Genre: NA


Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Review: Losing at Love by Jennifer Iacopelli + Giveaway

Posted by 6 Comments

Review: Losing at Love by Jennifer Iacopelli + Giveaway
Losing at Love
Jennifer Iacopelli
Series: Outer Banks Tennis Academy, #2
Genre: Contemporary, NA

GoodreadsPurchase
Grass courts, tennis whites and the fiercest competition in the world. Wimbledon. After two crazy weeks in Paris, the girls of the Outer Banks Tennis Academy are headed to London with just one thing on their minds: winning.

Indiana Gaffney is fresh off a surprise win at the French Open junior tournament. Sponsors are clamoring for her attention, but what she wants more than anything—aside from a wild card to Wimbledon—is to be with Jack Harrison, but international fame and a secret relationship rarely mix well.

When Penny Harrison dreamed of playing at Wimbledon she never imagined agonizing pain shooting through her ankle with every step. With just a month until the tournament and the whole world expecting her to win, she’s determined to play, with or without the support of her coach or the love of her life, Alex Russell.

For the first time ever, no one expects anything from Jasmine Randazzo. After a crushing first-round defeat in the French Open juniors, the tennis world has given up on her, but worse than that, so have her parents, her best friend Teddy and maybe even her coach. With everyone writing her off, can she find it within herself to go after her dreams?
-A copy was provided by Jennifer Iacopelli for review-

Penny, Jasmine, and Indy are back in all their wonderful glory! Losing at Love is the sequel to Game. Set. Match. which I completely loved when I read it 2 years ago. And even though so much time has past since, I was easily taken back into the world of tennis and competitions and romance and drama. This novel is more character than plot driven – the later doesn’t progress all that much, but the friendships and personal goals do, which are just as important for the story to move forward.

All in all, this novel is a character driven drama about these girls’ complicated lives as Tennis pros. Don’t let this scare you off, however, I know squat about that sport, and I was completely captivated by the matches. It’s all due to the atmosphere that’s so wonderfully painted throughout. It’s a sport with a lot of pressure, a lot of uncertainty, and just as much about the physical skills than the mental – this intensity is very well captured by Jennifer’s writing style. I easily found myself rooting for these girls both on and off the court. It’s not all about Tennis, though, the story is full of friendship and romance to give it a great balance overall.

My favorite aspect of this story is definitely the friendships that we have between the girls. There are 3 main characters with alternating perspectives, so we get to experience everyone’s fears and insecurities, and how these look from the outside, as well. I’m especially a fan of Indy and Penny’s friendship. They’re forming a bond that’s closer than ever which I love, though with some bumps in the road, naturally. All 3 girls also have obstacles to overcome that range from a confidence issue to a serious injury. They make it easy to understand their determination to push through no matter what, though, making their story bittersweet at times.

The romance is again a welcome part of this story. We get just the right amount of romantic subplots with some drama, but not overwhelmingly so. I’m most happy about how Jasmine doesn’t drop everything for her first crush. Someone who’s actually moving on, guys! So refreshing! With 3 perspectives who are all in relationships, not to mention have families and friends, the cast of characters is quite large, but not once did I lose track of who was who. Each voice is distinct, each personality is unique; the characterization is overall incredibly genuine.

Like I mentioned, this book is very character focused, while there’s no significant plot developments, we get to see the girls make sacrifices and big decisions. The ending, although very happy-feely… kinda feels like a bad omen – the calm before the storm, maybe? I was left with a bad vibe towards Indy, especially. Book 3 is bound to give us nothing but greatness! And probably heartbreak. I feel it coming, guys! *clutches heart* >.<

4 Stars
4 Hot Espressos


About the Author




Jennifer Iacopelli was born in New York and has no plans to leave…ever. Growing up, she read everything she could get her hands on, but her favorite authors were Laura Ingalls Wilder, L.M. Montgomery and Frances Hodgson Burnett all of whom wrote about kick-ass girls before it was cool for girls to be kick-ass. She got a Bachelor’s degree in Adolescence Education and English Literature quickly followed up by a Master’s in Library Science, which lets her frolic all day with her books and computers, leaving plenty of time in the evenings to write and yell at the Yankees, Giants and her favorite tennis players through the TV.


This post is part of the Losing at Love blog tour.


DividerXR1

Giveaway

Jennifer Iacopelli has generously offered up a signed set of Game. Set. Met & Losing at Love, a $50 Giftcard, and 5 swag pakcs for giveaway!


  • Open internationally
  • Giveaway ends on March 14th, 2015

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Audiobook Review: Burying Water by K.A. Tucker

Audiobook Review: Burying Water by K.A. Tucker

Posted by on 12/09/2014 • 8 Comments

Books about loss of memory are always intriguing to me. I also love a contemporary that sounds like it will be all sorts of emotional. This book delivered well for the most part. The thing that turned me off was the infidelity. I don’t ever think it’s okay no matter what. Yes, her husband was a cheating bastard first, but it doesn’t make it okay for her to do it too. Anyways, putting all of that aside, I really enjoyed this book. I loved how the past is told by Jesse, and the present told by Water and how they finally converge. I did wish for a bit more of an emotional impact, but I think because I was put off by certain things it made it harder for me…

Nomad by J.L. Bryan: Guest Post + Giveaway!

