Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.


Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Posted by 11 Comments

Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
Six of Crows
Leigh Bardugo
Series: Six of Crows #1
Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, YA
Publication date: September 29, 2015
by Henry Holt and Co.

GoodreadsPurchase
Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can't pull it off alone...

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can't walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz's crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don't kill each other first.
-A copy was provided by Henry Holt and Co. for review-

Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. Whoa.

WHOA. WHAT THE HELL JUST HAPPENED?!

I rarely flail with much vigor and enthusiasm, but oh my lanta, this book was made of amaze-balls and epic-sauce. I am just blown away by how much I enjoyed this and how much I was on my toes the entire time. From start to finish, I was engrossed 101%. This was sublime storytelling, characterization, and action, everyone. Top-notch. Boom, pow, period.

For days I have been struggling to read. I’d open a book and then get bored in the first 10 pages. I’ve started and ended at least 5 books without even getting past 10% because they just weren’t grabbing my attention. It seriously made me so sad that I wasn’t able to finish a book at a steady pace… before finishing Six of Crows, my Goodreads challenge was pathetically six books behind schedule. SIX BOOKS! How could I possibly call myself a legit book blogger when I allowed myself to be behind 1 book behind schedule?!

So color me happy when I finally opened my copy of Leigh Bardugo’s newest work, courtesy of Shannelle @ Art of Escapism who lent it to me (thanks, doll! I owe you one!). Truthfully, considering my rather bad streak the week before, I feared that this one would be just like the others – uninspiring and lackluster. However, my fears were absolutely unfounded as from the very first page, this book held me and never let me go. It felt so, so good to finally have a book I could easily immerse myself in. The six characters were amazing and well-developed, the plot was intriguing, intense, and well thought-out, and the stakes were so, so high that I dared not blink lest I miss a scene. Do you know how rare it is to find all these three in a book nowadays?! DO YOU?!

First of all, the six characters – Kaz, Inej, Nina, Matthias, Jesper, and Wylan. I’ve read multiple-pov books before and truth be told, 7 times out of 10, they are not written well, becausewith so many characters and backstories and development to feature, they end up being muddled and being only skin deep. They, most likely than not, end up being so over the place that they end up underwhelming. That’s why I am so gleeful that Bardugo wrote them extremely well here – there were six and yet their different personalities and motives were effectively portrayed, their backstories given equal spotlight, their character developements steadily and amazingly done. Like goodness, how can an author do that while also taking into account their goal: to infiltrate a seemingly impenetrable prison fortress and smuggle a highly valuable man whose work may launch the work into absolute chaos.

Yeah, think about that.

Leigh Bardugo, you are a beast, I tell you.

And seriously, dude, if you think this book is about six godly characters who never encounters a single problem, think again. One of the main reasons why this book really enthralled me was because even though these people were good at what they do, they were never immune to hardships. There were definitely near death instances; they made hard decisions with grave consequences; they made lapses in judgement. Things were never handed to them in silver platter, so it was so exciting to follow their adventure and see how they’ll overcome it, working their asses off in order for the plan to follow through. And the best part? The romances (yes, ROMANCES. There are three ships here y’all!) never took center stage. They were in the background most of the time, and oftestimes were touched every time the book talks about the character’s observation about their surroundings and situation. And they always, always, ALWAYS moved with the plot.

And can I just say I ADORE the characters? I ADORE THEM. EACH AND EVERY ONE OF THEM. I NEED TOY FIGURES OF THEM. MACMILLAN, MAKE THIS HAPPEN.

Seriously, pre-order this book, guys. I have no fucking doubt you’ll adore it to kingdom come. Beautifull-written, action-packed, with memorable and rootable characters whose kickass-ness will make you squeal with glee. Woot, woot!

4.5 Stars
4.5 Hot Espressos

Giveaway: Forever for a Year by B.T. Gottfred

Giveaway: Forever for a Year by B.T. Gottfred

Posted by on 07/22/2015 • 3 Comments

Thanks to the lovely people at Macmillan, I’ve got a copy of Forever for a Year up for giveaway today! FOREVER FOR A YEAR is the debut novel from playwright & filmmaker B.T. Gottfred. The novel is an up-close-and-personal, first-love story told in alternating perspectives.

Don’t forget to: Learn more on B.T. Gottfred’s Tumblr Follow the author on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram #ForeverforaYear

Giveaway!

SUMMER LOVE prize pack Enjoy a romantic summer read this summer! One (1) winner receives: · A copy of Forever for a Year; · plus a beach tote and sunglasses.

