Genre: Thriller


Tuesday, March 28, 2017

The Infinite Variants of YA: The One Where Caleb Roehrig Chooses b/w an Alpaca and a Pony

Posted by 0 Comments

HELLO and welcome back to this fancy feature that Nick (Nick & Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist) and I are collaborating on! This month I have a really fun interview to share with the famously amazing Caleb Roehrig to share with you. He is hilarious and just as much fun to talk to as his book is to read! If you haven’t already read Last Seen Leaving, get on it because its a YA mystery you don’t want to miss. NOW. PLEASE PUT YOUR HANDS UP (or flail around, I don’t have a preference) for Caleb Roehrig!!!

asdas

1. You’ve travelled A LOT. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you want to live and why?

Oh, man. I have definitely done a lot of travel, and I’ve been a lot of places I could see myself living quite comfortably, but this would probably come down to a death match between Venice, Italy, and Seville, Spain. Venice is my absolute favorite city in Europe, bar none; I’ve gone a few times, and it never loses any of its magic…but it’s also sorta kinda gradually sinking into the lagoon?? And I’m not sure I want to deal with that. Seville is beautiful and eclectic, with rambling promenades, picturesque alleys, and performances of flamenco and Spanish guitar around every corner. Good food and great wine practically run from the tap, too, so maybe I’d move there. I can visit Venice on weekends.

2. What would Flynn’s (the main character of LAST SEEN LEAVING) ideal meal look like?

Ha! Flynn has fairly uncomplicated tastes. I think his ideal meal would be a two-liter of Coke and either a large double-cheese pizza or else a huge mountain of spaghetti with extra parmesan. (Much like me, he really, really likes cheese.)

3. What book do you wish you could have read as a teenager?

I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN by Jandy Nelson. The writing is exquisite, and the story—about Jude and Noah Sweetwine, two artistic and emotionally-driven siblings who struggle to heal and reconnect after tragedy and misunderstanding drive them apart—is profoundly moving. Noah, a gay teenager who feels things acutely and sees the world in a way many people around him don’t fully understand, is a character I identify with even as an adult; I would love to have “met” him when I was his same age and dealing with some of the same issues.

4. What classic mystery book would you recommend?

THE BIG SLEEP by Raymond Chandler is one of my all-time favorites. It’s quintessential noir: a sarcastic and tough-talking detective, sultry femmes fatale, and prose that is somehow both lyrical and hard-boiled all at the same time. Raymond Chandler may not have created the pulp detective fiction that flourished in the nineteen-thirties and forties, but he absolutely perfected it. This novel, about blackmail and dark deeds in sunny, seedy Los Angeles, is his best.

5. Would you rather be a character in a murder mystery or an epic scavenger hunt book?

As long as I was neither the victim nor the main suspect, I’ll take murder every time! (Also, I call dibs on I’LL TAKE MURDER as a future book title, so hands off, everybody else!)

6. Would you rather have a pet alpaca or a pet pony?

This is a question?? OBVIOUSLY an alpaca! (YES they are kinda stinky and mean and like to spit a lot, but they are so soft!)

7. A chocolate fountain or fondue fountain?

THIS IS SO HARD but I think I’m going with a fondue fountain. I looooove chocolate, but I might actually love cheese just a little bit more (see: answer to question 2!)

About the Book

The Infinite Variants of YA: The One Where Caleb Roehrig Chooses b/w an Alpaca and a Pony
Last Seen Leaving
Caleb Roehrig
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, YA
Publication date: October 4th, 2016
by Feiwel & Friends

GoodreadsPurchase
Flynn's girlfriend has disappeared. How can he uncover her secrets without revealing his own?

Flynn's girlfriend, January, is missing. The cops are asking questions he can't answer, and her friends are telling stories that don't add up. All eyes are on Flynn—as January's boyfriend, he must know something.

But Flynn has a secret of his own. And as he struggles to uncover the truth about January's disappearance, he must also face the truth about himself.

 

Last Seen Leaving in emojis
👦🏻😲🤔👬🕵🏻👨🏽‍💻👺🤗😲👨‍❤️‍👨

Thanks so much to Caleb Roehrig for joining us today!

Don’t forget to check out Nick and Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist later this month for another author-thing and come back again at the end of the month for a round up of diverse releases in the month of March!

A Fun Mystery: To Catch a Killer by Sheryl Scarborough

A Fun Mystery: To Catch a Killer by Sheryl Scarborough

Posted by on 02/17/2017 • 6 Comments

This book has an unfortunate cover given that its insides are so different. To Catch a Killer as pitched as being great for fans of Veronica Mars yet this cover screams cheesy mystery. Luckily, To Catch a Killer is a well-written mystery that is fun to follow along and hella engaging. It is one of those books you are going to stay up reading saying just ONE MORE CHAPTER (spoiler alert, its never one more chapter, its usually the entire fucking book.)

