Genre: Thriller


Friday, February 17, 2017

A Fun Mystery: To Catch a Killer by Sheryl Scarborough

Posted by 5 Comments

A Fun Mystery: To Catch a Killer by Sheryl Scarborough
To Catch a Killer
Sheryl Scarborough
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, YA
Publication date: February 7th, 2017
by Tor Teen

GoodreadsPurchase
Erin Blake has one of those names. A name that, like Natalee Holloway or Elizabeth Smart, is inextricably linked to a grisly crime. As a toddler, Erin survived for three days alongside the corpse of her murdered mother, and the case—which remains unsolved—fascinated a nation. Her father's identity unknown, Erin was taken in by her mother's best friend and has become a relatively normal teen in spite of the looming questions about her past.

Fourteen years later, Erin is once again at the center of a brutal homicide when she finds the body of her biology teacher. When questioned by the police, Erin tells almost the whole truth, but never voices her suspicions that her mother's killer has struck again in order to protect the casework she's secretly doing on her own.

Inspired by her uncle, an FBI agent, Erin has ramped up her forensic hobby into a full-blown cold-case investigation. This new murder makes her certain she's close to the truth, but when all the evidence starts to point the authorities straight to Erin, she turns to her longtime crush (and fellow suspect) Journey Michaels to help her crack the case before it's too late.
-A copy was provided by Tor Teen for review-

This book has an unfortunate cover given that its insides are so different. To Catch a Killer as pitched as being great for fans of Veronica Mars yet this cover screams cheesy mystery. Luckily, To Catch a Killer is a well-written mystery that is fun to follow along and hella engaging. It is one of those books you are going to stay up reading saying just ONE MORE CHAPTER (spoiler alert, its never one more chapter, its usually the entire fucking book.)

Sometimes I’ll read mysteries and wonder how the MCs have the resources and ability to solve the big case just based on educated guesses but To Catch A Killer throws in forensics into the mix and everything is GREAT. EVERYTHING MAKES SENSE. I totally guessed the murderer a couple pages in but the ride was well worth it and I just loved watching the MC put clues together in ways that made sense and were grounded in facts and evidence she had gathered.

Erin made this book 100x better. I loved her determination, intelligence and strength. I loved that even though adults around her didn’t agree, she didn’t give up and pushed to discover the truth in smart ways (AKA not all by herself.)

Erin could have been a better friend to her friend sometimes but even she realizes that and I was glad for that. Plus she has friends who actually call her out on her shit and push her to not make stupid decisions (although sometimes they are completely wrong and she is completely right.) One of my favorite things to see in books is quality friendships and we were definitely awarded with those

We were also given a romance I haven’t entirely made up my mind about. It isn’t that these two characters don’t have chemistry. I just feel like the romance needed to be a lot slower (but I am into slow-burn so thats just me.) Everybody was cute but I like cute better when I get it with an itsy-bitsy bit of angst.

The plot is the most important part of a mystery book and To Catch a Killer aced in that department. I was hooked and intrigued and just wanted to know all the answers. I was also reading this at 3:00 in the morning and almost had a heart-attack when someone came upstairs to go to the bathroom.

So why was this lovely book not rewarded with a higher rating you ask? Well. The answer is simple. I was not entirely satisfied with the ending. The ending was not bad. It was very good until a thing and some things just leave really bad tastes in my mouth. Basically, don’t look at my 3.5 stars rating and think that To Catch a Killer is mediocre. IT ISN’T. ITS A VERY FUN BOOK. SO read it and we can talk afterwards about the ending. Okay. BYEEEEE.

 

3.5 Stars
3.5 Hot Espressos

5 Reasons Why You Should Read Vicarious by Paula Stokes

5 Reasons Why You Should Read Vicarious by Paula Stokes

Posted by on 08/24/2016 • 6 Comments

If you read Paula Stokes’ guest post on the blog the other day, you’ll know that it is not secret that she is a talented writer but Vicarious blows that out of the water. Liars, Inc. was the last thriller she wrote and one I rated 4.5 stars because of how amazing it but Vicarious is EVEN better and kept me EVEN more at the edge of my seat and holy crap the climax of this novel almost killed me. 