Nomad by J.L. Bryan: Guest Post + Giveaway!

Posted by on 07/22/2013 • 18 Comments

Today I have the fabulous J.L. Bryan (boys can be fabulous too!) on the blog with his usual witty self in an awesome guest post! And then you can win your very own signed copy of this pretty! First though let’s get all the jazz on this book! PS – If you missed it, check out my review here.

Guest Post by J.L. Bryan

Long-Distance Dating: Time Travel Edition

Long-distance relationships only grow more complicated when you and your significant other are years apart. We’re not talking about May-December romances here, we’re talking about dating someone who lives in an entirely different century. With the recent popularization of home time-travel devices, this is a problem facing more and more people every day.

It’s always the…

Review: Catching Liam by Sophia Bleu

Review: Catching Liam by Sophia Bleu

Posted by on 07/16/2013 • 25 Comments

What could be better than a Scottish guy who makes mean waffles? (hint: nothing!)

Catching Liam has everything I look for in a contemporary: well developed, realistic, and likeable characters, a romance that takes your breath away, friendship dynamics that bring tears to your eyes, and a few rough patches to give the story a bit of an edge.

Even though this book does remain a lighthearted read, it still grabs at your emotions, especially when it involves Jillian’s condition. Jillian has been dealt a rough hand where she’s dealing with a medical diagnosis with which she hasn’t come to terms, yet. Not only does this add depth to the story and its characters, it reminds us to live life to the fullest. It’s an illness that, for no specific…

Demanding Ransom Tour Stop: Guest Post + Giveaway

Demanding Ransom Tour Stop: Guest Post + Giveaway

Posted by on 07/10/2013 • 7 Comments

Today as part of the Demanding Ransom Blog Tour – Kismet Book Touring – I’ve got the lovely Megan Squires on the blog with some fun facts about herself! She loves Breaking Bad, so now we’re BFFs! Have a look and enter to win before you go! 🙂 Guest Post by Megan Squires 10 Random Facts About Megan Squires (in no particular order)

I have never seen any of the original Star Wars. Or any Indiana Jones. Or The Sound of Music. Call me un-American if you will. I did, however, seen the Baz Lurhmann  Romeo and Juliet seven times in the movie theater. So I think that proves that I’m not only a bit of a creature of habit, but when I like something I tend to become a…

Review: Nomad by J.L. Bryan

Review: Nomad by J.L. Bryan

Posted by on 07/09/2013 • 25 Comments

JL Bryan has always impressed me with the level of originality and excitement he works into his novels (big fan of Jenny Pox), and I was yet again taken aback, this time by a time-travel dystopian that is full of thrills and has a kick-ass heroine to boot!

Time-travel dystopian! When I saw those words together my mind kind of flipped, making me unsure of what to expect. For one, time-travel is nothing to play around with if you’re not fully committed to deliver. I have a low level of patience for ignored time loops and paradoxes, and while I’m still wrapping my head around the details of JL’s take on it with Nomads and the universe taking care of itself, it’s one of very few time-travel plots that I…

Review + Playlist: This Love by Nazarea Andrews

Review + Playlist: This Love by Nazarea Andrews

Posted by on 07/04/2013 • 18 Comments

Perfectly timed for summer, the This Love blog tour is dropping by today. This is a great summer romance for New Adult fans. Why don’t you have a look at my review, and then you can check out the playlist for the book to put you in the mood! 🙂

A perfect for summer read, This Love is a forbidden love story involving a student and a professor that you know is doomed before it begins, yet you keep hoping, denying the fact that the end of their crazy, sexy summer is coming.

The beginning of this book was a little rough for me and left me uncertain as to if I would enjoy it. The story is told through a dual POV that switches quite often and…

Review + Giveaway: Bitter Angel by Megan Hand

Review + Giveaway: Bitter Angel by Megan Hand

Posted by on 05/27/2013 • 32 Comments

Bitter Angel was a very mixed bag for me. The first part would easily get a 4 stars; it was intriguing and exciting, it even had my heart pounding with pure adrenaline. Unfortunately the second part left a little too much to be desired, garnering only a 2 if rated separately.

Let’s start at the beginning: After Lila decides to go out with her two best friends at a club, she never thought things would turn into a life or death situation involving gang rapes and abduction. What’s peculiar though, is she also remembers what happens if she had stayed home with her boyfriend, and that scenario was equally terrible. Although obviously not “realistic”, I found this to be very interesting. The abduction was a terrifying situation; all too real…