Sometimes I’ll read mysteries and wonder how the MCs have the resources and ability to solve the big case just based on educated guesses but To Catch A Killer throws in forensics into the mix and everything is GREAT. EVERYTHING MAKES SENSE. I totally guessed the murderer a couple pages in but…

5 Reasons Why You Should Read Vicarious by Paula Stokes

5 Reasons Why You Should Read Vicarious by Paula Stokes

Posted by on 08/24/2016 • 6 Comments

If you read Paula Stokes’ guest post on the blog the other day, you’ll know that it is not secret that she is a talented writer but Vicarious blows that out of the water. Liars, Inc. was the last thriller she wrote and one I rated 4.5 stars because of how amazing it but Vicarious is EVEN better and kept me EVEN more at the edge of my seat and holy crap the climax of this novel almost killed me. 

5 Reasons Why You Should Read Vicarious

1. The main character. Stokes’ always writes great characters and this book is no exception. Winter is a complex character with a backstory that will make you want to shelter her from the world. Winter is BADASS but her past has left a…

The Long Game by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Long Game by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Posted by on 06/16/2016 • 3 Comments

Do you like Scandal? Do you like political thrillers? Do you like mind games? WELL. YOU HAVE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE. But also, go read book one which is called The Fixer and is amazing.

So, if The Fixer made you swoon and made your heart beat faster and nearly killed you, I have some real bad news for you. It all gets worse in The Long Game. I had my feels shredded, my OTPs stomped on and my heart set on fire. I hope Jennifer Lynn Barnes at least feels a little bad about what she did to me.

Tess is still as amazing as always if a little more nosy than she should be. She thinks she is nothing like her sister but we all know…

Blog Tour: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas – Review

Blog Tour: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas – Review

Posted by on 04/22/2016 • 3 Comments

This was one of those rare books that actually stumped me until almost the very end. I am usually very good at figuring out a mystery and what is really going on, but this one kept me second guessing myself the whole time. It was fantastic and held my attention the whole time. The characters were great, and the emotional impact was spot on. It was a bit slow moving at times, especially to start, but it really helped build things up. One of the major things I noticed (and loved) was that there was no romance thrown in. It wasn’t necessary and it would have taken away from the story.

Tessa has had a very rough childhood. Her father is in jail, and her sister and mom have abandoned…

Review: The Dead House by Dawn

Review: The Dead House by Dawn

Posted by on 10/30/2015 • 7 Comments

Disclaimer: this wasn’t a scary book. When we say ‘scary’, that’s something I would give to the likes of Daughters Unto Devils by Amy Lukavics and Girl from the Well + The Suffering by Rin Chupeco. This wasn’t even a mind-fuck of a book a la Dangerous Girls

However, that doesn’t mean my mind didn’t reel from it. Even though this didn’t have the quiet or the jumpy horror I am well fond of, how this book delivered a kickass psychological paranormal thriller made me shiver in my boots.

1. Unreliable narrator? Check. 2. A book majorly in a dairy format, showing us the thought processes of our heroine, therefore giving us an intense sneak peek of the insanity of the situation? Check. 3. Notes, transcription of videos, medical reports, letting us also see…

Review: NEED by Joelle Charbonneau

Review: NEED by Joelle Charbonneau

Posted by on 10/23/2015 • 8 Comments

At first glance, NEED by Joelle Charbonneau sounds like the fricking bomb. Its premise speaks of the following:

A small town full of selfish high schoolers; A social media tool that promises to fulfill your every need if you do certain conditions; A heroine who has a brother who desperately needs a kidney transplant.

This was basically me:

But unfortunately, while I do agree that this was a fast-paced novel, it wasn’t something that left a huge impact in me.

Let’s talk about multiple, emotionless, deadpan-like POVs.

For a premise like this, I do understand the need of having multiple POVs, especially since you have a tempting social media tool that promises to fulfill even your most extravagant wishes for a price. It’s something that affects the people on a…

A Letter to Kady (Illuminae) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

A Letter to Kady (Illuminae) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Posted by on 10/21/2015 • 11 Comments

I’m excited to have the Illuminae tour stop by the blog today with a fun guest post! I’ve got both Amie and Jay here today with a letter to their main character, Kady! Also don’t forget to enter to win before you go! Before we get to that, let’s see what this book is all about:

Guest post by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

A Letter to Kady

Dear Kady,

Okay, first up, we’re sorry. WE’RE SORRY. Please don’t delete our back-up files, remotely active our car alarms or plaster our embarrassing baby photos all over the internet. We know you know how. And okay, maybe you’d be justified. We put you through some stuff in Illuminae. We can acknowledge that.

We’re particularly sorry about…