5 Reasons Why You Should Read Vicarious

1. The main character. Stokes’ always writes great characters and this book is no exception. Winter is a complex character with a backstory that will make you want to shelter her from the world. Winter is BADASS but her past has left a…

The Long Game by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Long Game by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Posted by on 06/16/2016 • 3 Comments

Do you like Scandal? Do you like political thrillers? Do you like mind games? WELL. YOU HAVE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE. But also, go read book one which is called The Fixer and is amazing.

So, if The Fixer made you swoon and made your heart beat faster and nearly killed you, I have some real bad news for you. It all gets worse in The Long Game. I had my feels shredded, my OTPs stomped on and my heart set on fire. I hope Jennifer Lynn Barnes at least feels a little bad about what she did to me.

Tess is still as amazing as always if a little more nosy than she should be. She thinks she is nothing like her sister but we all know…

Blog Tour: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas – Review

Blog Tour: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas – Review

Posted by on 04/22/2016 • 3 Comments

This was one of those rare books that actually stumped me until almost the very end. I am usually very good at figuring out a mystery and what is really going on, but this one kept me second guessing myself the whole time. It was fantastic and held my attention the whole time. The characters were great, and the emotional impact was spot on. It was a bit slow moving at times, especially to start, but it really helped build things up. One of the major things I noticed (and loved) was that there was no romance thrown in. It wasn’t necessary and it would have taken away from the story.

Tessa has had a very rough childhood. Her father is in jail, and her sister and mom have abandoned…

Review: The Dead House by Dawn

Review: The Dead House by Dawn

Posted by on 10/30/2015 • 7 Comments

Disclaimer: this wasn’t a scary book. When we say ‘scary’, that’s something I would give to the likes of Daughters Unto Devils by Amy Lukavics and Girl from the Well + The Suffering by Rin Chupeco. This wasn’t even a mind-fuck of a book a la Dangerous Girls

However, that doesn’t mean my mind didn’t reel from it. Even though this didn’t have the quiet or the jumpy horror I am well fond of, how this book delivered a kickass psychological paranormal thriller made me shiver in my boots.

1. Unreliable narrator? Check. 2. A book majorly in a dairy format, showing us the thought processes of our heroine, therefore giving us an intense sneak peek of the insanity of the situation? Check. 3. Notes, transcription of videos, medical reports, letting us also see…

Review: NEED by Joelle Charbonneau

Review: NEED by Joelle Charbonneau

Posted by on 10/23/2015 • 8 Comments

At first glance, NEED by Joelle Charbonneau sounds like the fricking bomb. Its premise speaks of the following:

A small town full of selfish high schoolers; A social media tool that promises to fulfill your every need if you do certain conditions; A heroine who has a brother who desperately needs a kidney transplant.

This was basically me:

But unfortunately, while I do agree that this was a fast-paced novel, it wasn’t something that left a huge impact in me.

Let’s talk about multiple, emotionless, deadpan-like POVs.

For a premise like this, I do understand the need of having multiple POVs, especially since you have a tempting social media tool that promises to fulfill even your most extravagant wishes for a price. It’s something that affects the people on a…

A Letter to Kady (Illuminae) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

A Letter to Kady (Illuminae) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Posted by on 10/21/2015 • 11 Comments

I’m excited to have the Illuminae tour stop by the blog today with a fun guest post! I’ve got both Amie and Jay here today with a letter to their main character, Kady! Also don’t forget to enter to win before you go! Before we get to that, let’s see what this book is all about:

Guest post by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

A Letter to Kady

Dear Kady,

Okay, first up, we’re sorry. WE’RE SORRY. Please don’t delete our back-up files, remotely active our car alarms or plaster our embarrassing baby photos all over the internet. We know you know how. And okay, maybe you’d be justified. We put you through some stuff in Illuminae. We can acknowledge that.

We’re particularly sorry about…

Review: The Harvest Man by Alex Grecian

Review: The Harvest Man by Alex Grecian

Posted by on 07/06/2015 • 4 Comments

I always am up for a good mystery/thriller so when I saw this I was all about it. I haven’t read the other books from this series, but it didn’t matter. It seems that each story is its own. After reading this though, I am definitely interested in going back to read the previous ones. It wasn’t a super suspenseful mystery, but it did have that chilling factor to it. It is told from numerous points of view, and that was what kind of disconnected me from it all. I did enjoy it though. We not only have Jack the Ripper to worry about in this, but a new killer named The Harvest Man. The characters were interesting, but how this is told, I never really felt an attachment to…