Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.


Friday, January 11, 2019

Amazing Friendships: Famous in a Small Town by Emma Mills

Posted by 0 Comments

Amazing Friendships: Famous in a Small Town by Emma Mills
Famous in a Small Town
Emma Mills
Genre: Contemporary, YA
Publication date: January 15th, 2019
by Henry Holt and Co.

GoodreadsPurchase
For Sophie, small town life has never felt small. With her four best friends—loving, infuriating, and all she could ever ask for—she can weather any storm. But when Sophie’s beloved Acadia High School marching band is selected to march in the upcoming Rose Parade, it’s her job to get them all the way to LA. Her plan? To persuade country singer Megan Pleasant, their Midwestern town’s only claim to fame, to come back to Acadia to headline a fundraising festival.

The only problem is that Megan has very publicly sworn never to return.

What ensues is a journey filled with long-kept secrets, hidden heartbreaks, and revelations that could change everything—along with a possible fifth best friend: a new guy with a magnetic smile and secrets of his own.
-A copy was provided by Henry Holt and Co. for review-

I slept on Emma Mills for AGES but with a little peer pressure, I finally binge read all of her published books last year. I can honestly say that it was life changing. Not necessarily because her books in of themselves changed my life but they were so good and I was so happy to finally have them in my life. WHAT I AM TRYING TO SAY is that if you still have not read a single Emma Mills novel in your life, you need to fix that. If you have, then I am guessing you’re gonna pick this book up regardless of anything I have to say so hope you have a nice life. Here, have some cookies on your way out! I made them myself!

Lately, I feel like there has been an upsurge in novels where characters struggle with change and that’s so, totally, completely my thing. I hate change so much and I struggle with it a lot so anytime I get to read about a character who is as stubborn about change as I am, I feel so seen. Sophie does not like change. There are reasons for this I cannot elaborate but if it were up to her, she and her friends would stay frozen in time and in their small town forever. Which does make it seem like she is a shitty friend, but I promise she is the most loyal friend in the world and unafraid to both be there for her friends but also call them out when they are WRONG.

There is a lovely romance in this novel, but at its core, this is a novel about friendship. I mean, its a novel about Sophie but her friends make up a huge part of who she is because her friendships are so essential to her existence. And of course, the best part about these friendships is that they are honest and complicated and lovely. Sophie messes up. Her friends mess up! But at the end of the day, they are there when it matters. This feels redundant because I already talked about the kind of person Sophie is but I do feel that emphasizing how important and well-written these relationships are because they are what make up this novel and give it life.

The one thing I am not entirely sure about within this novel was a twist that appears later on. It’s not that I saw it coming that bothers me. It is that I didn’t see it coming? Which implies that it is well written but honestly, it just seemed to be thrown at us for maximum emotional punch and no unpacking???????? AND THAT IS THE BANE OF MY EXISTENCE. I do want to say that it didn’t necessarily impact my overall enjoyment of the book (BECAUSE TRULY, I Love these characters) but it was still upsetting and felt so unlike Mills.

Ugh.

Anyway, so, if you’re an Emma Mills fan and still reading, I’d say read the book because twist aside, it has her characteristic goodness and charm. If you are new to Mills, READ THIS but not first. She has three other books out and all of them are excellent. YOU HAVE A LOT TO CHOOSE FROM.

3.5 Stars
3.5 Hot Espressos

Some Mystery and Bland Characters: The Lonely Dead by April Henry

Some Mystery and Bland Characters: The Lonely Dead by April Henry

Posted by on 12/14/2018 • 1 Comment

Ugh I don’t even know how to word as I write this review. I’ve written and deleted the first sentence about a 100 times. BUT. I guess. Here is the thing, I read an April Henry novel years ago, liked it, and read a BUNCH by her this year. Just looking at the books in the chronological order they were published, it seems that the books have gotten progressively worse? Which is to say, that her later books have lost that kick a lot of her earlier books had.

If you’ve been a fan for a while and coming to this book because you have come to expect some thrill and some mystery from April Henry, you should stay. If you want anything more than that, like character development and…

Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Posted by on 08/12/2015 • 11 Comments

Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. Whoa.

WHOA. WHAT THE HELL JUST HAPPENED?!

