.
face twitter good YouTube Instagram

Latest posts by Giselle (see all)

24 Responses to “Review: Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler”

  1. A Canadian Girl

    Thank goodness I haven’t read this one. I’ve been craving cupcakes for days now so I don’t know what would happen to me while reading Bittersweet. If only I knew how to bake …

    I loved Ockler’s Twenty Boy Summer so I totally have this one on my wishlist and look forward to reading it.

  2. Giselle

    Thank ladies!!

    @A Canadian Girl : Ha! I can’t make much either except for pre-packaged stuff that you just throw in the oven. But MAN do I ever crave cupcakes since reading this!!

  3. Rebecca

    Ohoo… this definitely looks interesting. o: I haven’t read any of the novels you compare it too, but I’m curious. I bet I’d definitely enjoy it! *puts on to-read pile*

  4. Mimi Valentine

    Awwww, this book sounds SO SWEET!! <3 I never really read many contemporary books before, but now I find that I'm LOVING so many comtemps, and I have a feeling this will be one of them! The moment you used the word "cupcake" in this review was the moment I knew I wanted to read it!

    Such an awesome review, Giselle!! I definitely added this to my TBR pile! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Ivy

    Great review! I do love some romance here and then. ๐Ÿ™‚ I want to know the every kiss! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Can’t wait until this is released! Thanks for the review!