 

Open to US and Canadian addresses only Giveaway ends August 3rd, 2015 Full contest terms and conditions found on Rafflecopter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review: Nil Unlocked by Lynne Matson

Review: Nil Unlocked by Lynne Matson

Posted by on 05/07/2015 • 3 Comments

I really enjoyed the first book in this series, so I was really looking forward to the second book. I really enjoyed this one. Maybe a bit more than the first, though I can’t really remember my reading experience with the first one. In this one things are more complicated. Many secrets are discovered, and the stakes are higher. Not only are they on a ticking clock the moment they arrive, but there are other threats in Nil. The island seems more restless. It was nice to see some old characters, and to get to know new ones. I really liked the cast in this. This was an exciting read that is full of suspense and of course adventure. I loved discovering more of the island secrets along with everyone…

Interview with Jay Clark + Giveaway!

Interview with Jay Clark + Giveaway!

Posted by on 03/10/2015 • 7 Comments

I’ve got the Finding Mr. Brightside tour stopping by the blog today. I had the opportunity to interview Jay Clark about this novel, and you can enter to win yourself a copy! First, let’s see what this book is all about:

Interview with Jay Clark

Let’s start with telling us what your book is about – but in tweet form!

She didn’t expect her silver lining To be wearing gray sweatpants. Will their parents’ sketchy history Stop her from giving him a chance?

What was the funnest part of writing Finding Mr. Brightside?

I was surprised how enjoyable it was to let the sparks fly between the two main characters without wet-blanketing them with an unnecessary punch line (or twenty), which is my tendency. I really want…

Review: Alex As Well by Alyssa Brugman

Review: Alex As Well by Alyssa Brugman

Posted by on 01/07/2015 • 15 Comments

This is the first intersex book that I have read and I thought it was done pretty well. It’s not that I know nothing about it, I just haven’t read any fictional books about it. I really felt for the MC, Alex. It was sad to see what she was going through, and the lack of support from her parents. It is told from her POV, but we also get her other Alex that is also there in her head. The male Alex that she doesn’t identify with. It was interesting to see her battle with herself, and heartbreaking at how her mother treats her and pretty much refuses to acknowledge that she is female and not male.

Alex was born with a condition that gave her a small…

Cover Reveal, Interview & Giveaway: I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

Cover Reveal, Interview & Giveaway: I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

Posted by on 06/27/2014 • 53 Comments

I hope everyone is as excited as I am about a new release by Heather Demetrios! Today we’ve got the brand new cover to show off to you guys, and a Q&A with Heather as well as a giveaway! So let’s see the new pretty!!

Q&A with Heather Demetrios Describe I’ll Meet You There in a Tweet (140 characters)!

Every single word of I’ll Meet You There gutted me. Here is my heart, in paper and ink. I’ve never loved a book so much. 

What was your initial reaction to the cover design? What do you like best about it?

I was thrilled…and relieved! My editor was on the phone with me when she sent the cover comp over. She knew how important the cover of this particular…

Review: The Body In The Woods by April Henry

Review: The Body In The Woods by April Henry

Posted by on 06/09/2014 • 21 Comments

The Body In The Woods is a fast paced thriller that is able to pass off as enjoyable if you suspend logic and just go along for the ride. But, when you sit down and really think about the details there is so much that is unbelievable that I can’t really recommend it to fellow readers.

In this novel we get the three main perspectives of Ruby, Alexis and Nick but we also get a few random chapters that are told from the ominous perspective of the killer himself. As far as the 3 kids go, I can’t say that I connected with any of them in any way. This is in part due to the fact that the story is told in the third person (which always leaves me…

Review: Something Real by Heather Demetrios

Review: Something Real by Heather Demetrios

Posted by on 03/28/2014 • 27 Comments

Not only is this a wonderful story, but it touches you from many angles: family, romance, friendship, homosexuality, privacy – just to name a few. It’s thought provoking and inspiring, with characters who are just plain genuine.

Chloe (aka Bonnie™) is a celebrity who was literally born into a reality show. This show, reminiscent of Jon & Kate Plus 8, was a real eye opener on how reality TV isn’t reality at all. Not only that, but they’re almost criminal in how they affect children who don’t even have a choice in the matter. Can you imagine your whole life chronicled for the world to see? Your childhood tantrums found with a simple Google search? It’s incredibly frustrating to see these kids’ lives manipulated – more like hounded –…