I rarely flail with much vigor and enthusiasm, but oh my lanta, this book was made of amaze-balls and epic-sauce. I am just blown away by how much I enjoyed this and how much I was on my toes the entire time. From start to finish, I was engrossed 101%. This was sublime storytelling, characterization, and action, everyone. Top-notch. Boom, pow, period.

For days I have been struggling to read. I’d open a book and then get bored in the first 10 pages. I’ve started and ended at least 5 books without even getting past 10% because they just weren’t grabbing my attention. It seriously made me so sad that I wasn’t able to finish a book at a…

Giveaway: Forever for a Year by B.T. Gottfred

Giveaway: Forever for a Year by B.T. Gottfred

Posted by on 07/22/2015 • 3 Comments

Thanks to the lovely people at Macmillan, I’ve got a copy of Forever for a Year up for giveaway today! FOREVER FOR A YEAR is the debut novel from playwright & filmmaker B.T. Gottfred. The novel is an up-close-and-personal, first-love story told in alternating perspectives.

Don’t forget to: Learn more on B.T. Gottfred’s Tumblr Follow the author on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram #ForeverforaYear

Giveaway!

SUMMER LOVE prize pack Enjoy a romantic summer read this summer! One (1) winner receives: · A copy of Forever for a Year; · plus a beach tote and sunglasses.

 

Open to US and Canadian addresses only Giveaway ends August 3rd, 2015 Full contest terms and conditions found on Rafflecopter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review: Nil Unlocked by Lynne Matson

Review: Nil Unlocked by Lynne Matson

Posted by on 05/07/2015 • 3 Comments

I really enjoyed the first book in this series, so I was really looking forward to the second book. I really enjoyed this one. Maybe a bit more than the first, though I can’t really remember my reading experience with the first one. In this one things are more complicated. Many secrets are discovered, and the stakes are higher. Not only are they on a ticking clock the moment they arrive, but there are other threats in Nil. The island seems more restless. It was nice to see some old characters, and to get to know new ones. I really liked the cast in this. This was an exciting read that is full of suspense and of course adventure. I loved discovering more of the island secrets along with everyone…

Interview with Jay Clark + Giveaway!

Interview with Jay Clark + Giveaway!

Posted by on 03/10/2015 • 7 Comments

I’ve got the Finding Mr. Brightside tour stopping by the blog today. I had the opportunity to interview Jay Clark about this novel, and you can enter to win yourself a copy! First, let’s see what this book is all about:

Interview with Jay Clark

Let’s start with telling us what your book is about – but in tweet form!

She didn’t expect her silver lining To be wearing gray sweatpants. Will their parents’ sketchy history Stop her from giving him a chance?

What was the funnest part of writing Finding Mr. Brightside?

I was surprised how enjoyable it was to let the sparks fly between the two main characters without wet-blanketing them with an unnecessary punch line (or twenty), which is my tendency. I really want…

Review: Alex As Well by Alyssa Brugman

Review: Alex As Well by Alyssa Brugman

Posted by on 01/07/2015 • 15 Comments

This is the first intersex book that I have read and I thought it was done pretty well. It’s not that I know nothing about it, I just haven’t read any fictional books about it. I really felt for the MC, Alex. It was sad to see what she was going through, and the lack of support from her parents. It is told from her POV, but we also get her other Alex that is also there in her head. The male Alex that she doesn’t identify with. It was interesting to see her battle with herself, and heartbreaking at how her mother treats her and pretty much refuses to acknowledge that she is female and not male.

Alex was born with a condition that gave her a small…

Cover Reveal, Interview & Giveaway: I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

Cover Reveal, Interview & Giveaway: I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

Posted by on 06/27/2014 • 53 Comments

I hope everyone is as excited as I am about a new release by Heather Demetrios! Today we’ve got the brand new cover to show off to you guys, and a Q&A with Heather as well as a giveaway! So let’s see the new pretty!!

Q&A with Heather Demetrios Describe I’ll Meet You There in a Tweet (140 characters)!

Every single word of I’ll Meet You There gutted me. Here is my heart, in paper and ink. I’ve never loved a book so much. 

What was your initial reaction to the cover design? What do you like best about it?

I was thrilled…and relieved! My editor was on the phone with me when she sent the cover comp over. She knew how important the cover of this particular…